We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eat the fish tacos!”
Review of La Luna

La Luna
Ranked #2 of 82 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$30
Cuisines: Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
469 reviews
285 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
“Eat the fish tacos!”
Reviewed 25 August 2013

This is such a sweet little restaurant, set on a cozy porch with cafe lights and wall murals. The menu has a little bit of everything, but the fish tacos were absolutely fabulous - a must try! The restaurant is set right on the beach and is a great place to watch the sunset.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank slsnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,083 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    723
    251
    61
    29
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Watch the sun set and then enjoy a delicious dinner.”
Reviewed 12 August 2013 via mobile

I think it's going to be hard to give anything but glowing reviews of everything in nosara. La Luna sits on top a small hill where you can watch the sun sink into the sky. The view is just beautiful.

Once the sun goes down you can enjoy really good food. The ceviche was delicious as was my meal (coconut fish filet and shrimp). The staff was super friendly. This is another to check off your list if you're in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to watch a sunset”
Reviewed 9 August 2013

We had a wonderful time here with our two boys. Since it is right on the beach, the children could play in the sand while we had a cocktail during the sunset. This is a great place to land while in Costa Rica.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Claytonba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The best setting and great food in Nosara!”
Reviewed 31 July 2013

Since first visiting Nosara in January 2008, La Luna has always been at the top of our list of restaurants to visit each July that we are here. As one of the few restaurants to be so close to the beach, it's a fantastic restaurant, where one can enjoy a spectacular view of the sunset while relax to the sounds of the groovy chill-house music. The cocktails are fantastic, food is super fresh-love the fish tacos and the wood-oven fired pizzas too! And we love the stellar service that we get from our friend Carlos, who works there. Just a reminder, they don't accept Credit Cards, so bring cash, US dollars or Colones are accepted here. Enjoy!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Judith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great food! Great atmosphere! The Best location !”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

There is no better location in Nosara for lunch or dinner. The constant sound of the waves lapping on the shorline while the breeze whistles through the ttrees, makes La Luna our favorite 'go to' restaurant for lunch or dinner. The food is consistently great and the staff are wonderful. Angelina has provided a wonderful 'home like' feel with the comfortable couches strategically placed on the lawn under the soft lighting draped through the trees. It is a great place for couples or families. Our children love to run around the beach down below while we enjoy a leisurely glass of wine.
Hands down - our favorite place to eat !

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Hayley M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed La Luna also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to La Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing