We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to relax”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi
Ranked #6 of 11 Kizimkazi B&B and Inns
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Nice place to relax”
Reviewed 26 February 2014

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. We were looking for somewhere quiet, away from the really touristy areas of Zanzibar, to relax for a few days. Given the price we paid (we got 50% off through Hotels.com) and what we were looking for, this hotel was great. However, it wouldn't be worth the full room rate - the rooms are basic (no AC) and the grounds are looking quite tired. The setting is beautiful, overlooking the reef and the sunset, however the hotel has an empty, sleepy feel to it. The food at the restaurant was quite good for lunch, although we ate at neighbouring restaurants/hotels for dinner. The high speed wifi was great, although didn't work in our room. The staff were friendly but a little sleepy/vague at times.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gebailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    10
    18
    7
    3
    4
See reviews for
12
16
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gulu, Uganda
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014

We stayed at l'Oasis for 11 nights, family of 4 (with 2 babies of 6 and 3) from the 28th of December 2013 till the 8th of January 2014.

Site - BEAUTIFUL
This resort has a lot of potential, primarily for its beautiful location. The reef permits you to have a nice ocean swim during high tide, in the crystal clear water. it is also possible to do some snorkeling along the reef as well as not so deep in the ocean. During the low tide you can have a nice walk down the reef and look for nice spots and enjoy the nature of the beautiful ocean bed.

Accommodation - BASIC
When we arrived the receptionist informed us that our room was ready, but did inform us that there was something missing and they would work on it. When we entered there was no tap on the sink... that is probably what she meant, but the whole bathroom needs major renovations. We stayed in room 12A (the one right in front of the pool you see in the picture chosen by the manager for tripadvisor). The rooms are pretty basic. not even a wardrobe in there but there are fans to cool you off during the heat of the day.
Generally speaking our room needed a lot of renovations, all the bathroom area needs a complete refurbishment, at least we got a new tap and a whole new set for the shower. nevertheless, the door to the toilet never actually closed properly and the wood looked ramshackle and rotten.
The entrance door to the room doesn't also close properly. It has a lot of potential but really not up to standard. the feeling was a bit of abandonment and no real keen interest in maintaining the place.
The first day there was not a single towel in the room, and even though we asked several times we only received them the following day after we begged for a thorough housekeeping session especially in the bathroom.
Swimming pools were nice for the first 4-5days, the kids loved it, it is shallow enough in most areas and they could play in water easily. Unfortunately the pump broke down on the 5-6th day and by the time we left it was still broken so water turned out to be greenish and filthy. Not acceptable. We informed the manager and the receptionist several times, but there was always an excuse for not fixing the pump.

FOOD AND SERVICE- AWFUL
Now,here comes the real blunder of this place. The food was simply not up to standard. The cook simply did not know what he was doing and what recipes he would follow. I remember asking for a dish of fish and once it came in a form of stew and the other deep fried with bread crumbs. On New years eve, there was buffet and unfortunately there was a miscalculation and several guests remained without food. Most of the meat tasted stale. If you wan to attempt having a decent meal ask for the fish of the day. My daughter of 3 years lost 3 kgs while staying there, she could not simply eat the food. My wife rejected plates several times and so even though we were on full board we resorted to eat outside the resort whenever we could.
Simply shameful. The owner should seriously look into hiring a professional cook, who can do his job properly. This has been the greatest deterrent for us to ever come back in this place.

Excursion and trips
There is a person who supposedly works in collaboration with the resort that every evening attempts to lure you to take trips with him. Well, we managed to swiftly and smartly dodge him as we met a great guy during the low tide who would offer us the same exact excursions for half the price. He owns a company and has passion in what he does as well as interest.
to-fro stonetown would cost you 50USD compared to the 100 by the hotel guy.
dolphins + snorkeling = 50USD compared to 120USD of the other guy
etc.
His contacts are: IBRAHIM JUMA (+255-773172428, +255778538764, ibrahimjuma95@yahoo.com). He lives in the village next to the resort. WE STRONGLY RECOMMEND HIM. Cheap, reliable and spot on. Ah, don't forget to ask him to take you for the sandbay trip.... he will grill for you fresh lobsters, Squid etc. on the sandbay, after snorkeling. Amazing experience.

Overall impression
It is sad to see such a potentially nice resort be abandoned to its fate. It is a beautiful location, blessed with exceptional nature and beautiful warm, crystal clear ocean waters. Our impression is that the owner doesn't really care. It's a pity, and if that's the case he should sell it to someone who can take it up to standard. This resort is way below par for what it could offer. Pity.

Room Tip: Room 12A needs major renovations don't stay there unless they make major changes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ayo78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Morogoro, Tanzania
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

I stayed at L'Oasis for 4 nights over Christmas 2013. The place has a lot of potential and is a great location if you want peace and quiet.

The positives-the rooms were large and comfortable! I had no problems with my room. The friend I was traveling with had a few problems with his, including no water and a fan that didn't work. After being told a number of times that it would be fixed (with no progress), he finally insisted on being moved to another room, where he had no problems.

The grounds are well maintained and the docks/bandas over the ocean are just lovely and allow easy beach/ocean access. It was great to be able to choose to swim in the ocean or in one of two pools on site. Kizimkaze is a bit remote, if your looking for a vivid nightlife or lots to do, this isn't the location for you.

The food at the hotel was good, but I felt it was overpriced for what you receive. The breakfast included in the room rate was delicious, with omelettes and pancakes (think crepes) made to order.

There were some frustrations. I had arranged through their contact email for a transfer from the ferry to the hotel. I clarified in the emails that I was referring to the Zanzibar location and would be arriving on the ferry...as far as I know, there are no ferrys in Arusha. When my friend and I arrived in Stone Town, no car met us. We tried calling the hotel, but the phone numbers on the website rang to the Arusha location.

The staff were friendly and accommodating (most seemed to be in training), although neither my friend or I were impressed by the manager. The hotel had allegedly arranged a sunset cruise for the guests on Christmas. When the announced time came around, one boat showed up, which was quickly filled by a single Swedish family. When we went to the front desk, the manager assured us that something would arranged for us...it never was. If you're going to offer something to all guests with limited seating, have a sign-up sheet available. There was a nice surprise on Christmas Eve with local music and dance.

There is someone who will go around the restaurant/bar at night to arrange tours. We booked a Spice/Stone Tour tour through him for our return trip to the ferry. The tour itself was great, although we were promised a guide for the day, who only met us in Stone Town. The taxi driver didn't have the proper stickers/insurance on his car, so we were stopped multiple times at the police checkpoints. If the organizer works through the hotel, they should ensure that the vehicles used for transport are fully licensed.

This is the dolphin beach area of Zanzibar. We did go out on a boat for a dolphin excursion, but alas, were not lucky enough to see any that day.

The power never went out, however the water was intermittent. The wifi in the restaurant and reception area was strong and only went down briefly.

Love the tinga tinga style paintings on the outside of each building. Definitely book a spice and Stone Town tour on your way to or from Kizimkaze to maximize your budget, it'll take about 1 and 15 minutes to travel between L'Oasis and Stone Town.

Got a great price on this place on Tingo, but I'm not sure if I would stay here again if the rate was any higher.

This place is apparently popular with Swedish tourists, so there is an extensive collection of books in Swedish, only about 3 in English on the shelves. Be sure to bring books or your e-reader with you!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azwildcat02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
arusha
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 October 2013

It has a lot of potential and they need to work to improve it! Nicer deco will make wonders in the rooms and the sitting areas.Something silly but quite upseting the fact that hammocks have no mattress so too hard to lay on them so we had to lay on the ground next to the pool. Food ok but a little bit overpriced compared to the room rates.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank maricuqui6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
munster
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

Didn't stay here, but came here for lunch twice while staying in neighboring Karamba. L'Oasis was very quite. The first day there were no guests staying in the resort, on the second day there were 4 guests. I don't understand why it's so quite, it was a beautiful spot. Staff lovely, food fab! & views to dye for. After lunch on both days we just chilled out on their piers or under the gazebo enjoying the breeze & the views. We were welcomed to use the 2 pools too but we were happy to sit in the shade. Would definitely stay here if I come back to zanzibar!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank blueesmrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

We stayed at L'Oasis - not posh, but good value for money, friendly and clean. It was rainy season - easter 2012 - but the heavy showers are just charming. We ate fish, lobster and whatevere variety of seafood every single day. And felt so heathy :-)
Because of the pier you can go swimming independently of the tide. That is why we chose this special place. In addition we got the most charming staff and a whole Beach Hotel more or less on our own...
We went swimming with the dolphines - I thought it was some kind of a tourist trap - but we actually swam together with around 50 of them. Unbelievable.
Simple standard without a/c. But who cares when you actually watch the Indian Ocean without leaving the bed ?

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sissel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lulea, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2013

I have now stayed a week at the L'Oasis Hotel and I am very pleased. Comfortable large very clean rooms, fantastic view over the Indian Ocean, good food and a diversified menu and very service minded staff. The Hotel is not in the centre of all other tourist Hotels, so this is a perfect place to relax in. I have been out Deep Sea Fishing and I got a large Kingfish, I have sailed in a Dow and I made a walk-about in the village.
I will definitly return here during my next visit to Zanzibar.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanErik56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kizimkazi
0.0 mi away
Fruit & Spice Wellness Resort
0.0 mi away
Unguja Lodge
Unguja Lodge
#2 of 5 in Kizimkazi
269 reviews
0.0 mi away
L'Oasis Zanzibar
L'Oasis Zanzibar
#3 of 11 in Kizimkazi
4 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Promised Land Lodge
Promised Land Lodge
#1 of 11 in Kizimkazi
154 reviews
0.0 mi away
Reef & Beach Resort Zanzibar
0.0 mi away
The Residence Zanzibar
The Residence Zanzibar
#1 of 5 in Kizimkazi
934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi

Property: L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi
Address: Kizimkazi, Tanzania
Region: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar Island > Kizimkazi
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 11 B&Bs / Inns in Kizimkazi
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi 3*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peaceful location, no salesmen, no loud music, clean and secure less-touristic part of Zanzibar. Large rooms, beds in Zanzibar style. Verandas with perfect sea view. Two swimming pools with natural salted water. Lots of fresh water in showers (not always on Zanzibar). Beautiful garden. Many excursions can be arranged from the hotel. Best place for dolphin tours, if lucky you can even see some while sitting outside your room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
L'Oasis Beach Hotel Kizimkazi Zanzibar Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing