We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very small, very nice”
Review of Refugio Del Sol

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Refugio Del Sol
Ranked #14 of 19 Nosara B&B and Inns
Heredia, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
92 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Very small, very nice”
Reviewed 17 January 2013

This is a very small hotel - five rooms for the public, I think. The Italian manager and his Costa Rican girl friend do almost everything, although there was an Italian chef staying and working there as well. Everybody was extremely nice and helpful. The rooms are very comfortable and all open onto a patio and garden that are very pleasant. There are chairs and tables outside the rooms.

It is conveniently located about 200 yds. from an excellent swimming beach. There are several restaurants and bars within easy walking distance. WiFi and parking are available. There is a small market across the street.

I would stay there again without hesitation.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Quincho Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    7
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
4
11
7
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 30 November 2012

A very nice place to stay! Far away from the hippie-town of "Guionnes". A 5 minutes walk away from the beach and another 10-15 minutes to the beach of Guionnes which is a very nice place for surfing. The owners are very helpful in every situation, know alot about the area and the things to do around. Also the restaurant has a nice flair and especially the typical Italien Lasagne is awesome. (It's a little more expensive than other parts of Costa Rica, but that's like in all places of this area). And to lie in one of the 10 hammocks is the best thing to end a day in Refugio del Sol.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lexfoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 October 2012 via mobile

We were disappointed about the two guys working there. They did not spea k any language beside italian and were not very friendly... The place was kind of dirty outside and iside the rooms. Food was not that good at all ... The two guys working there were not payong attention to guests at all. My advice go sleeping somewhere else. Too bad!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ganimede74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2012

This tiny hotel is located at the end of an incredibly bumpy, rutted road. It took us almost an hour to go the 14 miles separating the hotel from the paved roads, but boy was it worth it! The two Italian guys that run the place make you feel totally at home. This remote area actually has pretty much everything that you could want tucked away here and there and the guys are very happy to show you around. The area has a real international vibe as well and these guys have lots of local friends who come around and have a drink on the property's patio. We had a couple of wonderful family-style dinners prepared for us as well. The rooms are rather plain, there is no air conditioner and some "nature" gets in, but they are clean and have nice tile work. Oh, and the beach is just a 3 minute walk down the road, and, its spectacular! The value is crazy good. We had two rooms, a really yummy dinner for six with more wine and beer than I can even remember, and the total 1st days bill came to $139! They arranged a visit to Ostional beach for a guided visit to see the olive ridley turtles as well and even accompanied us. We loved it here and even stayed an extra day.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deborahperry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 April 2012

I cant speak to the hotel, but the restaurant was very good. We were made to feel very welcome and I felt as though we were dining in an authentic Italian home. Pasta Carbonara and the Iced Coffee were amazing!

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2011

We stayed here for two nights with our 5 year old, and while we wanted to love it, the hotel certainly is for other clientele than families. Right off the top - there is no restaurant. They haven't removed this from their website or their literature, but there is tape over the sign out front and the kitchen has been turned into a sort of shared space. Rooms are small if nice - you are paying for a bed and and bathroom, and that is all. In our case we had three beds and they pretty much filled the space. There is a nice common area - if you're 20-something and smoke. Our room had a table and chairs directly outside and the cigarette fumes were overwhelming.

Jose is very nice and trusting, and was very nice to our child. It's a great place to crash if you're backpacking though or doing tours all day long, but as a place to relax, it's a bit close. It is near the beach - about a 5-10 minute walk. The grounds are beautiful but the road is very near and there was a lot of traffic noise late at night.

Overall, if I were 20 years younger and on a hike through Costa Rica, I would love this place. At 40-something with a child, I was underwhelmed.

Room Tip: The corner room with the frog on the door (there are no room numbers) is large and has a kitchenette...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jbs054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
94 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2011

I stayed at Refugio del Sol for one night while travelling along the Costa Rican coast. Playa Pelada is a sleepy village that can only be reached through a dirt road. And it has one of the most beautiful beaches I have ever seen. Refugio del Sol is a small and unusual hotel with just 5 rooms embedded in beautiful tropical nature and just 300m walking distance from the beach. My room was of good size, clean and nicely decorated, had a double and a single bed, no A/C but the ceiling fan proved to be suffcient. The bathroom shower had actual hot water and not just one of those costa rican electric "suicide showers". But what made the stay at Refugio del Sol so special was owner José's personal attention. He really made me feel not just like a guest, but a personal friend. He himself prepared breakfast and dinner, showed me his favourite spot on the beach and genereally was just delightful to be around. I understand Refugio del Sol is not open all year round. But I will definitely stay there again next time I am in Costa Rica.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hallomainz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.0 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.0 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
0.0 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Refugio Del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Refugio Del Sol

Property: Refugio Del Sol
Address: Across from Pancho's Resort | Playa Pelada, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Refugio Del Sol, your tropical "refuge from the sun" located in Nosara, Costa Rica. Nestled in Playa Pelada, a serene, unspoiled area of Costa Rica, Refugio Del Sol is the area’s only Boutique Hotel, Restaurant and Bar. Our unique hotel features five (5), private rooms with a Costa Rica, "pura vida" atmosphere. While Refugio Del Sol is situated in a tropical, natural setting, our rooms feature 21st century amenities such as comfortable beds, private baths, hot running water and cool ceiling fans. Plus, you can relax on your very own hammock! We also have a spectacular, tropical garden with exotic orchids and other beautiful flowers, colorful birds and exquisite butterflies. Refugio Del Sol is only steps away from some of Costa Rica’s most beautiful beaches. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Refugio Del Sol Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing