We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pasta in town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Nosara Playa Garza Hotel
Ranked #10 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best pasta in town”
Reviewed 3 March 2014

I didn't stay at the hotel, but kept returning to the restaurant for the fresh seafood pastas!

Run by a gregarious Italian named Yuri, the menu is decidedly Italian, almost entirely pizza and pasta.

The special of the day is always fresh, and depends entirely on which fish was caught that morning.

Less than a 5 minute walk from Garza Beach, which is well known for sport fishing, and I imagine this is where the catch of the day comes from.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    28
    4
    4
    2
See reviews for
23
37
21
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 February 2014

You're a fellow traveler if you prefer a Tico fishing village, beautiful beach, soulful staff, funky ambience, and spacious rooms with nice linens. Only downsides are sporadic water in hotel and no surfing in Garza. If you prefer shopping, etc., I don't recommend. But if you're a fellow traveler, I highly recommend!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Neukurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 February 2014

I stayed here with my two good friends from MD for about a week. It's only 1 block from the beach and the rooms are spacious with ac. Plenty of hammocks to relax in, wifi, and a swimming pool. The owner and his friendly staff is what made our trip incredibly memorable. He provided us with directions, things to do in the area, good conversation, and delicious meals everyday. Did I mention he's Italian? These men are AMAZING cooks and know how to fill your soul with good food and selected wines. Costa Rica is beautiful with its sun shine, wildlife and good waves. But nothing makes a trip then the people you have met along the way that made your experiance that much better and the staff at Playa Garza Hostel did just that. I absolutely recommend staying here for your next visit to
Costa Rica. You will not regret it! :) Bellissimo!!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kelseyanne9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014

We stopped here for 3 nights, although a bit remote how many places can you say you have stopped in That you get the beach all to your selves, and takes 45 seconds to get too. We found the food excellent especially the pizza or fresh fish dishes. The rooms are comftable with fan or A.C if you want with an extra charge of 10us a day. Yuri has great character and is always happy to please. Fully recommended if your this way.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank anthony p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014

My girlfriend and I stayed at the Playa Garza Hotel for two nights last week. It was an off-the-beaten-path treasure. We were treated extremely well by Juri and his staff, the room was comfortable albeit basic, the pool was clean and refreshing, and the magnificent beach was a one minute walk away. Playa Garza is the type of place you know will be more developed and touristic in a few years. Check it out while you still can!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Connor B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ottawa
Level Contributor
65 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

This spot is set back from the road and practically up an alley. If you blink, you miss the sign. If you miss it and you love authentic pizza or freshly caught fish, you will be disappointed. So keep your eyes peeled. Yuri really needs more visibility. I knew this place was here because I checked out tripadvisor first so I found it. But I think he misses a lot potential walk in traffic due to lack of visibility.

The pizza is genuine think crust and freshly made. The fish courses vary with what is caught and brought into Garza.

If you are in the area, this is definitely worth a visit!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank familyexplore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed at Iuris hotel for 2 nights. The hotel and location is pretty cool, just some steps away from the beach.
We can recommend a stay there especially when you're on the road with a rented car. Up north you will have some surfing spots, but also samara beach and carrillo beach ( my favorite!) are about a 30 minutes drive away.

The hospitality of Iuri and his staff was just outstanding and the food fresh and delicious. We really enjoyed the stay there!

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Fabsyy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
2.2 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 22 in Nosara
144 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
3.0 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
140 reviews
2.4 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
77 reviews
4.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nosara Playa Garza Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nosara Playa Garza Hotel

Property: Nosara Playa Garza Hotel
Address: Playa Garza | 75 mts Oeste y 25 mts norte de la plaza de deportes de Playa Garza, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 23 Speciality Lodging in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Nosara Playa Garza Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa Garza is a nice, quiet and clean hotel at only 50 m from the beach. There are 4 standard room with a/c, private bathroom, and hot water, 2 apartments with kitchen, private bathroom and hot water. There is one nice swimming pool, Italian restaurant with all kinds of pasta and pizza. The room and apartment can be rented for long term with better price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HostelWorld and Priceline so you can book your Nosara Playa Garza Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nosara Playa Garza Hotel Costa Rica

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing