We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Wedding”
Review of The Harmony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Harmony Hotel
Ranked #4 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The Wedding”
Reviewed 27 August 2010

We had read and heard various reports about Costa Rica and the Nosara area. We were nervous about the trip. When we arrived at the hotel we found this place to be just perfect, the reception staff were very welcoming and friendly. The accommodation was very clean, very comfortable and the food at the hotel could not be faulted. Hotel is eco friendly and has its own health spa. The beach was back to nature, no sunbeds, no umbrellas just miles of surf and sand. The sunsets were amazing. This is a place to have a perfect holiday. We will return Nosara end of 2010

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mags088
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

374 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    267
    77
    20
    9
    1
See reviews for
90
172
26
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
37 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2010

Harmony Hotel is a fabulous place. The concept of the hotel is amazing. They do everything possible to have a small ecological footprint. They use mostly local foods, have their own biodegradable shampoo/conditioner, and even the bar straws are cut bamboo from the garden. The road to Nosara is TERRIBLE, so arriving at such a beautiful hotel with a fabulous relaxation center is ideal. The rooms are ample, the service is excellent, the grounds are full of wildlife, especially the halloween crabs. There is a bird there that will serenade you with the most beautiful song every morning. I had a facial and did yoga at the relaxation center, and both were outstanding, especially considering the remote location. This is the kind of place where you know everyone on the property by the time you leave. I suggest this hotel for longer stays, if you need to decompress. The surf is some of the most consistent in the country from what I understand. They also have laptops available for those who don't want to be too out of touch.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank luv2travel79_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyNosara, Manager at The Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2010
Dear luv2travel79_10,

Thank you for your great review of your stay at the Harmony Hotel. We work hard to create the perfect environment to relax for our guests and feel the combination of beach, yoga, wellness and surf is the perfect setting to decompress. We are also happy that you enjoyed the food and that you liked out sustainability efforts. We would love to have more guests like you at Harmony. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pearland, Texas, USA
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2010

Family and I spent 5 night at Harmony a few weeks ago. Could have spent more. Hotel staff was very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was the best, loved the Harmony Special. The grounds were impeccable. The boys loved trying to catch the Halloween Crabs that seemed to be everywhere. Playa Guiones was awesome. Only negative was the pushy beach vendors. They don't seem to understand the meaning of, "No". Hotel security did a very good job of keeping them at bay when requested. If there is a refuage from the day-to-day, this is it!

Stayed July 2010, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank txex94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2010

We happened upon the Harmony Hotel and it is the beat place in town. We had every dessert on the menu. Super creative, fantastic food. Very reasonably priced. Must try the long island ice teas!!! Ps, you must ask for your check, but that is the standard in costa rica. Feed the cat.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PR85
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston SC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 June 2010

We did not stay at the Harmony Hotel although we tried. The hotel would not budge on their prices. Too bad, as the place seemed empty. We stayed elsewhere but did go to the Harmony for a spa treatment. The place is gorgeous, meticulous grounds and stylishly appointed. I'm trying not to be too critical because everything operates on Costa Rica time. Still, I thought the spa needed a little management oversight. I called to make an appointment around 10:00 am and was told "no English, call back uno hora". I ended up riding my bike over there and made the appointment in person. The power and A/C unit went off in the middle of my massage - at that point I realized how LOUD the location is. I could hear horns and ATV's from the street and a leaf blower(?) for the WHOLE 90 minutes. At that point, I was glad I did not pay the price for the room.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlestonSCJaylo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
harmonyNosara, Healing Centre Manager at The Harmony Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2010
Dear CharlestonSCJaylo,

We are sorry to hear that your time at the Harmony's Healing Centre was so loud. We do use music to absorb extra sounds coming through and keeping our windows as a way to stay in touch with the garden is important to us. I would love to invite you to come back for another visit at our Healing Centre so that we can leave you with a true experience of our place here. The meditation gardens, the quality of our therapists here and the tranquility of being able to linger in your treatment here with us. We also imagine that while our receptionist stepped out briefly our housekeeper answered the phone to be helpful. We have each person enrolled in an English program so that we can offer quality service to our clients who speak English. The importance is that we work with the locals and are mindful of our social impact on the environment in which we live. We look forward to your return for your complimentary service of your choice leaving you with a whole new experience.

Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2010

My 19 year old daughter was doing a six week volunteer project in San Ramon, and traveling via buses and staying a hostels; so I wanted to "treat" her to a long weekend in a great hotel, and we loved this place. It is not the Marriott, so don't expect an American-type resort. It is an eco-friendly hotel/spa located in a jungle, complete with thousands of crabs (not in the rooms!), howler monkeys, and bugs (sometimes they do get in the room). The monkeys come out in droves during the morning and early evening.
The bathrooms were just ok, but the outside shower was the best! Beds were comfy, no tv, but wifi although slow was available. The beach was lovely, great for walking, surfing, and swimming. Breakfast (which comes with the room) was wonderful - wheat waffles, fresh fruit, harmony special - loved it all. Dinner was awesome as well, but limited menu. Dessert of baked alaska with orange sponge cake, watermelon sorbet, topped with marangue....to die for.
Yoga was tough, and there were a lot of first timers - I think she needed to tone it down a little.
Service was awesome - when my daughter had a stomach-ache, the bartender made her some sort of tea and root smoothie - she loved it and it made her feel better! They go out of there way to make sure everything is going well for you.
Getting there - we drove from San Ramon; sometimes scary, the roads the last 25k were horrible; but we made it. There is not a lot to do in Nosara, so you really don't need a car, we tried the restaurant across the dirt road, and really liked it. We tried to drive to dinner one night - but driving at night is a bit tricky if you don't know exactly where you are going. We did venture to a beach front grill about 8k away (ask at the front desk) which has music on Sunday's. We also went to Samara - "casual" version of Nosara with lots of restaurants, but the beach is not as nice.
We did a kyak trip with Spencer from Experience Nosara - great, great guide and ex-pat.
info@experience-nosara.com
We also used Catalina from Activated Life Experiences to book things for us - she is awesome.
catalina@activatedlife.com
Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank triptaker704
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2010

A short trip from the Nosara airstrip (or a car ride through some dirt roads), the Harmony is a very laid back surf hotel with some great qualities. My boyfriend and I arrived and had originally been booked in a Cocos room, which was very small and basic, and we asked to move to an open Bungalow farther away from the pool, which was very much worth the upgrade. We had a great outdoor shower and a nice hammock and we loved the organic shampoos and soaps. You definitely need the AC here, which works very well. We loved the free yoga class we took with Keren, who is excellent, and the food here is really great. Be sure to have the guacamole at lunch, which is some of the best we had in the country. The bar is friendly and relaxed, and they make a mean Pina Colada. The beach is short walk, but is very secluded and we felt we had our own private beach. We really enjoyed the surf lessons we took from Nosara Surf School, which is just across the street, and the hotel is only a short walk from the main drag in Nosara, which is super relaxed and beachy. We loved Robin's for lunch. This is definitely the best place to stay in Nosara, which is very much a surfer town and a bit off the beaten path. Our favorite part of the hotel was the salt water pool, which we spent a bunch of time around. We'd definitely come back here--there were a number of other guests who were there with us who come all the time.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KateUSA628
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.5 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.7 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.4 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Harbor Reef Hotel
Harbor Reef Hotel
#16 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 264 reviews
0.5 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Harmony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Harmony Hotel

Property: The Harmony Hotel
Address: Guiones Beach, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#2 Family Hotel in Nosara
#3 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
#3 Green Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — The Harmony Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Harmony Hotel is the perfect combination of low-key luxury, nature, wellness and sustainability. Situated on Guiones Beach in Nosara, Costa Rica, a spot well renowned for its beautiful surroundings and impressive surf, this is an excellent place to unwind, relax and get in tune with your natural rhythm. The Harmony Hotel is part of the Cayuga Collection of Sustainable Luxury Hotels and Lodges. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Booking.com, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Harmony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harmony Hotel Nosara
The Harmony Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing