We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Attractive setting and mostly delicious food”
Review of Campesino Bistro & Bar - CLOSED

Campesino Bistro & Bar
Cuisines: American, Latin, South American, Central American, Costa Rican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Waitstaff
Description: Campesino Bistro & Bar is offering a creative menu and exotic cocktails in a jungle atmosphere
Minneapolis, MN
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Attractive setting and mostly delicious food”
Reviewed 16 March 2014

We stopped in for a late dinner at Campesino and were not disappointed. Service was friendly. The pesto goat cheese sandwich I had was quite delicious and my husband liked his fish tacos. A quinoa/garbanzo bean salad was a little bland, but fresh and hearty. The dining area was pleasantly decorated with dark woods, and it was nice to have break from the reggae music that was being overplayed in some of the other Guiones area restaurants. A number of people were gathered around the bar drinking cocktails. I will definitely go back when I return to the area.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank MsSadie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

16 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    5
    2
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Finally a place for foodies!”
Reviewed 14 March 2014

So I am staying at the Sunset Shack and hadn't even eaten at the restaurant right here until the 3rd day and was disappointed in myself for not going earlier!

Everything I've had food wise shows attention to detail. I'm a picky foodie who loves great food and am super happy with this place after trying Harmony, La Luna, Bulldog this place is my favorite spot. Try a special, or the nachos, fantastic food and great service to boot!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank shanebourdage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Bland food, great service”
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Everything we had at this place was bland --from the "Three Amigos" appetizers (salsa, guac, and ceviche) to the fish tacos. Even my cocktail, which had ginger in it and so should've had some bite to it, was bland. The service was great though-both the hostess and waiter really nice. Campesino seems like it's a bit of scene--not in a bad way, just a good place to people watch--a slightly more polished crowd than some of the other restaurants we went to on this trip, at least on the night we were there. So go for the service and the people watching, but make sure to ask for extra salt & hot sauce if you decide to eat there.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AmoBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
21 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good food, popular bar”
Reviewed 28 January 2014

We never ate here when it was the old Casa Tucan, but our friends had heard good things about the new chef & menu. It seems to be quite a popular place now, especially the bar, which seems lively but not rowdy. Our dinner selections were great (if a little pricey), especially the mahi-mahi in yuca. The choices were somewhat limited since we don't eat meat & there weren't a ton of fish or veggie options on the night we went. But we would definitely go back. The staff was very friendly & gave great service despite the place being full.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank annie791952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Love this place!”
Reviewed 28 January 2014 via mobile

The food is created with love and passion. The specials which change every evening are written on lovely boards which i can highly recommend. It is always a pleasure trying the creative cocktails, additionaly the biodynamic wine is the best wine you can get in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Kim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Campesino Bistro & Bar also viewed

Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing