We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Norasa Beach Hostel, Nosara, Costa Rica”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Nosara Beach Hostel
Reviewed 15 May 2013

I stayed for two weeks Feb.- March 2013, it was a 5 minute walk to the beach & free internet if you had you own computer. Staff was there 24 hour a day. I saw monkeys in the trees from the back porch. It was lovely. Nosara Beach is a surf town, you have to drive 1/2 to 1 hour down a dirt road to get there. It was the dry season so a few times there was no water in the whole town (even the more expensive hotels) for a few hours in the evening. This was not a problem - the beach was about 5 minutes away. Water to drink was sold at the hostel & everywhere.

It is not a good town if what you want to do on March Break is drink - a larger town would be better for this. If what you want to do is surf, body surf, swim in the ocean, relax, take yoga classes, spend times with friends, enjoy nature, go out for meals (or cook in their fully equipped kitchen) - you will love this place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
2  Thank MangoFlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (154)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 154 reviews

Reviewed 15 May 2013

The couple that own this place live next door and take care of the property. They are very helpful and sweet. The location is a far walk to the beach, but the hostel provides bikes that you can take out which is very helpful. There is a market nearby and the community kitchen is newly renovated and everyone ate only there own food when I stayed. The other travelers were very nice and the showers/toilets were very clean. My only gripe is that the bathroom was out of soap for more than a day. But a great value. I had a lovely stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeatherC316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2013

I found this hostel to be one of the best I've stayed at. The staff is local and friendly. The rooms and beds are what you'd expect in a warm climate, screened in windows and comfortable enough. If you're in Nosara you're not there to hang out in the room anyway. They have a rack for surfboards, and a full use kitchen.

It's one of those good hostels, other guests are friendly and social. That makes it a good place to stay if you're traveling alone or with one other.

Nosara is a beautiful place but the one thing that kind of felt weird is the delineation between Tico and Gringo. There's a little bit of a separation that made me uncomfortable. Still worth a visit. The one place in town where that didn't feel present was at Nosara Beach Hostel.

If I end up in Nosara again I'll stay here again without a doubt. More for the social atmosphere and good people who run the place.

Room Tip: There's no pool, but it's a short walk to one of the most beautiful beaches on the planet, s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Jamesaustinmurray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2013

I stayed at the hostel 3 nights and I wish I had stayed longer. I love this hostel. The staff is really friendly. Clean rooms, cheap, good location .. just few minutes walk from the beach. I would highly recommend this hostel for everyone. A big 10/10 !

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013 via mobile

Super nice and generous owner and staff. Very hospitable and kind. Beautiful town and killer location. If you're in the mood for sick surf and gorgeous sunsets, this is the place for you. The people there are hella kind and very helpful for finding whatever you should need on your trip. Very safe and close to everything you need, I was there with my wife and kids and felt very comfortable and safe. I highly recommend anyone to stay here. Thanks again Andres and staff, pura vida
The Polson's

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2013

I only stayed at the hostel for a week over spring break, but it felt like a home away from home. The staff were really awesome and very accommodating. Everybody staying at the hostel was really nice too. It felt like a little community. The hostel is probably a one minute walk from Playa Guiones and a 10 minute walk from town, an ideal location for anybody on a surf trip. The rooms were kept very clean and the staff did a great job maintaing the kitchen and living room. Super comfortable and friendly (plus free wifi). Definitely recommend staying at the Nosara Beach Hostel.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Clayton H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2013

I had a great time at this hostel, I stayed for 2 weeks. It was $20 a night for a dorm bed, but if you're going to the language school it's only 15! The facility is really secure, with cameras around the entrance and a staff member there 24/7. D is the best!! :) They are all great, they help you practice your Spanish and are very friendly.

There are shower/bathrooms attached to each room with 2 bunkbeds and a normal bed. There are also seperate shower/bathrooms. Lots of surfboard storage, locking wood lockers in the room, hammocks outside that were AWESOME and it's like 2 minutes to the beach.
I would highly recommend!! The only thing that would be better in my book is hot water lol. The showers are all cold water.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scooter_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.7 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#6 of 24 in Nosara
175 reviews
2.1 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.1 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 24 in Nosara
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 24 in Nosara
179 reviews
2.9 mi away
Salty Pelican Inn & Pub
Salty Pelican Inn & Pub
#10 of 28 in Nosara
8 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Nomadic Hotel
The Nomadic Hotel
#8 of 28 in Nosara
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara Beach Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Beach Hostel

Address: Meters South Of Harbor Reef Hotel 200 | Punta Guiones, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 28 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Price Range: £14 - £36 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Nosara Beach Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hostel is located in the thick of the jungle just 100 meters from the gorgeous Playa Guiones in Nosara, Costa Rica. Guiones is well known for it’s consistent surf break, which attracts surfers and beach lovers young and old from all over the world.When you’re taking a break from the beach, relax in one of the many hammocks on the breezy wrap around patio and listen to the soothing sea. Make a new friend and play foosball, ping-pong, or volleyball in the huge yard. In the common room there are board games, Play Station 3, free wireless Internet and plenty of comfy chairs and couches to lounge around on. Totally necessary if you take full advantage of all that Nosara has to offer:Horseback riding from mountains to beachZip lining high above the jungleKayaking and stand up paddling on the river4 wheel drive quad toursTurtle watching in Ostional, or if you’re lucky maybe you’ll see one in Guiones!Bonfires on the beach under the starsPlenty of options for yoga and Pilates ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Nosara Beach Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosara Beach Hostel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing