We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay to surf Playa Guiones”
Review of KayaSol Surf Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
KayaSol Surf Hotel
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Redondo Beach, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place to stay to surf Playa Guiones”
Reviewed 1 May 2012

I stayed at Kaya Sol for 15 day in March 2012. I had a poolside room there. It was cleaned almost every day and had everything that I needed for my surf trip to Playa Guiones. The food at their restaurant was great and I highly recommend the salads with fresh fish on them. My favorite was seared Ahi salad. I will return to this establishment in the future and I've been there 3 thimes before and was more than satisfied each time. This is not the Hilton but a basic clean place to stay. Leave your valuables in the lobby as you should do everywhere in Costa Rica. Enjoy your stay and get some great waves. Alan Walti, a surfer for 57 years

Room Tip: I like the rooms near the pool where everyone congregates during the day to socialize. It is quiet a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ApeonTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

171 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    93
    45
    18
    10
    5
See reviews for
24
54
31
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nosara
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2012

So close to the beach, many good restaurants, the "mini-super" for groceries... the location is epic. Staff is friendly, the on site restaurant is very good, and there is a pool with a unique slate bottom that keeps it cool even in the mid day heat! They offer accommodations for all price ranges, from hostel beds to large private rooms.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ardo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 March 2012

Our room was pretty basic. Typical cheap room in a surf hotel. I thought we had A/C but only a fan - no biggie but pretty smoking hot during our stay. The restaurant was good and the pool area was nice but small with only a few loungers. Nice ambiance overall. Do not stay here if you need things to be sparkling clean. Housekeeping is every 2 days - we stayed 3 and didn't see a housekeeper at all. This was not a problem as we are neat and tidy low impact travellers. I recommend this hotel for the budget traveller.

Room Tip: Air conditioning is a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank afriesen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2012

Stayed with my son for two nights and we really liked it. It is definately great value for the price with a lovely pool to cool off in. The food at the restaurant is superb and great value with nice sized portions. It's in a great location and very close to the beach.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

Simple rooms/houses that are clean and with various options re:air con, bedding arrangements etc. We stayed in 3 of their rooms (because we were indecisive about moving on and always booked our next night too late - our fault, not theirs), all of which were as described and quite clean. On the first night they did screw our booking up because their system wasn't working, but they upgraded us for the same price. No harm, no foul. The restaurant is pretty good for western style food but maybe a little pricey. The place has good ambiance and has a fun social vibe because of the central location of the pool and bar.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dunchy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Thank you Dunchy for giving us your positive feedback. It is much appreciated and helps us to better our business. We are happy you enjoyed our fun social vibe, location and variety of room options. Let's go surfing!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ventura
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Stayed with my girlfriend at Kaya for a week. Super noisy, terrible beds and absolutely no comfort. You feel like you have been scammed for your money. I would not recommend this place to anybody, except you are going only for partying.

Overall a terrible place to stay.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Olafur P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Oli P,

We are sorry to hear that your expectations were not met. Thank you for all of your helpful insight as we will be sure to use them to make improvements in the future. We would like to remedy this situation and would appreciate an email from you. Please contact us at info@kayasol.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 26 January 2012

Close to the beach, beautiful atmosphere, great restaurant, simple and clean rooms!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunnymango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sohan K, Owner at KayaSol Surf Hotel, responded to this review, 14 March 2012
Dear Sunnymango,

We are honored that you chose KayaSol to spend your vacation with and stoked to hear of your beautiful and simple experience. Thanks for sharing! We'll see you next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.1 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
1.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.3 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to KayaSol Surf Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about KayaSol Surf Hotel

Property: KayaSol Surf Hotel
Address: Norte Hotel Guilded Iguana 100 M, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — KayaSol Surf Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our quaint family owned and operated hotel is located on the 200M Maritime Protected Zone. A 2 minute walk takes you to the best surf Guiones has to offer. We boast great prices & location; clean, comfortable, simple rooms; and our service is excellent. We are located on the non-commercialized end of the beach which gives you the tranquility you deserve yet puts you within walking distance to shops, restaurants & yoga. Come and enjoy the good life. Pura Vida! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your KayaSol Surf Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
KayaSol Surf Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing