We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Therapy for Mind, Body and Soul” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Blue Spirit

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Blue Spirit
Certificate of Excellence
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Therapy for Mind, Body and Soul”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Beautiful resort with outstanding yoga facilities, delicious organic healthy food and unbelievable treatments. It is a true place of healing. Expensive though :-(

Room Tip: great list of options for rooms from ac rooms in main builiding to tents on grounds.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ladybug1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    16
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
4
17
51
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New Jersey
Level Contributor
315 reviews
66 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2012

A bit isolated but that is part of the charm. Lovely property with ocean views, an infinity pool, meditation pond, wild life, and howling monkeys outside your window. Vegetarian food is tasty and well prepared. You will have to BYOB. Yoga retreat with open air studios. There are other activities to sign up for such as zip-lining, surfing, kayaking, etc. Not much night life but you are up at dawn with the monkeys anyway. Very relaxing.

Room Tip: If you get an open air room, be prepared to wake up with the monkeys pre-dawn.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TakeMeAway44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2012

Let me get some basics out of the way. Room...we stayed in large, well designed, private and clean cabin. It had an outdoor shower where I get in some great bird photos. Food...I happen to really like vegetarian food and the selection was great. I loved the natural teas. Building...a truly well designed space for eating, sleeping and taking classes. The design incorporates elements from the surrounding environment into this Indonesian styled gem, with views of the Pacific. The Grounds...this is where I spent my time while my wife took classes. I went for the birding and I got more than I hoped for. While the surrounding area is a dry tropical forest, they keep this beautiful property well watered and with a great selection of flowers and plants. I'm going to post a couple photos of the birds and 1 of a Margay I found. Add photo option not working, to bad.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank scottmcintire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
64 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 March 2012

The location is a mixed bag. As other reviewers have said, it's isolated which is great if you like that sort of thing. Otherwise you might feel stir crazy.

The food was pretty good. The tea selection was VERY bad. We were surprised that at an eco-friendly yoga kind of place, the had almost no good tea. No chamomile, no peppermint, no black tea, one weak green tea, and I think one kind of herbal tea that we didn't like.

Staff was ok. Not great, but ok.

If you come from Liberia, I highly recommend taking the hotel's shuttle as driving is long and not easy.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank LA-Business-Traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2012

Although I agree with the many positive comments made by other reviewers, I was unable to get more than 3 or 4 hours of sleep each night because of barking dogs, crowing roosters, and howling monkeys. I left Blue Spirit with chest pains and heart palpitations because of lack of sleep. I could not even nap during the day because of loud construction noises.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank JoeJJr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2012

discovering the blue spirit hotel is an enchanting experience. the hotel staff are wonderfully helpful and keep the place immaculate. luis, the chef makes thee most delicious (cold) soups i've ever had in my life. the food is fresh as fresh can be and the combinations of vegetables, fruits and fish are astounding. the hotel structure though on a 'small' foot print, is large in many ways. much of the building is open to the outside allowing for incredible views, fresh air and spontaneous howler monkey and iguana spotting. the hotel rooms each have a small balcony, some w/ac and some natural. there are a variety of individual cottages, some eco as well tents. the sky room which sits above all the hotel rooms and used for meetings, yoga, chi gong and such, has full views of the ocean and land. the pool is beautifully designed; a slope leads you into the saline water. it is an infinity pool so it has that soothing sound. a built in bench which runs the entire curved edge of the pool which leads you to the other side where you may choose to step out. there are shaded cabanas and sun bathed lounges. the grounds have paths letting it be easy to explore your surroundings. guiones is a town nearby, about 45 minute walk or take a taxi and get there in about 15 minutes. you'll find many american and canadian people in town. surfing and yoga are huge in guiones. also offered are kayak tours, zip line and more. you would be be delighted to be in such a location. rest, relaxation and excitement and deliciousness all in one place!

Room Tip: "ocean view" rooms are a little misleading so be very clear if this is truly want you want...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tree i
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2012

Best beach book I have ever lived. Will return soon to actually walk the pristine beach 700 yards from facility. Be prepared to shed pollutants and brace for re-entry because spending one or two weeks without chemicals, surrounded by hearts and smiles will make returning to the US of the A's challenging. Room choices in the main lodge matter not because daytime views through out facility are spectacular. Having AC might make the adjustment outside your room harder once your body has adapted. (Don't people pay to sweat in saunas so why not embrace sweating?) If you want lots of exercise and a freeing outdoor shower, choose the Nature Cottage. Pack cotton, linen and lightly because you will need space for gift shop treasures (CR dark chocolate prices!) Book the activity that allows you to over ride any fears. If you intend to vacation, check out the programming. If you booked programs remember to vacate. Bring nature friendly body products and lots of sunblock. Don't miss the morning monkeys off the cafe deck, listen for the laughing birds and join in. Visit the Koi pond for sunsets. Life works at Blue Spirit in the Blue Zone. If your heart, mind, body and soul are looking for pure, this is the venue for you. Way cheaper and faster than therapy.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank sope
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
4.6 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.5 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.6 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 56 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
2.0 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#4 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
2.4 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Blue Spirit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Blue Spirit

Property: Blue Spirit
Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Number of rooms: 65
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Blue Spirit Costa Rica provides an extraordinary setting to all who are dedicated to spiritual transformation, personal development, and environmental sustainability. Perched on a hilltop that overlooks the Pacific Ocean and a three-mile long white sand beach that is protected as a turtle refuge – Blue Spirit offers an extraordinarily beautiful and natural setting on one of Costa Rica’s renowned beaches, supporting your retreats, workshops, and trainings to be a deeply nurturing and unforgettable experience.Blue Spirit is located in one of the world’s Blue Zones© which inspired the name Blue Spirit. According to author Dan Buettner, the Nicoya Peninsula is one of five Blue Zone’s in the world: a Blue Zone is an area where people live the longest and report the highest levels of well-being. While visiting Blue Spirit, you will feel the resonance of a vibrant, inspiring, and healing energy, because of the rich subtropical environment, and the cultural lifestyle.Your stay at Blue Spirit offers you a comfortable and elegant accommodation of your choice, delicious gourmet vegetarian cuisine, a salt-water infinity pool, koi pond, café, gift shop, spa and longevity services, outdoor excursions, and complimentary wireless service.Blue Spirit was founded by Stephan Rechtschaffen who also co-founded the renowned Omega Institute in Rhinebeck, NY. He is a nationally recognized holistic physician who lectures on health, wellness, nutrition, longevity, and time. These interests have drawn him to living and working in the more mindful and slower paced environment of Blue Spirit in Costa Rica. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Blue Spirit Hotel Nosara
Blue Spirit Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing