We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good pizza, music, TVA”
Review of Il Pepperone

Il Pepperone
Ranked #8 of 79 Restaurants in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Groups, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Playa guiones
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good pizza, music, TVA”
Reviewed 11 February 2014

Pizza was good. Had several TVs which is pretty common here. Sadly had to watch the humiliating spectacle of broncos defeat. Other than that, a pleasant place to pass the evening

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sue M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

208 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    65
    10
    8
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Pizza, but terrible service”
Reviewed 29 January 2014

We have been coming to Nosara for 14 years and was happy to return to Pepperone this year.
We ate at the restaurant two times and both times, the food was delicious.

On an unfortunate note, our server on the second visit was inattentive when he discovered we were not drinking. More importantly, he added items to our pizza without telling us there was an additional charge. We questioned him when the bill arrived ( which he did not bring) and we had to ask a young lady to get him. His response was ohh.... I guess I will take it out of my pay. We said that we would split the difference with him. He never returned with the funds we agreed upon and never returned to the table. We are very easy going, but are hesitant to return to the restaurant. When you pay $16 for a pizza, you expect half way decent service. Very disappointing.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank elvis815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing Pizza!”
Reviewed 23 January 2014

My husband and I wanted to try something different for dinner, and since pizza is one of our favourite dishes, we thought, why not? And it was a great choice! Excellent service, pizza fresh right out of the wood fired oven, and the ceasar salad was amazing! Everything was so flavourful! The waiter was excellent, took some time out to tell us about the area and ask where we were from. We will definitely be back for more!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jesaco1114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
98 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good choice in Playa Pelada”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

Ate here for dinner twice on a recent week visit to Nosara. First time I had the Arroz con Mariscos, which was outstanding. Second time we opted for pizza. They have a wood fired oven so a nice crisp thin crust, but the sauce soaked it pretty quickly. The pies are pretty good sized- my wife and I ordered one each, but one would have been plenty for both of us. We did enjoy the leftovers for lunch the next day! :-)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank PhilQ3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Ana, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Costa Rica”
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We moved to Costa Rica a year ago and have been searching for good pizza. We finally found it in Playa Guiones. For me the crust is perfect and the toppings were very fresh. The pizzas are cooked in a brick oven to perfection.

The pizzas are large enough to share but not heavy.

The atmosphere is laid back with a mixture of locals and tourists. It's always a good sign when there are locals. Our 2 year old and our adolescents were happy…even our dog had a good time there.

We will definitely be back next time we are in Nosara.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank StacieKvanvig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Il Pepperone also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Been to Il Pepperone? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing