We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh - it was ok.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Casa Romantica

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Casa Romantica
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Nosara
Ottawa, ON
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Meh - it was ok.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2010

Casa Romantica is located in the quaint surf town of Nosara. We stayed in two different rooms during our stay as we had reserved last minute and they were quite booked. Although it was just my husband and I, our first room was meant for a family of 4 – 5. It had two rooms, a fridge, and a/c in the master bedroom only. The room was dark, and opening the curtains took away any privacy. The metal bars on the windows and door took away any charm.

The next day we moved into another room. Surprisingly, this room was ten times better – it was bright, seemed cleaner, no metal bars on the windows or door, and the bathroom seemed updated and modern.

The restaurant at the hotel was great – dinner was fantastic, and the buffet breakfast was just enough to get you going for the day. The hotel has a private entrance to the beach, and it is just a walk away. The pool was decently kept and very warm during the day. The staff were friendly enough, but I never got the sense that they would go that extra mile. Compared to other places I had been, I never felt a true welcoming feeling here.

The location is great, and close to many things in Nosara – restaurants, bars, ice cream parlours, etc... We had dinner at a place called La Luna – cute and a great spot to watch the sunset. I loved Nosara, but wasn’t thrilled by Casa Romantica. If I ever go back, I’d probably try a different hotel.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ylagam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

107 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    56
    28
    7
    11
    5
See reviews for
21
59
2
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 December 2009

In the land of perpetual "mucho gusto", Nosara-Costa Rica, you know the Gods were smiling when they created this corner of the country!
They must have said, "Let's create a place where the animals celebrate audibly(Howler Monkeys), along with the trees and plants, (ancient hardwords with tropical ginger and sages). And then, we will make them behold to the dance of the butterflies, (the Blue Morpho and a colorful host of others) from the music of castanetting crusteaceans, (orange&purple Halloween beach and land crabs).
The land will feel the breath of the creators (Playa Guiones, the MOST consistent surf break in Costa Rica) from the long broad beach, that accomodates the infinite sea. Where under a full moon the arrival of returning ancient ones visit, in their glorious magnitude (Olive Ridley sea turtles, hundreds of thousands of them, North of Playa Guiones at Playa Ostional)."
This intense vibration of life ia all ever-presently staged at CASA ROMANTICA! A perfectly small hotel located at one of the most beautiful beaches of Costa Rica. BUT, it is the management and the chefs that encompass the affection for their guests through international cuisine and personal attention!
Casa Romantics has long been a home base for many a world traveler! Why a home base? Who wouldn't feel at home at CASA ROMANTICA in Nosara, Costa Rica?
Submitted by: a 15-year recurrent guest,
Edwin Mora

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank edwinemora
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2009

This is our favorite place to stay in beautiful Nosara. Beautiful trail to the beach that is home to many colorful sand crabs. Delicious breakfast is included every morning. The rooms are great and well kept. The pool is always clean and pristine. Romantica is very relaxing and definitely makes you feel far from home. We stay here every time we visit Nosara.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank welovecosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
55 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 September 2009

We chose this hotel based on how close it was to the beach and price. This is a small hotel with 10 rooms. Our room was large with a small kitchen and good size bathroom. It was quite warm during the day so I'm glad we paid extra for A/C-it was worth it at night. Breakfast in the morning was wonderful with fruits, pastries, juice, milk, and a different selection of hot foods. The restaurant at night was Italian and on the expensive side. We ate there once and while it was good, we wanted to explore other places to eat. The pool is huge with lots of places to lay out. The staff was very accommodating and spoke numerous languages. The walk to the beach is short and has a private path with a gate at the back of the hotel property.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ztagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2009

A buddy and I rented a car and drove south to playa guiones to do some surfing and exploring. We were able to book reservations a night or two before we arrived online. Very accommodating. The breakfast was included and was delicious.

Short walk to kaya sol for great lunch and bar. Short walk to internet cafe. Short walk to punto board rental. Great location with private access to beach.

we stayed in room #1 because we wanted to be up on top with the balcony. We didn't have a/c, but it wasn't a problem. Rooms were available with a/c if we wanted. After the 1st night we were the only guests, and the staff catered to our every need.

Comparatively, it's very, very nice for the area. The staff and owners were all very friendly.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ebum192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sta. Rosa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2009

We spent 13 nights at Casa Romantica. It was restful, clean and friendly. Silvia and Remo (the owners/managers) took great care of us. We felt right at home and our kids (ages 9 and 4) really enjoyed the pool, the beach and the hotel gardens. The hotel restaurant is a bit of a splurge, but very nice. Breakfast was ample- fresh coffee, juice, plenty of fresh fruit, toast and eggs. I recommend this place for families. Nosara is a surfers beach and the surfer culture is all around you. My husband and son both surfed, but I can see why some travelers might not like the whole "surf scene" in Nosara. One interesting thing about Nosara is that most restaurants have menus in US Dollars and prefer the US currency to Costa Rican Colones. It would have been entirely possible for us to have visited Nosara and not once used a Costa Rican Colon.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank olypoly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 February 2009

The hotel has a good location if you're interested in going to the beach and you don't have a car. The food in the restaurant was very good. The staff and owner ( Raymond ) are friendly and helpful. Rooms were clean although I must say that I was annoyed with the use of two top sheets as opposed to a fitted bottom one.Turning in bed leads to ending up on the mattress. Don't let that keep you from the place though. I'll be happy to give you some insight on the area if you like.

  • Liked — It's location in relation to the beach
  • Disliked — Nothing worth mentioning
  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank AmazingYogaTrips
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
0.6 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
KayaSol Surf Hotel
KayaSol Surf Hotel
#8 of 23 in Nosara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 165 reviews
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harmony Hotel Nosara
Harmony Hotel Nosara
#4 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Casa Romantica? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Casa Romantica

Property: Hotel Casa Romantica
Address: Apdo. 134 | Casa Romantica, Playa Guiones, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A peaceful beachside retreat for surfers, yogis, couples and families Our moderately-sized hotel is located at one of the most beautiful beaches in all Costa Rica; however, our mission is to offer you more than just the beach! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Casa Romantica Hotel
Hotel Casa Romantica Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing