We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay in”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kizimkazi
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi
Ranked #5 of 13 Kizimkazi B&B and Inns
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have now stayed a week at the L'Oasis Hotel and I am very pleased. Comfortable large very clean rooms, fantastic view over the Indian Ocean, good food and a diversified menu and very service minded staff. The Hotel is not in the centre of all other tourist Hotels, so this is a perfect place to relax in. I have been out Deep Sea Fishing and I got a large Kingfish, I have sailed in a Dow and I made a walk-about in the village.
I will definitly return here during my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JanErik56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2013

L'Oasis Beach hotel , is the little brother of L'Oasis Lodge of Arusha. So we find the same attention and care and warmness of the staff, which is very nice. Again the rooms are very big, lot's of space, and very very clean. The food, like the Oasis Lodge in Arusha is very very good and diversify. And the prices, for the room as well for the food are more than reasonable. The beds are very confortable. Each night, we are presented with some activies that are offered in the aera. We took Swiming with the Dolphins, and the day after we went Sailing and snorkling as and finished the journey eating excellent and fresh seafood on a sandbar. All offered by the local in the nearby village. It was very nice to taste what the local are doing and meet them. In Both cases, they came and picked up us at the hotel in there boats at the pier as well as dropping us at the end of the day, Which was very nice. Kizimkazi is a bit far from Stonetown(1 hour driving) but it's well worth the trip. It's an excellent place to taste the other Tanzania. The hotel is very quiet, so it's a very nice place to recuparate after a climb/trek or a safari. Wifi internet acces is very good and free. Situated right beside the Ocean, the sunset are spectacular.

Room Tip: the rooms near the pool are a bit bigger.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank dnatreb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2012

L'oasis is a great hotel to stay when you need some time to relax. It is not crowded and the staff is lovely. Their swimming pools are gorgeous and their food delicious. Only little negative point, a local bar is situated close by and it can be noisy during the night on the week-ends.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank katell D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 December 2012

Kizimkai is hidden away in a less crowded part of the island and will provide a sense of tranquility as well as seclusion.
The staff at L'Oasis is super friendly and most services are available almost around the clock. Rooms and in particular, bed sheets & towels, are very clean.
During our 5 days stay, there were many sighting of dolphins very close to the shore.

Room Tip: Rooms close to the pool can be noisy at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 6sigmax
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

Stayed at L'Oasis for 3 nights, we arrived and were greeted by friendly staff who carried our stuff to our room. The room was basic but clean (and if you've ever travelled round Africa on a budget, this is a plus!!) and had a heater for hot water which was a bonus :) We had a lovely time lying on the artifical beach (nice touch) as it's on top of a cliff so nice views at high tide and you could head down to the actual beach at low tide and have a picturesque walk round to the village and beyond if you wanted. The two pools were clean and refreshing. The fresh fish was excellent and the food on the al a carte menu was good but the buffet needed some work. We paid an extortionate amount for swimming with the dolphins trip through an expedition guy that was to include boat, guide, soda and snorkelling equipment. What we got is all of those things but not as you would have imagined. The wooden boat had the tiniest engine in the world and could barely fight it's way through the waves, there was no soda on board, the snorkelling equipment was not in great condition which hampered swimming and they spent half the trip trying to plug a big hole in the front of the boat. When we did get to the dolphins, the guides were good and had an amazing experience chasing after the wild dolphins. They also had run out of petrol so we had to wlak back to our hotel. My advice would be if you want an expidition, go and negotiate with the village locals, one of the guests we spoke to got it for a 3rd of the price and a much better experience. The staff made this hotel for me though, amazing people and would love to go back for some more fun.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JenniBus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2012

Stayed at the hotel for five days, great food, nice staff, nice big and clean rooms! Absolutely wonderful place!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Christoffer L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2012

We stayed at loasis for 4 days and we loved the place! Its was a perfect mix of relax and adventure. So nice that you could snorkling just outside the hotel in the clear water, and after escape the sand and relax beside the pool instead of lie on some beach and get sand all over you :-) We really enjoyed our days att Kizimkazi!!! And I have to remeber to say, If you go there, you have to try the king fish curry, yummy!

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Jenny913
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kizimkazi hotels
0 mi away
L'Oasis Zanzibar
L'Oasis Zanzibar
#6 of 13 in Kizimkazi
6 reviews
0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
1,074 reviews
0 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kizimkazi
279 reviews
0 mi away
Promised Land Lodge
Promised Land Lodge
#1 of 13 in Kizimkazi
169 reviews
0 mi away
Karamba
Karamba
#4 of 5 in Kizimkazi
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi

Address: Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Kizimkazi
Price Range: £73 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful location, no salesmen, no loud music, clean and secure less-touristic part of Zanzibar. Large rooms, beds in Zanzibar style. Verandas with perfect sea view. Two swimming pools with natural salted water. Lots of fresh water in showers (not always on Zanzibar). Beautiful garden. Many excursions can be arranged from the hotel. Best place for dolphin tours, if lucky you can even see some while sitting outside your room. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing