We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Simple and a Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of KayaSol Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KayaSol Surf Hotel
Ranked #8 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Simple and a Great location”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Simple rooms/houses that are clean and with various options re:air con, bedding arrangements etc. We stayed in 3 of their rooms (because we were indecisive about moving on and always booked our next night too late - our fault, not theirs), all of which were as described and quite clean. On the first night they did screw our booking up because their system wasn't working, but they upgraded us for the same price. No harm, no foul. The restaurant is pretty good for western style food but maybe a little pricey. The place has good ambiance and has a fun social vibe because of the central location of the pool and bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you Dunchy for giving us your positive feedback. It is much appreciated and helps us to better our business. We are happy you enjoyed our fun social vibe, location and variety of room options. Let's go surfing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    45
    18
    10
    6
See reviews for
24
55
30
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ventura
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend at Kaya for a week. Super noisy, terrible beds and absolutely no comfort. You feel like you have been scammed for your money. I would not recommend this place to anybody, except you are going only for partying.

Overall a terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olafur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Oli P,

We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Thank you for all of your helpful insight as we will be sure to use them to make improvements in the future. We would like to remedy this situation and would appreciate an email from you. Please contact us at info@kayasol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2012

Close to the beach, beautiful atmosphere, great restaurant, simple and clean rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sunnymango,

We are honored that you chose KayaSol to spend your vacation with and stoked to hear of your beautiful and simple experience. Thanks for sharing! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfanaghy, Ireland
Level Contributor
139 reviews
91 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 January 2012

A hotel with a good location with an easy walk to a wonderful stretch of beach and surf. The restaurant and bar area, which also has a small pool, is well laid out and a place for social interaction. The food is reasonably priced and good. Some of it very good and if you are staying there you get a further 10% discount on food. The only issues were a little noise past the time when quiet should be the norm and my room was not as clean as it could have been and in fact wasn't cleaned or made up for the second night I was there! Bar staff and reception staff were very helpful and friendly and overall it was a good place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trevcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Glad you enjoyed our location close to the beach with all of the amenities. We at KayaSol are constantly striving to help make a more sustainable planet by incorporating a green cleaning schedule. All of our rooms are supplied with cleaning cards to be used when our clients feel they would like an extra cleaning within the 48 hour rotation. We enjoyed having you as part of our KayaSol family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Greenville, South Carolina, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2012

I only stayed for one night. This hotel is in a great location, easy walk to the beach and the bar. The rooms are clean and secure. The beds were comfortable. Hot water in the showers! This is a great deal at this price.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GringoVagando
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
So glad to hear you had a wonderful stay. Look forward to seeing you again next time for a longer visit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Missoula, Montana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2011

Let me start with the fact that the rooms, staff, and restaurant were Great! Had a fabulous stay, felt very comfortable and safe the 6 nights I stayed. The restaurant food is absolutely Amazing!
Only problem was their Credit Card system...At first I was apparently over-charged for the private room the first 2 nights. I then moved to a different private room and was once again scrambled around for the charges. When I asked for a receipt of the credit card charges, I was at first told I couldn't have one, then I was given a simple hand-written receipt once I pressed the issue for proof. Now that I am looking at my Credit Card statement, they over-charged my rooms by 30%!!
Definitely be careful with the room charges!!!!

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zeke M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 28 January 2012
I am happy to hear that you had such a wonderful, comfortable visit and that you enjoyed the amazing food at our restaurant. During your visit we were in the 3 day process of upgrading to the most advanced credit card processing center and on-line booking engine available on the market today. During these 3 days of integrating into a seamless system, there was some over-lapping of charges. The printer needed to be programmed separately to connect to this new system and therefore our receptionist was not able to print a formal receipt. All extra charges however have been refunded in full. I apologize for any inconveniences this caused you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2011

My husband and I stayed at Kaya Sol for our honeymoon we couldn't have asked for a better place. The staff was beyond helpful and personable we really felt like part of their family. The food was delicious courtesy of Jorge. We looked forward to socializing with him at dinner every night. Also the beach was maybe a 3 min walk from the hotel. Any excursions we wanted to go on or had questions about Judy was there to answer. We were BEYOND SATISFIED and will be returning for another stay at KayaSol.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HIllary B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.1 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KayaSol Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KayaSol Surf Hotel

Property: KayaSol Surf Hotel
Address: Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana 100 M, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — KayaSol Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint family owned and operated hotel is located on the 200M Maritime Protected Zone. A 2 minute walk takes you to the best surf Guiones has to offer. We boast great prices & location; clean, comfortable, simple rooms; and our service is excellent. We are located on the non-commercialized end of the beach which gives you the tranquility you deserve yet puts you within walking distance to shops, restaurants & yoga. Come and enjoy the good life. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your KayaSol Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KayaSol Surf Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing