We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Residence Zanzibar

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A Little Slice of Heaven on Earth”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an unbelievable 5 days at The Residence Zanzibar. It was if we were surrounded by Genies and our every wish was granted. The service is outstanding with all employees exceeding our expectations. The setting is peaceful and relaxing and we found just enough to do in the days we spent there. Many thanks to the managers and staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed well placed so I don't think you can make a mistake. It really depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dohiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

868 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    687
    113
    47
    14
    7
See reviews for
192
521
23
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (203)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights after a safari for some r and r.

The property, villas, pool area, food and cocktails are perfection.

The staff are fabulous (though quite laid back ) and offer wonderfully kind and personal service - also some special touches such as candle lit drinks on the beach at night.

Our beach front villa was a few steps from the Indian Ocean - I was happy to pay the price of other couples taking their romantic sun set shots on the beach.

The Indian Ocean is very tidal but for me that adds interest as you have an ever changing landscape.

The property is isolated so for after crazy safari and with a trip to stone town in the middle it was perfect for 5 nights - I think more may have left me a little stir crazy.

Room Tip: Beach front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

I always abide by the rule that the world is too big to go to the same place twice but as a rule to the exception, the residence is a place I would definitely go back too.
The place is roughly an hours drive from the airport, no crazy traffic jams so the drive is a breeze. It's at the southern end of the island and quite scenic.
The hotel itself has been tastefully done and their website doesn't lie. The villas are spacious and the private pools are a charm and a unique addition. (Insist on the ocean facing villas as opposed to the garden villas).
The food is quite good and the service was amazing (must admit after a few reviews wasn't expecting much on this two fronts but ended up being awed by the good service)
The hotel has lots of facilities and activities, from snorkeling, kayaking, spa etc. Every guest gets a bike too and you can cycle around the property which is vast and full of space thus making it different from smaller hotels where you feel choked out of air.
For more I would recommend a visit.

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
134 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Generally the hotel is beautiful and well kept, the villas were clean, large and well put together, the food was, for the most part, beautiful but the highlight for me was the staff. They were incredible and I can't say enough about their service levels, their linguistic skills and their genuine want to help you.

I stay in lots of places that are similar and there should be some warnings so you know what you are in for;

It is a good hour and a half drive south from Stonetown - so do not stay here if you want to wonder the streets or indeed leave the hotel given it is so remote.

The last 5kms or so is over an ungraded dirt track and I mean a bone-jarring track (to put this in to perspective, safari 4wding is luxurious when compared to the their access road).

The outdoor showers are only plumbed for cold water (which the sign says "refreshing" but I read as lazy plumbers or bad designers).

The bikes for getting around are left in the open outside the villa and are understandably rusty and are not pleasant to ride (you couldn't adjust seat height on ours and the 1st people to use them must have been a kid or very very short).

The beach was rubbish if you are used to good beaches (apparently the northern beaches are much better).

The tidal variations are large, this means that unless you pick the couple of hours at the top of the tide, the course sand gives way quickly to sticky white mud. This also severely limits the water activities available with the boats being beached for half the day.

The villa plunge pools are not private, they are open to the beach.

One of my all time big issues though is that whilst there is wifi in the room, there is none in the bar/main pool area. So when we might have sat for some hours drinking by the main pool (which is lovely btw) and using the net (still have work to do!) we didn't hang around and moved back to the villa as soon as we had finished our meals.

In summary I would not have stayed knowing all this and I wouldn't stay here again (which I really feel bad for their awesome staff)...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Circumnavigator222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kavi L, Manager at The Residence Zanzibar, responded to this review, 5 July 2014
Dear Sir,
We would like to thank you for taking the time in reviewing our property and the services offered.
We are delighted to know that you have much enjoyed your time with us and your constructive feedback has been shared with our top management team.
A particularity of east of Africa is the variance between the high and low tides.
All around the island of Zanzibar, all beaches are affected with a tide that comes out and at The Residence Zanzibar we are also affected by this variance (2 to 3meters).
Candid photos and texts posted on our website or on Trip Advisor by guests during the high and low tides are plentiful.
We do appreciate your comment about the plunge pool of your beachfront villa not being private enough.
Our Ocean front villas with a direct access onto the sea do somehow have this drawback, however we try to keep the maximum of view to the beach since the villas are sold as seafront ones.
To be able to cater for all kind of villa requirements, even for those who do require an ocean view with more privacy, we can propose our villas situated on the cliff side where there is no passer –by…
At the same time, the 32 hectares of our manicured tropical garden are providing a total privacy to all our Garden villas…
We have taken good note of the comment as regards to the non-availability of Wi-Fi in our common areas such as the restaurants, bar and around the main pool, but we chose not to have Wi-Fi in our common areas for the comfort of our guests. However, we do provide complimentary unlimited internet access in all our villas, at the lobby and the Reception area.
Sir, once again, we thank you for your input in helping us to improve our service standards.
With the warm regards from all the Residence Team and myself
Michel Fredric,
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
92 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 May 2014

Awesome place. Went with my girlfriend in October. Huge suite rooms with private pool and a butler. Upgraded to a sea view on arrival. Service is fantastic and the property is beautiful. Gourmet buffets every evening with a different theme or you can choose to eat in the al a carte. Would highly recommend you include transfers as hotel is quite remote.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrisstore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Wow. Pure Relaxation, Makes you feel your in another world. I visited the hotel with my family and it was just amazing the enviroment is very excellent the attention to detail given to this resort appear by themselves. A must visit if you plan to go zanzibar.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank SajidK552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

Just perfect, perfect, perfect. Bicycles at the door of our villa when we arrived (a fun and unexpected twist), attentive yet discreet staff, private, well sized plunge pool, fabulous standard of dining, picture perfect tropical beach to relax on. Can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HenryBellon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 13 in Kiwengwa
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,450 reviews
30.2 mi away
Zanzi Resort
Zanzi Resort
#4 of 173 in Zanzibar Island
5.0 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
48.7 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#2 of 17 in Nungwi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 575 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
47.4 mi away
Diamonds La Gemma dell' Est
16.2 mi away
The Palms
The Palms
#1 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
16.2 mi away
Baraza Resort & Spa
Baraza Resort & Spa
#2 of 12 in Bwejuu
5.0 of 5 bubbles 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Property: The Residence Zanzibar
Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Jovago.com so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing