We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The Pura Vida Life” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Nosara Playa Garza Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Nosara Playa Garza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Park City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Pura Vida Life”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2012

My travels have never kept me in one spot for long. This time around I found myself wanting to stay put and become a temporary 'local' and here in Garza, Guanacaste, Costa Rica a quaint fishing village on the Nicoya Peninsula I made that happen.

New friends, new experiences all made possible because here at the hotel Playa Garza, two young Italians made the experience more Pura Vida. From purchasing a fishing kayak to catch dinner, surfing secret spots and not so secret to gathering coconuts and other fresh fruit.

If you are ever travelling the Nicoya, stop by Hotel Playa Garza (6k south of Guioness/Nosara) grab some linguine alla langosta or a Capricciosa pizza, catch the setting sun over Bahia Garza and enjoy a late night movie on the 8'x8' screen with an Imperial lager. Spend the night and then spend the day casting line on the Pacific Ocean. Maybe you'll be so lucky to catch a hammerhead shark. Or not

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alex S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    77
    28
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
22
37
21
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Heredia, Costa Rica
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 August 2012

Playa Garza is my favourite place in Guanacaste. Hotel Garza is small, intimate and very friendly. Yuri and Chiara go out of their way to make you feel comfortable. The rooms are simple and very clean. It has a pool that my son loves and wonderful tropical plants all over the garden area. The beach is just across the street, 2 minutes away. There is a very good local interaction with lots of people coming to buy their pizzas made by Yuri at the outdoor kitchen.
Highly recommended.

Room Tip: If you travel between January and May choose a room with air conditioning.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Des C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

We came here for one night and stayed for three, (would have stayed much longer but our plane was departing). The food was amazing and priced great. The hotel was clean, comfortable and very welcoming. The owners were very hospitable and took us on a private trip to the Pink Beach. I highly recomend finding your way to this slice of paradise!

Room Tip: Our room was upstairs with a view of the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ldavis33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Twin Falls, Idaho
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2012

This is a great little place and pretty much the only game in town. Centrally located for for access to the surrounding towns and activities yet away from the tourist trap atmosphere. Real good value for your dollar. The hosts are a charming young Italian couple who made us feel very welcome and bent over backwards to make our stay enjoyable. The pride they take in the quality and service in the restaurant is obvious. Sea food, traditional Italian, pizza and a full bar. Wouldn't hesitate to go back and visit our new friends.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thomasd35625
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow, Russia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2012

We spent ten days in this beautiful hotel! Very good home atmosphere, very good real Italian food! Economic prices for a big family of 5 people! The beach is near, you can see it from the hotel! And you can swim when ever you want , :) Yuri and Ciara are very kind and fun !)
We hope to visit this nice and cozy place again. The nearest other beach is Guiones and there is a lot of things to do as well , and it's only 5 Km away from the hotel. Yuri and Ciara can also recommend you lots of different interesting things to do in Nosara .

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Asya K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2012

Love this place! super cute, 2 min away from the beach, freaking amazing pizza and the place has a warmness to it. the young couple who have the hotel give the place a soul, and they make you feel like you are a part of a family. If you are traveling alone, you won't feel alone with them. They will show you around, and make you feel like you are home. I highly recommend anyone to stay here, if you are looking for somewhere affordable, amazing food, quiet, but close to the beach and town.

Room Tip: they have rooms with a kitchen if you are staying long. And they will take you to a grocery shop. bu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank nadia a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kristiansand, Norway
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

In this beautiful little hotel you are less than a two-minute walk from the beach when you are sitting in your room. The food is amazing, the company is outstanding Juri and Chiara, the Italian couple who run Hotel Playa Garza instantly make you feel like you are part of their extended family, which allows you to have an even more genuine experience of Costa Rica. And they will truly bend over backwards to make your stay as comfortable as possible, if that means driving you to Giones and taking you, with impeccable patience, to every little store you might need to go to when your luggage didn’t arrive, or doing everything in their power to make sure your excursions are of the utmost quality. This is so much more than just a place to sleep, eat and hang out. Juri and Chiara provide you with a feeling of belonging and community. As well as fresh coconuts, mangos or star fruits that you can pick if you join them for a walk with their friendly dog bluff. If you have the opportunity to visit them, seize it.
Julia Rippel

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Julia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.3 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
3.3 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.7 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
3.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
2.9 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara Playa Garza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Playa Garza Hotel

Property: Nosara Playa Garza Hotel
Address: Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 24 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nosara Playa Garza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Garza is a nice, quiet and clean hotel at only 50 m from the beach. There are 4 standard room with a/c, private bathroom, and hot water, 2 apartments with kitchen, private bathroom and hot water. There is one nice swimming pool, Italian restaurant with all kinds of pasta and pizza. The room and apartment can be rented for long term with better price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline, HostelWorld and Ebookers so you can book your Nosara Playa Garza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosara Playa Garza Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing