We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“This was an amazing Hostel experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nosara Beach Hostel
Certificate of Excellence
Falmouth, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“This was an amazing Hostel experience”
Reviewed 12 April 2012

I really loved everything about this hostel. I felt like all the people there were like a family! We all shared stories and shared food and cooked together ate together and did things together and even when I wanted to do things alone they would all give me ideas of things to go do. The workers were very very pura vida and we got to know them and learn a little about the tico & tica culture by speaking with them. If you want real Pura Vida and not a cheap imitation then I highly recommend *Nosara Beach Hostel*!!!!!!
Aloha Kawika

Room Tip: I like the dorms cause you get to meet people from around the world
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mariiann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nosarahostel, Owner at Nosara Beach Hostel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks for the review!! know that in Nosara Beach Hostel you have a home and family, every time you come to Costa Rica!! ATT: Andres, Di, Sergio, Gerardina and Javier..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    12
    3
    2
    1
See reviews for
7
6
63
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 April 2012

Very friendly, and safe environment!!! Clean rooms, and community kitchen, stuff is very very helpful ,and fun!!! Few steps from the Ocean!!!! Great place, and very affordable!!! Enjoy it!!!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tatinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nosarahostel, Owner at Nosara Beach Hostel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks for the review!! know that in Nosara Beach Hostel you have a home and family, every time you come to Costa Rica!! ATT: Andres, Di, Sergio, Gerardina and Javier..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 March 2012

I absolutely recommend this hostel when staying in Nosara. You are steps from the beach and surf, the staff are so friendly that you think they are family, and the price is right (considering this town is pretty pricey). I will absolutley be back, and I appreciated the hospitality!

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nfldbound88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nosarahostel, Owner at Nosara Beach Hostel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks for the review!! know that in Nosara Beach Hostel you have a home and family, every time you come to Costa Rica!! ATT: Andres, Di, Sergio, Gerardina and Javier..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The reason I have rated this place a perfect score, is because it was simply the best time I have ever had on a trip ever. I will start with the most important part for me. The People. The staff at the hostel are some of the best people you could ever meet let alone the service that was provided was by far the best you could get in that entire area. Never mind how cheep it is to stay there. It makes you feel like you are robbing them. I feel privileged to have had the opportunity to meet the staff and owner Of this amazing feature to an already amazing location. The only thing I could think of to compare it to would be heaven. Amazing people, amazing atmosphere and all around a good time to be had. The place has an amazing courtyard with big huge open communal lounge and kitchen with a giant garden with beach volleyball, table football and a dart board to keep yourself busy. It also has plenty of relaxing areas as well with a hammock never more than a few steps away. Not to mention it is probably the closest property of its kind near the beach. I have been to nosara/guiones quite a bit and I am so glad that finally there is a LOCAL run outfit like this to stay at. It was the most satisfying stay in have had there. If you end up going to Nosara/guiones and Don't pop by for at least a coffee with the amazing people there then i think in my own humble opinion you will have not have seen the best of the place, people and what that area has to offer.

Pura Vida

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Shlocal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nosarahostel, Owner at Nosara Beach Hostel, responded to this review, 27 July 2012
Thanks for the review!! know that in Nosara Beach Hostel you have a home and family, every time you come to Costa Rica!! ATT: Andres, Di, Sergio, Gerardina and Javier..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 February 2012

I was travelling with my husband and 3 girlfriends and we stopped at the Big Dog restaurant to ask for directions. They recommended this hostel to us and we loved it! It's a peaceful retreat a stones-throw from the beach. This particular beach is great for beginner surfers and sun lovers! If you can make the trek down the corduroy roads, this beach and this hostel will make you feel right at home. It was very clean and welcoming. Huge kitchen with all that you'll need to make a nice meal and make some new friends at the same time.
We had a problem with the keys to our rental car and Dee was extremely helpful. She called a friend who was there almost instantly to cut us a new key. It was a stressful moment, and she put us right at ease. The owner and staff were wonderful and all 5 of us look forward to returning to this sweet place some day!! I would recommend this for singles or larger groups. I would like to make a reservation next time and bring the whole family!!
Two thumbs up all the way!! Thanks Nosara Beach Hostel!!

Room Tip: Our room slept 6 in bunk beds. Great for surfers or Yoga enthusiasts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, New York, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2012

This was our first experience with Costa Rica. I traveled with a buddy and we couldn't have asked for a better experience for our first few nights. Both Andres and D went out of their way to make sure that we were having a good time. Everyone staying in the hostel was very friendly and a great atmosphere. There is access to TV, PS3 if need be, internet and an open kitchen. It's steps away from the beach and everything that you would need is in walking distance. When in Costa Rica I'm not there to hang around my room though. It served it's purpose for sleeping and had all the amenities I would expect. I highly recommend staying here if you're in Nosara/Guiones

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jason B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 January 2012

My friends and I stayed here for 1 night although I wish it would have been longer as I fell in love with Nosara. The hostel has clean, comfortable rooms, extra washrooms and showers and is close to the stunning beach. The owner, Andreas and one of his staff members, Dinia are both wonderful and went way out their way to help us with all we needed. As a guest, you have access to a large kitchen and many hammocks in their beautiful outdoor gardens. They also offer many games, tv, bike rentals, etc. It is well worth the bumpy roads to visit Nosara and to stay at a hostel with such a warm inviting environment.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RMS2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.6 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#6 of 23 in Nosara
62 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
171 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
0.4 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#5 of 23 in Nosara
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Beach Hostel

Property: Nosara Beach Hostel
Address: Meters South Of Harbor Reef Hotel 200 | Punta Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 25 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nosara Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in the thick of the jungle just 100 meters from the gorgeous Playa Guiones in Nosara, Costa Rica. Guiones is well known for it’s consistent surf break, which attracts surfers and beach lovers young and old from all over the world.When you’re taking a break from the beach, relax in one of the many hammocks on the breezy wrap around patio and listen to the soothing sea. Make a new friend and play foosball, ping-pong, or volleyball in the huge yard. In the common room there are board games, Play Station 3, free wireless Internet and plenty of comfy chairs and couches to lounge around on. Totally necessary if you take full advantage of all that Nosara has to offer:Horseback riding from mountains to beachZip lining high above the jungleKayaking and stand up paddling on the river4 wheel drive quad toursTurtle watching in Ostional, or if you’re lucky maybe you’ll see one in Guiones!Bonfires on the beach under the starsPlenty of options for yoga and Pilates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Nosara Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosara Beach Hostel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing