We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful forge, very romantic”
other travellers have booked this property
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bedroom with kingsize bed. Views over looking the village green. Light and airy. The Kitchen - fully fitted with everything you need for cooking your own meals.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
21 reviews
The Living Area - beautifully beamed and full of character with wood burning stove.
Bedroom with kingsize bed. Views over looking the village green. Light and airy.
The Kitchen - fully fitted with everything you need for cooking your own meals.
Relax in front of the fire and enjoy a glass or two.
Dining - eat in comfort in the Forge surrounded by history.
Shower Room - with electric shower and plenty of thick towels.
Flempton Forge - Grade II listed 18c flint and brick forge
Tranquil Atmosphere - A lovely ambience for those romance evenings.
Original Stable Door - Share in the buildings history, original memorabilia around the walls.
Poppies in the garden - a theme carried on throughout the Forge.
Wisteria on front of Forge
Patio area. Teak steamers and parasol for the summer. BBQ for the summer evenings.
Secluded Patio and Garden
Flag Pole Cherry Tree in garden, beautiful in the spring.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Barn -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Flempton, Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk, East Anglia, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 21 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
dansa3151
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Beautiful forge, very romantic”
Reviewed 12 May 2015 for a stay in August 2014

The forge is beautiful. A lovely little romantic space for 2 people. Nice separate kitchen and bedroom and living space. Room for parking. A very friendly and efficient service. A good price. All in all and very good experience. I choose this option when all hotels were booked, if I had of know it was an option before looking at hotels I would've choose this first. Greta value. Thanks very much.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
booking19...
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
“GREAT Loved it”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Quirky , comfy all you could want. Very welcoming , good walks and easy drive to lots of places,great wifi . Had a lovely week here. Well stocked kitchen, nice courtyard . Flowers not quite out yet but soon. Thanks Jules

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maresa O
Suffolk, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful place for a romantic weekend”
Reviewed 10 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

The Forge really is a lovely and beautiful place to stay. Me and my Fiancé stayed here for a surprise birthday weekend in March and well, it more than lived up to my expectations! my Fiancé loved it! with a log fire in the centre of the front room it Is very cosy and perfect for a night in on the sofa. there is a massive range of DVD's supplied for you as well! With a fully working kitchen to compliment it! this came in very handy for our fry up in the morning hehe. (theres a large Tesco appx 10 min drive from here too) with good access to Cambridge/ Bury St Edmunds etc.... the bed was wonderfully comfortable and I had an awesome nights sleep (which you don't find very often away from home).

All in all this is a wonderful place to stay and I would recommend to all of my family and friends.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
William T
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Quiet and cozy country cottage.”
Reviewed 3 April 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Flempton Forge was the perfect home base for nine days spent exploring Suffolk and Norfolk. It's located in a quiet village right across from a beautiful parish church and traditional pub. The Forge itself had everything necessary for a weekend or extended stay: fully equipped kitchen, washing machine, bathroom, wi-fi, cable tv and dvd collection, separate bedroom, and a giant forge right in the middle of the living room! This place felt like home to me for over a week and it was a pleasure to come back to this delightful haven after days spent driving, working, and sightseeing. I was left to my own devices (which was fine by me), although Jules was available via email and phone if ever I had a question. If you are looking for a clean and cozy place to stay Flempton Forge is the vacation rental for you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and availability of kitchen & laundry
Liked least: Washing machine was a bit old and there was no dryer.
Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2015
HI Will, thanks for the review it is much appreciated. I am glad that you had a relaxing time and the place felt like home. Kind regards Jules
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Wickford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Cosy”
Reviewed 17 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

Full marks for an excellent and thoughtfull conversion from a working forge to holiday accomodation, containing everyting required for a relaxing stay and very central to the surrounding countryside and attractions

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness
Liked least: A bit gloomy inside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CeWeline
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Perfect for holidays as couple”
Reviewed 8 October 2014 for a stay in July 2013

We were looking for a nice place to stay for our first holidays together and found this cottage. It was a great holiday and we managed to have a good balance between actions (all reachable by bus or on foot: Bury St. Edmunds, Anglo-Saxon Village, footpathes along, Fuller's Mill Garden) and calm days "at home". We experienced the forge as very cozy and great. The whole forge is decorated so nicely and creates a perfect atmosphere. We often used the garden to eat outside or read a book.
Very much to recommend :)
Btw: We had no car but managed everyting very well. The owner of the forge even offered us to bring us to the train station with her car :) and she send us some clothes to Germany, we forgot in the forge... Thank you for that! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
freerover
Tavistock
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Excellent hideaway in Suffolk countryside”
Reviewed 25 June 2013 for a stay in June 2013
1
person found this review helpful

If you are a couple looking for a short break in Suffolk you would be hard pushed to find better. The Forge still retains all it's old world charm, yet has been fitted out to make a very comfortable stay. A modern kitchen with new equipment, central heating, (not that we needed that), and Wi-Fi. Also very comfortable bed which is often not the case for short lets. Ten minutes from Bury St Edmunds which is a lovely city, but in a country village. Golfers should try Flempton golf course just down the road, (need handicap certificates), but a gem of a nine hole course over 100 years old. Pub opposite not much to recommend, but plenty of good ones in the area. Very welcoming and helpful owner.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Ambience and comfort
Liked least: No matters of any consequence
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing