We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our the best hotel in Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Brno, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Our the best hotel in Costa Rica”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

The best hotel on our trip in Costa Rica. We had booked Standard room, but we got Superior. We were lucky.
The room was spacious and clean. Beautiful view from terrace to ocean.
Interesting bathroom - Nontraditional view of the ocean when you are in the shower.
Wifi on the room. Breakfast was traditional and very tasty.
The part of the hotel is Natural Reserve with trails. Many animals and plants. Staff was nice.
Owners were very nice, caring and allways helpful.
Bad roads in and around Nosara - worse access to shop due to unpaved roads.
Worse access to beach, but beach nice and clean.
We were very satisfied. This is a place we hope to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roman_Dita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San José
Level Contributor
44 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2013

We (2 families, 4 adults, 4 children) have spent three nights at Lagarta Lodge, because we wanted to be close to Ostional to watch the Turtle arribada. We were very satisfied. The lodge is situated on a hill overlooking the Lagarta-river, the nature reserve and the pristine beaches of the region. There was always a breeze on the terrace, where we enjoyed a very generous and varied breakfast and delicious dinners. The beaches are not too far away, but your own transport is recommended. The managers are devoted, generous, multi-lingual, professional, quality-oriented, environment conscious, innovative, personal, in short: they are SWISS and they let you feel welcome no matter where you come from or how long you can stay. They are participating in a programme for sustainable tourism, controlled and certified by the Costa Rican government. There is a direct access to the private nature reserve on the grounds - with a little luck you can spot monkeys, squirrels and a huge variety of birds.
Rooms are very spacious, super clean and comfortable. No TV, so plenty of time to sleep, relax, meditate, read and listen to the birds, waves and wind.

Room Tip: superior rooms have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HolaSanJos_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Naples, Florida
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

We've visited Lagarta Lodge a few times before and will no doubt visit again.
There is no prettier view that we have seen anywhere in Costa Rica.
The owners are very helpful in recommending activities in the surrounding area.
They helped us arrange a private boat tour on two rivers as wall as an early morning visit to a neighboring area to watch the sea turtles come ashore to lay their eggs.
The food there is super and they have some REALLY nice, new rooms since we were there last.
Suites #8&9 have probably the best views.
The road to Nosara have improved some since our last visit but still have some rough spots. When you get to the lodge you'll forget and forgive the roads. It is a beautiful spot that we recommend highly.

Room Tip: Check out suites 8 or 9 for a SUPER view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BandL830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2013

If you are a nature lover, this is your place. That most amazing botanical gardens at your footsteps. We had monkeys at our balconies and spotted the white faced monkey just up the tree. The restaurant and service are second to none. This is were all the locals come for happy hour, now I know why. Breathtaking views, unlike anything you have ever seen. Just wished we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: They have a new building with updated rooms that are spectacular!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Agentlemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

Lagarta Lodge is on a great location to begin with. The sunset views from their sunset bar, or from any of their balconies are one of my best memories. The rooms are clean, comfortable and very affordable. The staff was always smiling and providing great service. The couple that owns it make sure you have everything you need, they make you feel at home and go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The food is delicious and the fact that is right next to the river biological reserve is a great plus! But once again, the best thing about this hotel is their service.

Room Tip: Rooms with a view overlooking the river and the ocean are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmurriet22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
47 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Sunset Bar at Hotel Lagarta has the most spectacular view in the Nosara 'hood. It's a bit of a hike to get there, but well worth the effort. We weren't staying at the hotel, but the bar is accessible to anyone. So even if you're not staying there, be sure to go for drinks and snacks to wallow in the fabulous view.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2013

The hotel is lovely and affordable. The staff is very friendly. The food is delicious. You can walk to the beach, to the local nature reserve or river tour. The Sunset Bar has great views of the coast. Overall, a wonderful stay!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cycletour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 139 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
1.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge

Property: Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Address: Apdo 106-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lagarta Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#3 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#3 Family Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find rest and relaxation at our recently remodeled unique hotel amidst pristine nature. At Lagarta Lodge we reopened the doors as a fully remodeled hotel with twenty-six junior suites last December 2016. It is considered as a favorite Costa Rican hotel with breathtaking views onto the Pacific Ocean where our guests can enjoy the unique ambience surrounded by verdant subtropical vegetation and within reach of the ocean. Give yourself the opportunity to explore the hotel-owned nature reserve Reserva Biológica - or you can choose to relax in our spa or delight the magnificent views from our pools. For a relaxing vacation, Lagarta Lodge in Nosara is the ideal boutique hotel in Costa Rica as other options include practicing yoga, treating yourself to a massage or other special treatment in a naturally restorative setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing