We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Can't wait to go back!”
Review of The Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harmony Hotel
Ranked #6 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Can't wait to go back!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We spent six nights at Harmony in December. It was an amazing property, with wonderful, professional, friendly staff, a gorgeous pool to relax and read at book at, and a great location right off beach for easy access (and a security guard to watch your things while you are there). Harmony is one of those properties where they truly have thought of every little thing, from amazing, all-natural bath products and wonderful smoothies, to discreet housekeeping and gorgeous, lush grounds specifically designed to accommodate local wildlife like Howler Monkeys, Iguana, birds, and butterflies. We like to travel and I have worked in hospitality, and I have to say that Harmony was one of the few properties I have stayed at where I was hard-pressed to find a flaw. I was particularly impressed by the staff's ability to be casual and laid-back, yet still professional, and never intrusive (harder than it looks). I wish I could remember everyone's names, but off the top of my head, I would say a special thank you to Henry for arranging our accommodation, Darin (sp?) in the dining room for his warm service and attention, and Alina in the gift shop for her great book recommendations and conversation.

If I had to look for things that could be improved, I would say that when there were a lot of families around the pool, it could get a bit noisy (we don't have kids), but the majority of parents were respectful and kept the cannonballing to a minimum. But we knew this was a family-friendly hotel, so that was our choice, and I would still return because of all the other factors. But in an ideal world, a separate pool for kids and families would be great.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnotherTravelGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

375 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    268
    77
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
91
172
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Costa Rica
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

We stayed for a weekend scape with my wife, the hotel is relaxing, lots of trees and plants gives us a nice sense of nature. The shampoos in the room are very good. Very convenient to visit Nosara, recently named one of the 10th best beaches in the world. The only comment is that when we arrived the hotel at 6:00 pm the room was not ready.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank salvatrucho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
69 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2014

We spent 6 nights at the Harmony Lodge right before the holidays last month. We truly enjoyed our time there from the moment we arrived and cannot wait to return. The grounds are well kept and covered in tropical vegetation. We loved that the entire property was outdoors and many times we woke up to the sound of howler monkeys right above in the trees. The beds were comfortable, and we enjoyed the back patio hammock for post-surf naps.

The beach was a short walk along a path (no hotels in Nosara can build right on the beach), and they have security to watch your stuff. We stayed in Nosara to learn how to surf and the hotel set us up with Del Mar Surf School- we were very pleased. Breakfasts were filling, and it was so hard to choose what to get with so many great choices. We loved the thoughtful service- small breakfast pastries and coffee were served in the restaurant starting at 5:30 for all the early morning people. We would have some and then go surf for a bit before eating breakfast and lounging by the pool.
We also ended up eating all of our dinners at Harmony Hotel because the food was that good- all organic fresh food at reasonable prices. You won't be disappointed with the cocktail list, all fresh juices and well measured cocktails. Even my meat- eating husband loved the vegetarian food at the juice bar that serves great salads, sandwiches, and smoothies. Great iced team and iced coffee! Some area restaurants we did try and liked included Robin's for organic ice cream and coffee, Taco Taco, and for sunset cocktails we went to Olga's on the Beach. Skip all the other local spots.


Things to keep in mind:
This isn't a place for children, as there isn't anything really for them to do on the property or in Nosara unless you're looking to surf.
Ask for a coco away from the restaurant area
We didn't like that it was extremely difficult to get an appointment for a massage

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank veronicahalbeck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2014 via mobile

Hotel has jumped the shark New management cut back on staff Took 45 minutes to get breakfast dinner Packed with screaming children If you want peace and quiet go somewhere else expensive not worth it repeat Jumped the shark Expansion plans will further reduce the quality

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
7 Thank 6Badmonkeys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayuga S, Manager at The Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear 6Badmonkeys,
thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your stay. We are sorry that your experience during your recent stay with us did not meet your expectations. We sincerely apologize for the delays with your meal service and are sorry that your stay was negatively impacted by the presence of families with children in the restaurant. The last week of December and the first week of January were the busiest weeks that Nosara has ever seen and we were simply not prepared for so many guests. Please be assured that the management of Harmony is the same as for the past eight years and that we actually had hired 25% more staff for this year to meet the growing demand. But the rush during those two weeks was just too much. This is also a time of the year when a lot of families travel. As of now, the town is back to normal and we can provide the service that our guests are used to. We hope you give us another chance and let us prove to you that Harmony is at its best and suggest that next time you visit us not during school vacations. Thanks again for your honest feedback. It helps us prepare better for next year's holiday season. We hope to have you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nc
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 January 2014

The Harmony is a beautiful, elegant, sustainable hotel on the beach in the most beautiful coast of Costa Rica. The restaurant is amazing. The very best, juicy and unique experience is the Harmony Healing Center. You must experience the one of a kind. It is truly special, especially Monika Ramos, who has a lovely presence and warm heart.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are heavenly, but the cabins closer to the ocean offer a more private experience.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennimoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rowayton CT
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2013

We spent 3 nights at the Harmony Hotel in Nosara early Dec 2013. If you are looking for a quiet romantic getaway, this may not be the place. First, there were many small kids and families when we were there. Second, the restaurant seemed to be consistently busy with large parties from outside the hotel. I am sure this is great for business, but it made me feel like I was a bit of an outsider as much attention was taken up by the large tables surrounding us.
But the worst thing is the Coco rooms. They are extremely noisy. Between hearing the restaurant music and talking loud and clear, to people walking by the room constantly, to people slamming their hotel room doors nearby, it was quite jarring. I am sure the villas were a million times better. But for $300/night for the room, it did not feel like great value.
The room itself was smallish, no real closet, nowhere to put luggage except on the floor (I asked for a luggage stand but none were to be had). The huge outdoor back area with shower is a great idea.. but a lot of wasted space. Why no couch to relax on? Or lounge chairs? No shelf to put your shampoo on.. Just small little amenities that would go a long way in making the hotel feel more resort like. Even the inside bathroom did not have much room to put toiletries anywhere. It would be easy to add a shelf under the sink.
That said, the people are all super friendly and that is what made the stay good. All of the waiters and bartenders live in nearby Nosara, and all are extremely sweet, pleasant, and hardworking. It seemed like Bolivar never had a day off!
I was looking for howler monkeys and everyone knew it, and at one point I had one security guy (Joseph) call another to track me down and let me know they had spied some. How nice is that?!
The food was good, and the prices were very reasonable.
The grounds are also beautiful and very well attended to. Again, I think if you stay in a villa you will feel more in touch with nature, rather than the more motel like feel of the Cocos rooms.
The location is great, especially if you are there to surf. You can just walk down to the beach with your board.
The pool is nice with bar service.
The front desk Sebastian was very helpful and accommodating.
Unfortunately I don't know what they can do about the noise of the Cocos rooms. Maybe lower the music in the dining room. Maybe add something to the doors so they close more quietly. Maybe add something to the walkway so it's not so noisy.. But really it's just the way they are set up in a row and their location..
Overall better than 'average' hotel, but in the Cocos rooms did not feel private so not great for honeymooners..

Room Tip: Do not choose Coco Room if you are looking for quiet. Get a villa
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sailgirle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Texas
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

Family holiday from 15th to 20th in Villa 17. Hotel and grounds were beautiful and it never felt crowded despite the property being fully booked. Pool centrally located, very peaceful, good service and, again, never more than 4 or 5 guests there at any one time.

Spa services were outstanding (Orion for massage and Gabby for Thai massage).

Yoga classes through out the day at a reasonable price and an offering can be found for type of style you prefer.

Easy 2 minute stroll to the beach for sunsets and surfing, or really long walks as the beach is 6 km long. Always room to surf any time of day and consistent waves all day. Great for learning.

Free breakfast daily was amazing and too much for one person. We usually split a main course after the fresh juice, large fruit plate and good coffee. Dinner menu excellent and varied and the casual atmosphere was perfect. Wait staff timely and attentive.

Everyone at Harmony was a pleasure to interact with and did everything to make the visit as smooth as possible.

Pace here is relaxed and soothing. Off the grid a bit but well worth getting there (2.5 hours from Liberia).

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NewTraveler52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.4 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
77 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
272 reviews
0.4 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#7 of 22 in Nosara
172 reviews
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harmony Hotel

Property: The Harmony Hotel
Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#3 Green Hotel in Nosara
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#4 Spa Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. The Harmony Hotel is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Nosara
The Harmony Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing