We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still good”
Review of Sunee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sunee Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Still good”
Reviewed 15 December 2012

Stayed here 30th Nov/1 Dec two nights. Nice room with king size bed at 1600 baht a night great value. Breakfast could be improved with a little more western food perhaps. Reception staff are mostly ok and they let us check out late free of charge, which was handy because of THAI airlines stupid decision to now run only one flight per day to bkk at 1750 which is really inconvenient. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AjarnBulldog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    96
    48
    14
    8
See reviews for
48
58
25
33
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (38)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Denver, CO
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We found this to be a surprisingly excellent hotel with large, clean rooms, a decent breakfast and excellent wifi. It is located a short distance from the bus station--we took a bus from Pakse to Ubon--and a little more distance from the train station. As a side note having nothing to do with this hotel, we should have taken the sleeper bus from Pakse directly to Bangkok instead of the train. It would have saved us a day, and there is really nothing that much to do in Ubon anyway. Back to the hotel, it is located adjacent to a nice shopping center with surprisingly good--and inexpensive--restaurants. In the basement of the shopping center, you will find a combination spa/massage parlor which offer a good, 200 baht foot massage. The shopping center also has a decent supermarket, which we used to buy food for our train trip. The hotel has an excellent swimming pool which guests can use for free and has a waterpark next door for the kiddies.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John Traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nonthaburi Province, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
96 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2012

good price, only 1,300 baht a night. good breakfast. standard room. below avergae shampoo/conditioner. 100 channels TV. bell boys and receptionists are well trained. good fitness and swimming pool but it opens for membership. it is busy most of the day. connected to a shopping mall. no need for mini bar.

Room Tip: ask for the top floor on the south side. it has a better view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PativateB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stourbridge, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 September 2012

Well nice hotel close to all shopping malls.room was big and spacious and for £30 per night for a superior room I have to say its one of the best I stayed in.would only look to normally spend £20 max in Thailand but only staying for couple of weeks I decided to treat myself.well worth that bit extra and will definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: I had a non smoking superior room.it was huge,bathroom was superb and shower was better than at home...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

plus: nice, big and modern rooms; beautiful lobby and bar area, friendly reception; nice pool
cons: lousy service at breakfast (actually no service at all), only go to breakfast if included in room rate - don't bother to pay extra (if they run out of any breakfast items, they don't replenish - we were refused pancakes 20 minutes before closing...)
only ethernet Internet in rooms, no wifi

Room Tip: superior room is better than deluxe
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BKK-George
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2012 via mobile

I stayed 2 nights in this hotel and the rooms had an unusual smell from the carpets. The price did not really reflect the rooms and thought we would have a better value for money. The rooms had a misty smell. Location was ok and had a shopping centre near by which I found handy

  • Stayed September 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Lebinchiangmai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 August 2012

This is supposed to be the best hotel in Ubon according to Tripadvisor and Agoda, but I have to say: less than average. Service ignorant and arrogant. I asked for some more towels, since they had only a few and the room and they were old and worne down. Staff at reception just say: "Cannot". And LAN (they did not have WIFI) was the lousiest I have see ever. Didnt work more than 15% of the time I needed it. Actually, not much positive to say this time.

Room Tip: choese another hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Stisse23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
1.2 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
91 reviews
1.7 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
118 reviews
0.7 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
49 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Tohsang City Hotel
Tohsang City Hotel
#9 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
96 reviews
2.0 mi away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#5 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
60 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
#6 of 29 in Ubon Ratchathani
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunee Grand Hotel

Property: Sunee Grand Hotel
Address: 512/8 Chayangkul Road, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 29 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunee Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and Ebookers so you can book your Sunee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing