We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow!”
Review of AHKi B&B Retreat

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
AHKi B&B Retreat
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Houston, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wow!”
Reviewed 30 August 2012

The owners, Greg and Karen Heil, are friendly, welcoming, entertaining, and just downright wonderful people! I love them, Ahki, and everything they have created together in the spectacular Nicoya Peninsula of Costa Rica. Ahki is one of the most unique and beautiful resorts I have ever visited, and as a Yoga instructor, I am in love with the amazing energy and architecture of this enchanting space. Only in Indian temples had I experienced Vastu Shastra inspired design until Ahki, yet here it is in all its beauty in Costa Rica. Everything in Ahki is alive and vibrant and reflects Greg and Karen’s intentions and personalities.

The cuisine is out of this world; the cabinas and guest rooms are gorgeous, with spa-like private indoor-outdoor showers. Yes, you can shower in the jungle! The views of the mountains, valleys, and Pacific Coast are breathtaking! And then there is the Yoga studio: no words can describe it—it has to be experienced. I cannot say enough good things about this wonderful place, but thank you, thank you, thank you for an amazing time and priceless experience!

Room Tip: All the rooms have wonderful views!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

48 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
2
4
12
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nosara, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 June 2012

Ahki is truly a sanctuary. The views are breathtaking and serene, I don’t know another place like it where every detail has been carefully considered creating a warm and welcoming retreat; perfect for relaxing and spiritual rejuvination! The town of Delicias, a few minutes away, adds to the charm of the area. Not far from the retreat center we trekked to a waterfall which was wonderful. The ocean is just a few minutes drive and the yoga studio is fantastic! Karen and Greg are wonderful hosts, very kind, generous and considerate of your needs and desires for whatever the reason of your visit to Ahki may be. They have treated us to a number of great conversations and we look forward to hearing about their journeys, even if we cannot stay at Ahki full time, their story is inspiring and the result of what they’ve done with Ahki is truly unique.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ExperienceNosara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Annapolis, Maryland, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2012

Swinging in the hammock by the infinity pool at AHKI while viewing the surrounding mountains was nothing short of heavenly. Karen and Greg made our stay incredible with great care, wonderful meals, lots of advice on local sights, and wonderful accommodations. Karen's yoga classes in the rooftop studio united your soul with the spirit of nature. Trees, birds, mountains, and ocean view surround the studio. Garza beach is only minutes away with wonderful ocean surf to enjoy. Our family can't wait to return for our next Costa Rican reunion at AHKI!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Donna C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold, MD
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 March 2012

This was my first visit to Ahki, and my first visit to Costa Rica as well. Of course, there are many places to experience nature in Costa Rica, but I believe what makes AHKi so unique is that it is immersed in nature. A quiet, exquisite haven outside of the hustle and bustle of the touristy town, AHKi is nestled in this hillside surrounded by acres of undeveloped land. Yet, I felt completely safe, even though I was a single female travelling alone. Every morning, I woke up to wonderful view of the hillside, practiced yoga on this platform in the skies with a breathtaking ocean view, and drank freshly squeezed juice of many varieties. Karen and Greg are such considerate and engaging hosts, making my trip all that much more enriching. In short, four words...CAN'T WAIT TO RETURN!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, MD
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2012

Usually when I'm in awe of my surroundings, I'm doing something unsafe but at AHKI I felt like I was in a little haven where I was secure to both wander and wonder. This area within the province of Guanacaste is known for its pristine nature and AHKI fits, without competing, with it's beautiful setting. I cannot see AHKI ever feeling crowded or attracting pretentious or partying tourists but as a sanctuary for people who want to hear the quiet, converse earnestly, and feel grateful to be alive. AHKI's open air, soft wood floored yoga studio is also the pinnacle of the site and I was inspired within seconds to just enjoy being.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore, Maryland, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

... on our oh! too-short day trip in December, Greg and Karen were putting the finishing touches on Ahki (and so our photos reflect the 'in progress' stage). We’d followed their dream of building a Vastu Shastra-inspired mountain-top retreat center from afar for years, but the actuality took our breath away. It is an incredibly tranquil yet energizing place: the elegant simplicity and privacy of the individual cabinas, the winding paths in the lush landscape, the soothing qualities of the infinity-edge pool the artfully-prepared local food...
We can’t emphasize their craftsmanship and vision enough and recognize that the attention they have spent on Ahki will transfer to their guests' every need. Rarely--yet here, it's happened--does the reality exceed the dream. We know we will return again and again to this place “where every prospect pleases.”

Room Tip: Share with Karen and Greg your preferences and desires: whether it's leisurely quiet mornings, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BaltoCityGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

This is an extraordinary retreat located in the foot hills of Garza..It an area that I personally prefer as its nicely tucked away in nature and yet easily accessible to nearby towns and commodities..The design of the surrounding building reminds me of being lost in an ancient temple in some other other time..The accommodations are more than comfortable with a unique design that is very appealing..
You can clearly see that this retreat is a reflection to the wonderful people that Gregory and Karen are..They have certainly put there love and energy into building an exclusive and unsurpassed retreat centre that envelopes you in delightfulness and suavity...a must !!!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarcosCortes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
3.1 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
4.8 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
2.8 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
3.6 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
3.9 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to AHKi B&B Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about AHKi B&B Retreat

Property: AHKi B&B Retreat
Address: Kilometers North Of Playa Garza 3, Nosara, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
AHKí Retreat is an intimate yet spacious facility, infused with simple elegance. A short hike from the main house, down a natural stone path are six guest rooms that accommodate up to 3 per room. Each room has a private bath and large unique, luxurious indoor/outdoor shower and patios that command stellar views of the mountains and valleys. Our main house offers grand views of the ocean, mountains and valleys. Enjoy good food, yoga, our mountain view pool and library for reading, films and games.Ahki is predominantly for group retreats. However, depending on availability, we may have special offers available for individual travelers if we are not booked with retreats. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
AHKi B&B Retreat Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing