We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pura vida” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Mango

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Mango
Ranked #1 of 18 Nosara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
San Jose, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Pura vida”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

Jo and Agnes are fantastic hosts, the property is gorgeous, tranquil and slightly off the beaten path. If you're looking for a place that is entangled in all of the action and visitors of Playa Guiones, this may not be the spot for you, however, we had a wonderful time, and I enjoyed the walks to the beach and surrounding destinations. I like the location away from the tourist dominated town of Guiones to unwind at night or just enjoy an afternoon by the pool. You can see wildlife right from the terrace, and Jo and Agnes will help you to organize transportation, travel plans, excursions, as well as give you tips about the area, the locals, all the while offering friendly banter and they are amazing joke-tellers! So if you are in for a good time of laughing, exploring and living, Villa Mango is the place for you! Stay tuned for yoga retreats to be hosted here in the future!!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chispamelissa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    341
    16
    1
    0
    1
See reviews for
66
184
15
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milwaukee WI
Level Contributor
48 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

We stayed with Jo and Agnes on our return to Nosara. They are wonderful hosts with great accommodations. The pool is a great way to relax and look at the stars at night. Short walk to the beach and some great places to eat. I would recommend them to anyone and look forward to returning for another visit!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank xtracycletony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
77 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We stayed for two nights and had a superb time. Jo and Agnes are wonderful hosts and they own an amazing property. We stayed in the Congo Room, which had the most incredible views of the beaches of Nosara. The pool was so clean and inviting. The breakfasts are by far the best we had in any hotel or B&B in Costa Rica. Such a great place to unwind, relax and enjoy the beauty of the surroundings.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hlew123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, Virginia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2014

We stayed three heavenly days and nights at Villa Mango in Nosara. It was absolutely perfect. Agnes and Jo are very welcoming and kind. Our room was comfortable, clean, and lovely -- although I do recommend splurging on the upcharge for the air conditioning. The salt water pool is fun to cool off in -- and boasts spectacular views of the Pacific Ocean and coastline. My favorite place was the hammock on the veranda, where I could look out at the ocean, enjoy the buzzing of the myriad hummingbirds, listen to the howler monkeys in the nearby mango trees, savor the light breeze, and just unwind completely. The breakfasts were wonderful and the fruit incredibly fresh. The gardens are beautiful and this is an amazing place to spot birds, iguanas, frogs, butterflies, and monkeys. There are optional yoga classes several mornings a week -- and I have to say I doubt I will ever take a yoga class in a more beautiful spot than Villa Mango. I would absolutely stay there again on my next visit to Nosara.

P.S. The roads, as in all of Nosara, are rocky and not fabulous, so be sure to have AWD -- and believe the guidebooks when they say you want to arrive before sunset.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diane S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Quebec City, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

At the beginning of June, my boyfriend and I spent an absolutely wonderful 5 days and nights at the Villa Mango. The city of Nosara is magnificent with its luxurious green flora and its breathtaking beaches. At the time, the waves were perfect for boogie boarding which was super fun but hey, we're here to talk about the Villa.

First of all, the room. We were in the Congo room and it was A-MA-ZING: clean, comfy and huge! I cannot possible express how awesome the bathroom was but apart from having the most beautiful shower I had ever seen, let's just say that we could sit on a rocking chair watching the jungle and the ocean and there was still a lot of space left. The view was just as good on the bed, we spent hours there just enjoying it.

The whole place is like that and alongside the view you can enjoy the company of lots birds and animals (the monkeys are numerous and not afraid to come close to the villa). There is also a very nice pool. In the common area there is a fridge from which you can buy beverages at a more than reasonable price so no need to go out for PowerAde, a beer or a glass of wine. Furthermore, you can borrow sun umbrellas, boogie boards and stuff like that to go to the beach.

But above everything, the most amazing thing there is the hosts. Jo, Agnes and Marine are such wonderful people. It was a blast to sit down with them, anytime of the day, and just chat. Oh yeah, and for breakfast (which was delicious, please do try the pancakes) we all sat together at the same table in a very interesting multi-cultural experience.

You cannot not like this place, it's as close to perfect as it can be. It’s a good idea to bring insect repellant though, since it's in the middle of the jungle and super-friendly bugs with boundary issues can show up at dusk. Just in case you would worry about that, it is not a problem at all in the room!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Émilie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chicago, il
Level Contributor
87 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 June 2014

We were in Costa Rica for over three weeks. Unfortunately, we stayed only one night at Villa Mango. It was the perfect place to spend our vacation. The hosts, Agnes and Jo, were very welcoming and kind. Our room was quite comfortable. The view of the Pacific is fascinating, and the lush gardens are so peaceful. We were visited by howler monkeys and hummingbirds. We would stay there again without hesitation. It is so relaxing!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skacian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, UK
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Couldn't have asked for more. A wonderful property which more than lives up to the photos on the website. A friendly and hospitable welcome. Great breakfast and a lovely relaxed atmosphere. It says on the website "come as a guest, leave as a friend" and it certainly lives up to that aim.
We didn't have a car but found no problem getting around although admittedly we are keen walkers but taxis are readily available if you need one.

Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Conga - our room - had a wonderful view of the Pacific Ocean from our bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Liz K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
1.2 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
1.1 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#3 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 262 reviews
0.4 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#11 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 132 reviews
1.9 mi away
Jungles Edge
Jungles Edge
#9 of 23 in Nosara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 131 reviews
1.8 mi away
Olas Verdes
Olas Verdes
#6 of 23 in Nosara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Mango? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Mango

Property: Villa Mango
Address: | Bocas de Nosara, Playa Pelada, Nosara 05233, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in Nosara, on the Pacific side of the Nicoya Peninsula, Villa Mango B&B will welcome you to Costa Rica, with 7 bedrooms, each with its own bathroom and some with a/c, pool, large wrap-around terrace with panoramic views of the Ocean, bird and wildlife viewing and delicious breakfasts. Relax by the pool or explore the jungle and the beach! Come as guests, leave as friends! Please note: There is a cat in house and smoking is allowed outdoors ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Mango reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Mango Hotel Nosara
Villa Mango Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing