We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very modern and comfty”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Sunee Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunee Grand Hotel
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very modern and comfty”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Currently staying in this hotel - very clean and spacious room.
Located just next to a mall (restaurant, bank and shops). The view is not fantastic (view on parking but we don t care). As I only stay one evening as a stop on a roadtrip, I have no idea if it is close to the city centre.
Free wifi in lobby and rooms - just great !
Breakfast : a mix of Asian and European food (some bread and pastries but not so many) pretty good - especially the soup !
Services is ok, receptionists speak English but not the other staff - they try to help in any case even if they don't understand.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Misslux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    46
    94
    46
    14
    8
See reviews for
45
57
24
33
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hua Hin
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

Lazy staff at the reception. Very poor English-knowlege by the staff. The Hotel trys to get money for every normal request (f.e. a little ice was charged with 60 Bath. The room-service picked up my dirty loundry and gave it in the loundry. I did not ask for that.). Old and damaged furniture and technical equipment (TV-WiFi). Never again.

Room Tip: Request renovatet rooms (there are some).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heiner T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
68 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2013

If your travels bring you to Ubon Ratchathani, and you don't mind staying in a large hotel, the Sunee Grand is probably the best in town. The rooms are large, modern, and very comfortable, with all the necessary amenities, including free WiFi. The hotel has a gym and outdoor pool, and is connected to a large shopping mail, with plenty of restaurants, shops and a movie theatre. There's even a water park on the rooftop of the mall. In the evenings, there is often live music in the lounge off the lobby. The breakfast buffet is included in most bookings, and has an ample mix mix of western and local foods. Perhaps the only drawback is that there is not much within walking distance of the hotel, as it's probably about a mile from the center of the city.

Room Tip: I spent just slightly more for a deluxe room, and it was well worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank benz37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
80 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

I went there on a short notice business trip. This hotel was my walk-in as a result of google search. The room rate was average with some discount due to the nature of my business trip. The room is modern and well equipped as well as spacious. Wifi is fast. The pool as slides are great. Spa and massage service were excellent. There were variety of food to choose from for breakfast.
Hotel manager was very helpful when we asked for special rate for long stay. the location is convenient and the hotel is connected to a mall where goods and grocery can be purchased.
In conclusion, this hotel is gem and even better than some hotel with the same rate in big city.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beebisbiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thailand
Level Contributor
65 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2013

Must be the top business choice in Ubon. Brand new hotel. Price isn't cheap for this part of the country and for what you get, price/quality is similar to what you would expect in Bangkok. Rooms really nice, yes. Breakfast very good and included which is a big plus. Extremely handy for the shopping mall. You won't know the weather going from your room to the shops and back. Nice upmarket mall too. Free and secure parking. Strange design with not a lot of consideration for the disabled. I am fortunately ambulant, but we have a push chair for our young'un and you could not seem to avoid stairs from the room to reception.

Room Tip: They have a water park on the 4th floor! Very handy for shops.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ianthailand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Graham Hull
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2013

I booked this hotel through an on-line agency. When I arrived at the hotel they had not reserved a room for me and insisted that I pay extra for a larger room. Any decent hotel would have provided a free upgrade.

They also have a bizarre phone system which means that you cannot make calls from your room.

I used to assume that this was the best hotel in Ubon but after trying a few others I have concluded that Sunee Grand is way over priced.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GTH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2013

I went to have BD dinner with my family at Sunee Grand Hotel on 24th July 2013. There are 6 of us. The food taste good and we had a great time. However, after I come back from dinning at Sunee Grand Hotel (at the lobby), I had running stomach and bad diarrhea all night!!! My mum starts to have diarrhea in the morning around 8am and in the end she finally had to admit at a private hospital in Ubon Ratchathani. She went to toilet during the day around 15times and I went to the toilet over 30times! The doctor said we had bad food infection and my mum had to inject few bottles of saline water. I called the hotel to tell them what has happened. The first call was transferred to a waitress who then transfer my call to the restaurant captain but the captain hang up on my call. Second time, I informed the receptionist manager and she said she will pass this issue to the management board. However, they didnt return my call and no apology from the hotel. I was wondering how the 5star hotel gonna solve this issue so I call them again and ask if they found what might be in the food? However, the hotel manager replied they had a meeting and they deny and refuse their responsibility even I told them we went to see the doctor and the doctor said we had food infection!! They said there were only 2 of us who had diarrhea but not all of us. I told them there are something that others didn't eat such as seafood sauce and every person's stomach sensitivity is different I explain to the hotel manager that my stomach is more sensitive than others because I just come back from overseas. Even that if the hotel cook the food properly and clean we shouldn't be sick. I and my mum didn't had anything before dinner and after dinner we didn't go anywhere else. After I come back home, I start to have bad stomach. I cant work for 2days and had to stay home. I feel really disappointed for the 5star hotel service. We are not only paying the food bill for 3,000baht (around $AU100 which is not cheap in Thailand) but also have to pay almost (12,000baht or $AU400) for the hospital and medication per person!!! The hotel manager only said that they will get back to me but I never receive any call or any apologies. They are careless and irresponsible. I don't recommend any traveller to dine at Sunee grand hotel as you might get sick and probably end up paying those costs like I do.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Golfie24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Ubon Ratchathani hotels
1.2 mi away
The Bliss Ubon
The Bliss Ubon
#1 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
5.0 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
0.7 mi away
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
V Hotel Ubon Ratchathani
#4 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 45 reviews
1.0 mi away
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
Pen Ta Hug Hotel
#5 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Laithong Hotel
Laithong Hotel
#6 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
1.7 mi away
T3 House
T3 House
#2 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 114 reviews
1.6 mi away
Tohsang City Hotel
Tohsang City Hotel
#8 of 27 in Ubon Ratchathani
4.0 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunee Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunee Grand Hotel

Property: Sunee Grand Hotel
Address: 512/8 Chayangkul Road, Ubon Ratchathani 34000, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Ubon Ratchathani Province > Ubon Ratchathani
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 27 Hotels in Ubon Ratchathani
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunee Grand Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 218
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Expedia, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sunee Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing