We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel in Town”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Nosara
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Gilded Iguana Hotel
Ranked #17 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The best food, staff, management, rooms, prices and ambiance on the beach, plus live music two nights a week. You can't lose with the Iguana.

Thank laperla004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (134)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

85 - 91 of 134 reviews

Reviewed 22 December 2011

I have stayed solo, with my wife, and with family and friends. I call the Gilded the "Cheers" of the jungle. After each visit I have new friends, new stories and a contentment that a vacation should bring. Joellen and Matt are great hoteliers whose ability to make you feel like a friend is a gift. Rent a quad, surf board on site. get a surf lesson, massage. Its all there at the Gilded. my mom is 83 and she loves the place. Surf is a short walk, hammocks for chillin, poolside bar. Nothing like a sunset surf, cold beer at the bar, change for dinner with folks you just met from somewhere else, its Pura Vida

Room Tip: a/c is available but a fan is in every room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Don F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Just traveled to Nosara and stayed at The Gilded Iguana for two nights. We upgraded to a room with a/c and were pleased. The rooms are clean, simple and ours was very spacious. Sometimes noisy in the early morning, but not too loud and not a place where you are trying to sleep in too much. We could walk 20 ft to get breakfast, lunch or dinner in the restaurant - all pretty fairly priced items and all meals were delicious. The walk to the beach was easy and just as easy to walk to the Mini-Super for water, beer and snacks for your room (it has a mini-fridge). Nice, laid-back staff and other customers.

Great place to stay and would definitely recommend.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank e568
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 December 2011

Great local spot, fun music in season, great inexpensive fresh fish and tico food! Place to go for live music in the tiny beach area of Playa Guionnes.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beisner58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2011

Definitely a home away from home, the local staff makes you feel like you are truly a guest in their own home. The rooms are clean, simple, spacious and just what you are looking for when visiting a tropical beach. The Iguana is a true hot spot in Nosara, if you want to be at the center of things or if you are into people watching this is the place to be. They seem to make it quite easy to find things to do … or you can just hang out by the pool and walk to the beach. The food is to die for, they serve fantastic local food as well as what you might be more accustomed to from home. I really can’t say enough… it is a great and easy place for people to relax and have a good time!

Room Tip: #12! (if you want AC)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cabeth C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2011

Just spent 7 days at the GI and still didn't get to try everything on the menu. Everything we had was great, not one bad meal. The staff take pride in their job and never look like they are working while they are taking care of you. The airconditioning worked great, the pool and waterfall were well maintained. Joellen was a terrific help in arranging for our transportation by Marco, ATV rental from Alex, surfing rentals from Juan and helping us with our Christmas Shopping. Junior, is a man of his word, we did have one of the best schnitzels this side of Germany. Cass, Ceazar, CoCo and Roger were outstanding in the area of customer service. The dogs and cats added a homey touch, in fact they were much more welcome than some of the locals who tended to take over the pool area. I would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone of any age (even senior citizens like my wife and I). I am planning on going back with my children and grandchildren and hopefully get a group rate.

Room Tip: If you are over fifty, get an airconditioned room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank oldlizard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2011

After a five hour van ride with a driver that only spoke Spanish, driving down into the dirt roads to the little town of Nosara was a relief. We pulled up to the Gilded Iguana with daylight to spare and brought our bags through their yard and into the open café and bar area, which also serves as the check-in desk. I had researched the area intensely before decided on the Gilded Iguana for our “surf” portion of our Costa Rican adventure. It was located so close to the beach, the walk was easy – which was essential to our ‘no rental car’ trip. For those who are looking for a ritzy ‘high end’ escape, look elsewhere. If you want a truly Costa Rican “Pura Vida” no-strings-attached, relaxing, ‘make yourself at home’ place to stay, you’ve found it with the Iguana.
The Iguana is located down the dirt roads in the quaint town of Nosara. Though there are occasional Yoga Spa’s, most of Nosara constitutes of small hotels and surf shops. It’s always quite, but the people are amazing. It’s perfect for those that want to get away from the tourist of Costa Rica and relax. We were immediately welcomed with a “hello darlings!” from the infamous Di – a waitress/receptionist known for her hospitality, as you can read in other posts. She showed us our room, which was steps away from the dining area on the right.
The room is simple but spacious; complete with a ‘kitchen’ sink and mini fridge if you’d like to get your own food from the market down the street. The décor was minimal except for a mural of howler monkeys gracing one of the walls. The large bed was extremely comfortable and sleeping was great, despite the lack of AC. Most of the room is shuttered screen to alleviate the heat issue. It works extremely well and the shutters are fine for privacy at night. Two fans were in the bedroom as well as one in the bathroom for added comfort. The bathroom was small but adequate. You are not able to flush toilet paper because of the laws of sewage in the small town but this isn’t a problem because the excellent maid service takes out the trash every morning. They also leave you two towels each: a white one for showering, and a colorful one for the beach. Our room even had a small balcony with deck chairs. These were perfect for the Tuesday nights with live music. We had a front row, but private seat overlooking the diners and the band if we didn’t feel like venturing down ourselves.
The main area of the Gilded Iguana is the dining area. A beautifully decorated open, but covered, room is painted with iguanas and stylish décor. There is always someone to wait on you with the best menu and food items I have ever had. Breakfast, Lunch and Dinner are served. I recommend the Yogi Special (fresh yogurt, granola and skewers of fruit) for a light breakfast, Smoked Fish Dip or Guacamole and Chips for snacks, any of their burgers or sandwiches, and the Penne a la Vodka (get a whole serving I swear you’ll finish it and still want more!) for dinner with a Triple Chocolate Brownie for dessert. But those are just suggestions. Try everything. Also – their fresh fruit smoothies are perfect for any time of the day. This restaurant area is not only the dining area, but also the hangout – complete with wifi. You can sit and read, check your email, watch television, or chat with the others staying at the Iguana and in town (all the locals also seem to know that the Iguana is the best place to be. Especially on Tuesday nights!).
The best thing about this hotel is how laid back the staff and visitors are. Room keys can be left on hooks inside the kitchen door so they don’t get lost – the phone is open to use whenever you’d like. Information on anything is always at hand from anyone on the staff – or the owner, Joellen, if you catch her on her computer at the bar. (When we asked about bus passes for our ride home, she even got them for us and had them waiting at the bar the day we left!) There’s an area of hammocks (or you can string up your own) out back where you can always find people lounging with a good book. The pool is small but perfect after a day at the beach, and there is also another round (think tiki hut) bar on the opposite side of it if the dining area gets too crowded. There is always free fresh coffee and water by the main area as well, which is just an extra plus! There is no stress here. The way of life is slow. Live it up.
The beach,Playa Guiones, is a very short walk, littered with orange and purple tree crabs that sputter away when you walk by. Even at high tide, there is plenty of beach because there is usually no one there. Surf schools can be seen in the distance to the left, but the beach is long and spacious enough to fit everyone. The water is warm but isn’t tropical. No blue water, just amazing waves! Nosara is huge for surfing and the breaks here are known to be amazing. Even beginners like me can handle it, though, depending on the tides of the day. You can rent surf boards at the surf camp located in the Iguana’s back yard or down the street. Both shops are pretty good prices and have good boards. Sharks are uncommon, though we would always be surrounded by schools of fish when not catching a wave. The beach is great for walking during sunset. The bugs aren’t bad, and the surfers even build little palm tree huts to rest under if the sun gets too bad. On that note, make SURE you wear sunscreen and keep applying it throughout the day. A burn from the Costa Rican sun is bad. I had tan lines from the ten minute walk to and from the beach to check the surf at nine in the morning.
The wildlife near the Guilded Iguana is good! Iguanas can be found on warm days in the yard off the restaurant, along with smaller lizards, and the occasional cat or dog that likes to hang around. (Sushi the cat is my favorite. Very smart and will be your new best friend if you let her.) There are also the infamous howler monkeys. They will wake you up at night, but it is simply part of the Costa Rican experience. If you want a close up look, head down the road to the right of the Iguana and listen when a motorbike goes by (they hate them and will howl in response to the noise). Sometimes they come almost down to ground level and you can get some good pictures. If its turtle season, I recommend getting to Ostional. (If you go by ATV getting there is an adventure as well!) We went on the beach at night (bring a red LED light!) and watched the turtles come up and lay their eggs. There were hundreds and you can go right up to them, pet them, and watch the entire process up close.
When we were there in August, it started to get dark around nine. Because it is not a city/extremely developed, there is not much nightlife, but take advantage of this. My boyfriend and I would sit out on our porch after dinner with a few drinks, listen to the howlers and go to bed early. My stay at the Iguana was the most relaxing and refreshing sleep I have ever had. We awoke every morning to the restaurant opening and as we’d step down in for breakfast, we’d be greeted with fresh coffee and a sing-song “good morning, babies!” from Di. She’d update us on the news and happenings while she got our orders and we would relax in the morning sun before a day of surfing. If you do want to go beyond the walls of the Iguana, you can. There are yoga institutes, other café’s, bars, and restaurants down the streets. But because we stayed, we felt more like a family and grew to know the others staying at the Iguana with us. As I have stressed, this place is the most relaxed, feel-at-home hotel I have ever been to and I would be back there in an instant if I could. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone and would be more than happy to answer any other questions by email!

Room Tip: If you aren't picky, the rooms without AC are perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LiHarv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.5 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#2 of 22 in Nosara
110 reviews
1.6 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.1 mi away
La Negra Surf Hotel & Soda
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
60 reviews
0.4 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#8 of 22 in Nosara
149 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor Reef Hotel
Harbor Reef Hotel
#11 of 22 in Nosara
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gilded Iguana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gilded Iguana Hotel

Address: Playa Guiones, Nosara 5233, Costa Rica
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Nosara
#7 Romantic Hotel in Nosara
#14 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range: £38 - £75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A landmark at the beaches of Nosara, Costa Rica, The Gilded Iguana Hotel brings casual relaxation, comfort and excellent service to the Pacific Coast of Costa Rica. One of the most famous and well loved vacation destination hotels in Nosara for surfers, expats, families and adventure holidayers. **NEWS** - Gilded Iguana has been sold to new owners - but is sure to be better than ever for open Nov 2014. All reservations still valid! ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Gilded Iguana Hotel Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing