We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of the best in the World!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Residence Zanzibar
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Reviewed 4 July 2014

The Residence Zanzibar...definitely one of the most unique, special and beautiful hotels in the world. Just by saying The Residence the quality, service, the rooms and the grounds are expected to be of the very highest nature, and in Zanzibar it goes well clear of all of them. The bright, spacious villas are anyone' s dream home, with private swimming pool, modern furniture, bicycle to get around...the best place in Zanzibar for watching the sun set over the Indian ocean water and the most amazing swimming pool I have ever seen, with transparent walls holding the water high!

Room Tip: All rooms are exactly the same, some are farther from the common areas than others off course, but a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oscar P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (979)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

415 - 421 of 980 reviews

Reviewed 30 June 2014

Amazing view, very luxury hotel
The Service and pride are not the best, but is still a very Nice place.
Doesnt look as an 5 star hotel... They have absurd charles, like 10 usd for anything you ask in the room or 100usd to have finger on the beach, considerando that the table is not e em 1 meter for. The restaurant.
Be ready to give tips and people fonte speak very good english.
The place us só Nice that even with all that is worth.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manoela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2014

Rooms - incredible! Our villa was about 3 times bigger than my flat at home, with 3 rooms, a reception room, bedroom, and huge bathroom with the best rainforest shower ever.

Food was out of this world and the service was exceptional. Upgrade to all inclusive if you can as the drinks and food are pricey.

I am probably the wrong person in some ways to write a review on an UBER luxury hotel as I like culture and to feel like I have got to know a place I have visited. The location for me was very disappointing, but I feel if I were on my honeymoon and wanted to get away from it all it would be great. It is about 1.5 hours from the airport in Stonetown, and the last 30 minutes is going down a completely unpaved and extremely bumpy dirt track. Which is great if you are on an overland trip and in a 4x4, but in a regular taxi...I don't know how they don't completely ruin their suspension. As you are so cut off you can't go out in the evenings, there are no restaurants or shops or anything, and if you did want to go to Stonetown it is a $100 round trip of 3 hours.

This shouldn't detract from the hotel as it is stunning, for the right people this place would be paradise.

Room Tip: If you are paying this much already, the little extra for a sea view villa is well worth it. The Gar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rastnim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2014

Firstly, we booked our honeymoon with Catherine at Turquoise Holidays who was just brilliant! We would recommend her without hesitation, she made the whole process from start to finish enjoyable and simple!

So, we arrived in Zanzibar after our 4 night Safari in Selous ready for some R&R and we were not disappointed. We were staying for 7 nights all inclusive. Greeted on arrival with a refreshing signature drink we went through a few details before jumping into a golf buggy to be taken to our villa.

When we arrived we realised we had been upgraded from a Garden Villa to a Luxury Ocean Villa (no124). Stepping into the living area and seeing the Indian Ocean through the wooden blinds was a sight for sore eyes. The whole villa was beautiful. Four poster bed with huge wardrobes in the bedroom, an amazing walk in shower (complete with rainfall shower head) and stand alone bath that I rarely wanted to get out of in the evenings...and a brilliant living room to chill out in with a fridge, TV, tea & coffee making facilities. Each room had a ceiling fan in as well as very powerful air conditioning.

Outside there was a day bed and two sun loungers as well as a small table and two chairs overlooking the gorgeous pool and view of the ocean! We didn't have anyone walking past the room on the beach as it was on a slightly higher section which meant we had complete privacy.

The rest of the complex is just amazing. The infinity pool was stunning with very attentive staff to help sort the sun loungers, towels, drinks etc. The reception area is open but very smart with staff that could not wait to help you with any query you might have. There was a shop which moved halfway through our stay. It had a good variety of products and we managed to get some extra suntan lotion after running out which was good. The bikes provided were great and we only called on the golf buggies infrequently to take us to dinner.

Most of our meals were in the dining room which was next to the pool. Breakfast was a very varied buffet (our only note would be that the hot foods such as the bacon, sausages, potato cakes...were never that hot) and you could have omelette, eggs and pancakes made fresh in front of you. Lunch was usually a buffet but sometimes there was A La Carte offered. The evening meal was a themed buffet in the Dining Room or A La Carte in the Pavillion (although as the hotel was quite quiet when we were there, it wasn't open every evening we were there). In addition as honeymooners we were treated to a private dinner on the deck on our villa.

The one thing we noted about the food was that sometimes it seemed as though they were trying to hard. By the end of the week we were craving some nice simple food. I am Greek Cypriot and have always loved trying new foods however the flavours added in sometimes were just a bit odd.

Unfortunately we had to move villas halfway through the week as the electronic entry on the front door stopped working. We understand these things happen and there is no one to blame. Sadly it took a few hours for the communication to filter through that we would be moved as the door could not be fixed and we were a little frustrated by that point. However the service recovery which included a visit at breakfast from the general manager, flowers in the room, rose petals on the bed and gifts to apologise really were second to none. I always say that in the service industry (be it a restaurant, bar or hotel) things are bound to go wrong now and again, after all no one is perfect...however it is the way things are recovered that counts and in this instance The Residence excelled themselves.

Just a note that our second villa was a Prestige Ocean Villa (no100) which was at the edge of the complex was equally as stunning and private although slightly further away from the pool and dining room. However the bikes meant that we didn't really notice the difference. The bathroom overlooked the ocean which was the only difference we could find from the Luxury one.

My husband was a bit poorly for the first few days of our stay and the resident doctor came out as soon as he could and reassured us and gave us medicine that had him sorted within a couple of days. In addition during this time, the restaurant manager was keen to make sure he had simple and plain food sent to the villa. Everyone asked after him and welcomed him back once he was well enough to go to the dining room again (even though he only missed two meals).

The staff really are wonderful! They remember you and get to know your likes and dislikes which makes you feel as though they are reading your mind!

The one downside for us was the 4.5km unmade road leading up to the hotel entrance. We can't understand how they wouldn't want a smoother arrival and departure for the guests of such a luxurious 5* resort. We knew to expect it and after our safari we thought it would seem like a breeze but it really was tough going. Although our departure in a 4x4 was much better than our arrival.

If that is the worst thing we can say about The Residence then I think they are doing a pretty fantastic job! As we left everyone said they hoped to see us again in the future. We wish the same thing...it might take us some time and we may well have kids in tow but we would DEF like to visit The Residence Zanzibar again as well as try their hotels in the Maldives and perhaps Tunis!

Room Tip: Suite 124 was very private! Suite 100 was equally lovely but further away from everything in the cen...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MullinsSE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We had an unbelievable 5 days at The Residence Zanzibar. It was if we were surrounded by Genies and our every wish was granted. The service is outstanding with all employees exceeding our expectations. The setting is peaceful and relaxing and we found just enough to do in the days we spent there. Many thanks to the managers and staff who made our stay so memorable.

Room Tip: All the rooms seemed well placed so I don't think you can make a mistake. It really depends on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dohiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We stayed for 5 nights after a safari for some r and r.

The property, villas, pool area, food and cocktails are perfection.

The staff are fabulous (though quite laid back ) and offer wonderfully kind and personal service - also some special touches such as candle lit drinks on the beach at night.

Our beach front villa was a few steps from the Indian Ocean - I was happy to pay the price of other couples taking their romantic sun set shots on the beach.

The Indian Ocean is very tidal but for me that adds interest as you have an ever changing landscape.

The property is isolated so for after crazy safari and with a trip to stone town in the middle it was perfect for 5 nights - I think more may have left me a little stir crazy.

Room Tip: Beach front villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank YorkMinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I always abide by the rule that the world is too big to go to the same place twice but as a rule to the exception, the residence is a place I would definitely go back too.
The place is roughly an hours drive from the airport, no crazy traffic jams so the drive is a breeze. It's at the southern end of the island and quite scenic.
The hotel itself has been tastefully done and their website doesn't lie. The villas are spacious and the private pools are a charm and a unique addition. (Insist on the ocean facing villas as opposed to the garden villas).
The food is quite good and the service was amazing (must admit after a few reviews wasn't expecting much on this two fronts but ended up being awed by the good service)
The hotel has lots of facilities and activities, from snorkeling, kayaking, spa etc. Every guest gets a bike too and you can cycle around the property which is vast and full of space thus making it different from smaller hotels where you feel choked out of air.
For more I would recommend a visit.

Stayed: May 2014
1  Thank Julius K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
32.2 mi away
Melia Zanzibar
Melia Zanzibar
#1 of 12 in Kiwengwa
1,632 reviews
30.2 mi away
ZanziResort
ZanziResort
#5 of 172 in Zanzibar Island
505 reviews
48.8 mi away
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
Essque Zalu Zanzibar
#3 of 19 in Nungwi
641 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
33.3 mi away
Dream of Zanzibar
Dream of Zanzibar
#2 of 3 in Mahonda
1,681 reviews
48.7 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Resort Zanzibar - Nungwi
10.7 mi away
Zanzibar White Sand Luxury Villas & Spa (Relais & Chateaux)
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Residence Zanzibar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Residence Zanzibar

Address: Mchangamle, Kizimkazi 2404, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kizimkazi
Price Range: £152 - £987 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Residence Zanzibar 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Residence Zanzibar lies within a lush, forested 32-hectare estate where five-star luxuries sit harmoniously alongside nature's untouched beauty. Feel your spirits soar amid extensive tropical gardens that meet with powder-soft white sand lapped by the crystal clear waters of the Indian Ocean. Inspired by the island's eclectic cultures, our luxury Zanzibar resort blends modern comforts with Swahili, Omani, British and Indian influences. Indulge in the privacy of the spacious villas, attended on if you wish by your own personal butler. Enjoy carefree days relaxing by your private pool, on the beach, or exploring the gardens on foot or by bicycle. Savour a taste of the Spice Island's unique blend of cultures and cuisines, and the pleasure of sensational spa treatments. Discover more of the island and the waters that surround it in a myriad of activities, from visiting historic sites and rare natural wonders to deep sea fishing and diving with dolphins. Whether you dream of a quiet couple's retreat or fun in the sun for the whole family, embrace all the delights of our island life at The Residence Zanzibar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Residence Zanzibar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Residence Zanzibar Hotel Kizimkazi
The Residence Zanzibar Zanzibar Island/Kizimkazi

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing