We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Olappamanna Mana
Nearby Hotels
Lords Resort Cheruthuruthy Thrissur(Thrissur)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Restaurant
Regal Residency(Perintalmanna)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Khaleej Residency(Malappuram)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Excellent 5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Gayathri Grand(Palakkad District)
Booking.com
View Deal
Booking.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ayuryogashram(Thrissur)
Great 4.5/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (120)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
105
14
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
105
14
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfamily templevegetarian foodhis wifehome stayunique experiencesouthern indiamain buildingevery mealmagical placetraditional keralakathakali performancehost familystayed for two nightsolden dayspure vegetarianancestral homegoddess kali
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
44 - 49 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

For us Olappananna Mana was a trip back into a nostalgic era. Settled in Switzerland, every year we go back to the myserious magical land, India looking for a new hide out, a new experience. Olappamanna Mana opened the doors to a bygone era of art, culture & hospitality. Time seems to stand still and when in the evenings, in the muted light of the oil lamps the Kalamezhutthupattu is performed we had to pinch ourselves that this is the twentyfirst century. 20 hectatres of land, several temples and the stately ettukettu standing like a grand old lady that has aged gracefully. Take the time to relax in the grand veranda or watch the peacocks still roam around and imagine those grand old days when caprsoned elephants came to the Mana to pay homage to the diety that still resides. The hosts are a great couple.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank prasad_baden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

If you're looking for a homestay, look no further. This is the place to be. It doesn't get any better. Your hosts are welcoming and friendly, the accommodation is in an old authentic, beautiful home surrounded by lush grounds. The rooms are large and comfortable whilst keeping their old charm. All the meals provided were delicious and plentiful and taken with the family who related tales of past times and of their family life. We arrived to the sound of drums and soon realised a special event was taking place. An evening of local dance was being held to celebrate the life of a famous dancer on the anniversary of his death. We joined in the celebrations and were pleased to be included in the local culture. With a wonderful name like Olappamanna Mana it can't be anything but the best.

Room Tip: Upper floor with very large verandah
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank oldschool00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

When you arrive there, you feel immediately well. It's one of the most peaceful and romantic places I've ever been to. You can imagine being there for many days, just enjoying the quietness, nature, and amazing Indian food. If you get there in the right date/season, you can also enjoy the most touching Kathakali performance you can imagine, or an incredibly beautiful and interesting ritual. Hosts are amazingly polite, and it's a real pleasure talking with them. The room was great. I just feel thankful.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
1  Thank Carmen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2014

We stayed for two nights in January. Everything about our time there was unique and fascinating. We were very well looked after by our hosts who provided delicious meals, (breakfast, lunch, afternoon tea and dinner) as well as fascinating conversation. The accommodation was excellent, we particularly noticed the comfortable pillows and the large towels. We had a large balcony as well as a spacious room at our disposal as we were the only guests. Everyday we walked through the "estate" to take meals with the Damadorans, through tropical gardens with hundreds of different kinds of plants and trees. Whenever possible Mr Damadoran was there to tell us more about what we were looking at - the crops, the traditions, the rituals, the history of his family and their connections to the land. This was what made the trip so special and we learned a huge amount about contemporary life in Kerala as well as the traditions of the place. Despite reading the information we were sent and looking at the web site, we were unprepared for the experience offered by the Damadorans in Olappamanana Mana. It far surpassed our expectations - in particular the ritual that we saw enacted in the temple whilst we were there - if you are there on one of these dates you will experience a truly extraordinary event in which a drawing is made each day and erased each night....you have to be there to understand this ceremony and its significance. I cannot recommend this place too highly.
It might be worth saying that if you are older or not too physically agile, climbing the outdoor staircase up to the accommodation may present a problem - in our early sixties we managed it, and it did not diminish our appreciation of the place.......it just slowed us down.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank franbarb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2014

While visiting India for the first time, I had the privilege to accompany friends to Olappamanna Mana for a quick one night stay. From the moment we arrived we were enveloped with genuine care and authentic hospitality. The grounds are true to what you would hope to expect: extensive, lush, natural, and undisturbed. Our lodging quarters were basic, comfortable, clean, and more than sufficient. The true icing-on-the-cake was the outrageously delicious and authentic meals prepared and presented by the lovely hosts that operate this lovely home stay gracefully, and with ease. I wouldn't hesitate returning for a moment and highly recommend to them to anyone considering an experience such as this.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews