We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We came for one night and ended up staying for four”
Review of Bella Vista Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bella Vista Mar
Ranked #6 of 18 Nosara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“We came for one night and ended up staying for four”
Reviewed 7 December 2013

Alexa provides great hospitality. The hotel only has a few rooms and it is very quite and private. We used the shared kitchen a couple times, it is clean and well equipped. Of course there is a nice view as the name suggests. The pool is big enough for a couple laps and deep enough for diving. We saw monkeys on the adjacent property regularly. The humming bird feeders are also always busy. I would recommend a four wheel drive, although some people made it there in a prius. It is a 10 minute drive to the beach, to restaurants, or to the village. It is a 5 min walk to nature reserve. We will be coming back!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pavel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    84
    24
    2
    3
    3
See reviews for
17
53
5
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We traveled to the area for a weekend in the rainy season (October), and there weren't many places open. Found this place on Expedia for great price. Didn't expect much, but we very sooooo surprised. Caretaker was super friendly and helpful in places to see and eat. Room was very nice and clean and the view was great, even during a thunderstorm! Made to order breakfasts for all three of us and everything was delicious! I loved banana pancakes, my toddler loved French toast and my husband loved the quite above average Tico breakfast. Sun was out in the morning and the views were incredible, making us venture all over to see the beautiful beaches. Definitely with visiting again during high season, or any season!

Room Tip: We didn't bring ours, but seems very pet friendly. Nice pool with a great view. Close to every...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LisaVander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2013

I had the pleasure of staying here for a night and it was perfect. The views are STUNNING and it was a little cooler in temp, due to the location being on the top of the mountain. It´s a nice walk down to the beach as well. The staff was excellent and I would easily stay here again.

Keep up the good work ladies!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Matt K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013 via mobile

We were a mission team of 12 people that stayed here during our trip. The meals we were served, the service we received was far above any place I have stayed and I have travelled extensively. The entire team wants to go back for individual,vacations as well as another mission trip and we won't stay anywhere else. Highly recommend.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Judy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2013

I stayed at this quaint B & B back in January. I had some points on my credit card that enabled me to have a free nights stay so I decided to try it out. It is way up on the hill in Playa Pelada and really away from it all. You definitely need some sort of transportation to access it but that is also part of the beauty. We stayed in a room on the 2nd floor - I believe there are 8 rooms total. We had an ocean view and a small little area to relax outside - granted no one else was staying in the two other rooms in our area so we had the area to ourselves which was great. There is a great pool as well to relax in. The kitchen is communal and you are on the honor system when it comes to Beers and Cold drinks from the fridge. Overall the stay was extremely enjoyable. Alexa, the host was very friendly and accommodating. We had to leave early in the AM regrettably and didn't get to try the breakfast which is also included - and I hear excellent. None the less we will be back for another stay in the near future. I recommend this B & B to anyone and especially couples looking to get away from people.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rveege
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Six of us had a wonderful stay. We made full use of the pool, the luxurious breakfasts, and the views.
Walking to the beach was short and easy.
We went at the best time of the year- check the dates for yourself, when the turtles lay their eggs on the nearby beach.

Room Tip: I stayed in an upper room. I liked the breezes and the views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank howard n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Last December we spent 4 beautiful days in Nosara to elope and Bella Vista Mar was just the right choice!! Stunning views, cozy and authentic rooms, very nice pool area, delicious breakfast, very friendly staff and Alexa was the perfect host! Pura Vida! We felt so welcome and had the most amazing day of our lives due to Alexa's phenomenal organizational talent and her priceless efforts. Thank you so much! We will be back for sure!
Sabine & Roland

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.4 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
2.0 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#7 of 22 in Nosara
152 reviews
1.0 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
1.3 mi away
The Gardens Eco Resort (Giardino Tropicale)
1.6 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#9 of 22 in Nosara
60 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bella Vista Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Mar

Property: Bella Vista Mar
Address: Playas Pelada | 300 Mtrs Oeste de la Garta Lodge, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bella Vista Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No other hotel in Nosara Costa Rica can offer a more beautiful panoramic view of the ocean including Playa Guiones and Playa Pelada. Located upon a hilltop, Bella Vista Mar truly lives up to its name. We are conveniently located for all your vacation activities, and will help you plan to do as much or as little as you like! Horseback riding? World's longest zipline? Sportfishing? We've got all that and MORE! Our friendly staff and homey atmosphere are the ideal combination for a perfect vacation destination.You'll enjoy our relaxed and casual lodging policy. Come as you are, be yourself! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Evoline ltd and Agoda so you can book your Bella Vista Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Mar Hotel Nosara
Bella Vista Mar Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing