We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely evening”
Review of The Blue Boar

The Blue Boar
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: The Blue Boar is a Traditional Country pub set in the Beautiful Village of Walsham-le-Willows. We served good quality, homemade food and all ingredients are sourced from suppliers within a 10 mile radius of the pub. The Blue Boar is a family run business and also our home so we make a special effort to ensure that people are made to feel welcome. We have a fantastic enclosed back garden with children's play area which is overlooked by the beautiful St Mary's Church. The Blue Boar is not a restaurant but it is a traditional, homely, village pub with a quality food offering ,open fires and low beams. Adam, Liz and their 2 children welcome you to the Blue Boar and are confident you will enjoy your visit.
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Lovely evening”
Reviewed 13 July 2014

We had a great steak meal here. The restaurant was lovely, warm & very welcoming. Nice view of the gardens too. The staff were very attentive & helpful. Fantastic steak with homemade onion rings that were divine plus all the trimmings. Would defiantly go back & recommend it to anyone.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hil2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

245 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    47
    19
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Watton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“What a welcome”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We had not been to this hostelry before but we were welcomed like old friends. We purchased a Groupon Voucher which provided us with the most excellent meal for two. The ambience within was perfect with the owners and staff being most attentive.
We shall soon be making another visit as we enjoyed our time at The Blue Boar so much on this trip 2 July 2014.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bwcal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stowmarket, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“This is what a good village pub should be like.”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

The Blue Boar is where one can enjoy a pint of good real ale, a glass of wine and eat a good meal.Greeted on arrival (other pubs take note!), were led into a very pleasant restaurant which has windows overlooking the garden. The menu is not too big or stereotyped. Our food was a little bit slow arriving, which we put down to fresh ingredients being cooked to order. Our first courses were tomato and basil soup, scallops with pancetta, and crispy ham hock with a mustard sauce. All were good. Our main dishes were duck breast with bubble and squeak, lamb three ways, and steak and ale pie. All these were well made and presented, and much enjoyed. The service from two friendly and helpful girls was excellent. The wine list is fairly priced starting at £12.99 for Chilean wines. The large garden has seating and ideal for drinks outside, children and dogs. As we left they said 'Good Night', we will certainly return.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maisie33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bury St Edmunds, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“All round excellent”
Reviewed 21 June 2014

I was looking for a pub locally which had a garden for 3 young children to charge about in. Came across The Blue Boar and was taken by the photos of the garden and the menu selection looked good. I rang at midday for a table for 9 people for early evening. The pub was very accommodating as they were very busy. I took a chance on visiting and myself and the rest of the party were very impressed with the whole experience. The restaurant looked over the lovely big garden and play area, staff friendly and the food excellent. We will be returning.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Fantastic food, brilliant service, you won't be disappointed”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

We had never been before and used a Groupon voucher to attend, so wasn't sure what to expect....but we loved it! The food was fantastic, all home made and very good sized portions. The surroundings are lovely, old fashioned pub with comfy seats and fireplaces. Back garden is huge, great for kids to run around in, there is also swings and see-saws, to keep young ones entertained. The waitress' were very attentive, but knew when to disturb and when not to. I thought it was great. The only down side was it was a little bit of a trek to get there, but honestly, its worth it.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Angie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Blue Boar also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
 

Been to The Blue Boar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing