We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birding and Breakfast”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Birding and Breakfast”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Hands down a wonderful experience. We arrived early, met the owner (originally from Sweden), and paid our nominal fee/donation to enter the park (maybe it was 6USD per person? maybe it was 12? I forget). We arrived a little later than I would have liked (7am) so we missed a pretty good chunk of a potential birding window, however... I still personally added 8 species to my life list! No birding walk is complete without a yummy cup of coffee and a breakfast. For 10USD you get a WONDERFUL, simple, breakfast buffet. Cold food included pinneapples, mangos, select meats and cheeses... then you could order warmer dishes (we had banana pancakes & heuvos rancheros). The Pancakes were DELICIOUS! Esp because they also offered homemade jams & nutella as topping options (I opted to try both, of course).

They offered a selection of hand squeezed juices (fresh and mouth wateringly delish!) as well as coffee and tea. Organic Costa Rican coffee, so yum!

It was worth us to make the drive away from the beach, upland, to check out this spot. I would highly recommend checking it out early (6am at opening) and following up your visit with breakfast. You can even bird from the breakfast table!!!!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoraxGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    24
    10
    5
    1
See reviews for
78
114
4
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014

My wife and children stayed here during spring break, and we absolutely loved the lodge. Beautiful views and an easy walk down to the beaches. Our room was nice, and we had monkeys outside in the trees every morning. Really neat, and the kids loved it. The Swiss owners were very hospitable and quite nice, and they made sure all of our requests were taken care of. Food was quite good, and the lodge is quite the place to be for the magical sunsets every evening. Would recommend this as a place to stay if you make it to Nosara.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JNYFELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014 via mobile

Our family had a wonderful 6 nights at Lagarta Lodge. Amadeo and Regina, the owners, are warm and gracious, knowledgable about the area, and run a very clean hotel, at which everything is well maintained and the service is impeccable. Great food is eaten in an open air restaurant with views of the awe inspiring sunsets. The buildings are a traditional white Spanish with terra cotta floors, and the owners have added their own European influence to them. The pool area is a nice size, and an upper view spot with lounge chairs and hammock were another great sunset or bird watching place.

15 minute walk to two different very nice almost empty beaches and right on its own nature reserve, the location is excellent.

All in all very highly recommended!

Stayed March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Wakerider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

All I knew was that I wanted my family of four to have an authentic Costa Rica holiday and not stay in a grand hotel with a lot of tourists...and because of TA and the reviews about Nosara, we found just that. The views, the owners, the huge communal table for breakfast open air, our balcony and the monkeys...enough said. Simply gorgeous.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 70redbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trois-Rivières, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

We entirely enjoyed our stay at Largarta Lodge. With a beautiful view over the ocean and river from our private balcony, a lovely breeze more often than not, listening to the sounds of the waves and the birds, howler monkeys and other creatures, watching the sunset -- what more could a person ask for! The owners Regina and Amadeo were very welcoming and helpful, and the atmosphere among the guests was friendly. The meals were delicious. Very clean rooms and surroundings. We also appreciated the environmentally friendly focus of the lodge. A great place to stay all-around!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Glee L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warrington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
244 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

This was one of the very best places we stayed during a month in Costa Rica.
The views from the restaurant, sunset bar and the rooms are nothing short of stunning. Regina and Amadeo are excellent, friendly, professional hosts and the high standards here reflect their Swiss origins. They are rightly proud of their Eco credentials. Rooms are spacious and airy and the food is very good, especially the delicious breakfasts cooked to order. Cocktails watching the sunset was a magical experience. The hotel has its own nature reserve, lovely to explore early in the morning. It's a fifteen minute walk to the nearest beach, and ideally you would have a car to stay here to explore Nosara and further afield. If only we could have extended our stay in this beautiful location.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greenjag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2014

A great, well run little hotel with an amazing view. Fantastic sunsets from the sunset bar. The couple who run the lodge are very professional and helpful. They are on top of everything. From the lodge we did a paddleboard tour of the nearby river. We also visited the Wildlife Sanctuary and went surfing.

The only downside was our communications leading up to our stay. Emails often took days to get a reply and it took more effort to book a room than we felt was necessary.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DJ22258
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.0 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
63 reviews
1.4 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
138 reviews
1.7 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
372 reviews
1.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge

Property: Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Address: Apdo 106-5233, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica (Formerly Hotel Lagarta Lodge)
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#3 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#3 Family Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge 3.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Find rest and relaxation at our recently remodeled unique hotel amidst pristine nature. At Lagarta Lodge we reopened the doors as a fully remodeled hotel with twenty-six junior suites last December 2016. It is considered as a favorite Costa Rican hotel with breathtaking views onto the Pacific Ocean where our guests can enjoy the unique ambience surrounded by verdant subtropical vegetation and within reach of the ocean. Give yourself the opportunity to explore the hotel-owned nature reserve Reserva Biológica - or you can choose to relax in our spa or delight the magnificent views from our pools. For a relaxing vacation, Lagarta Lodge in Nosara is the ideal boutique hotel in Costa Rica as other options include practicing yoga, treating yourself to a massage or other special treatment in a naturally restorative setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing