We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect surfers vacation”
Review of Jungles Edge

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Jungles Edge
Ranked #8 of 22 Hotels in Nosara
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
“Perfect surfers vacation”
Reviewed 23 April 2014 via mobile

My friends and I stayed at Jungles Edge to be near great surf spots we were not disappointed. Jungles Edge had everything we needed for our two week stay: new private rooms with fans and AC when needed, clean new shower and bathroom facilities and an outdoor common kitchen area. They also have really cool nicely equipped tents for a more economical option. All spaces come with free wifi. The owner, Dave, brought us and a few other guests to some lesser known more advanced surf spots but Playa Guiones had great surf almost every day. This is the perfect place to eat, surf, sleep and repeat. Dave said they will be getting electric bikes to rent in the near future. The bike would make it a five minute trip from Jungles Edge to the nearest beach so no need to rent a car on our next visit.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Javorskj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    16
    8
    7
    9
See reviews for
8
50
42
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

Jungles Edge has something for everyone within a range of budgets. The high end tents offer a whole new level of camping with air mattresses, Wifi, fans, electric and mini fridges. The rancho is set up perfectly for guests to cook their own meals with sinks, hot plates and dishes. Common bathrooms and showers offer just enough privacy only steps away. We stayed in a private room with a super comfy bed and A/C and then moved up to the main house with full amenities and easy access to tthe fabulous infinity pool. The owners are super accommodating and can assist with planning your activities during your stay and can even provide transportation, surfboards, standup paddle boards and boogie boards if needed. The beach is only minutes away by car, bike, or quad (all available to rent nearby). I took an amazing onsite fitness class with Davis, a Brazilian MMA pro and the owner brought me to an awesome Pilates class in town. My husband and I spent much of our time in beautiful Playa Guiones where the surf is always great and the sunsets are spectacular. Jungles Edge is the perfect spot for surfers, nature enthusiasts, health & fitness addicts and beach lovers. We fell in love with Nosara, Costa Rica at Jungles Edge and can't wait to come back.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MAggie89j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Pierce, Florida
1 review
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We stayed in one of the suites. Absoult perfect place for the perfect price. The owner Dave was very generous and helpful in guiding us around. Would recommend Jungles Edge to anyone visiting the area. You will leave feeling like you have made a friend for life.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank treebeanbaby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2014

We travelled with 3 families, 6 adults and 7 kids ranging in ages from 12 – 16. Our Hosts, David and Edie, were very accommodating during the planning process. They have extensive “lifestyle” experience in Nosara and coordinated all activities including surf lessons, zip-lining, snorkeling, fishing, etc. Even fronting deposits and grocery money to make sure we had supplies when we arrived. The “Jungle’s Edge” property is quite unique. The main house is spacious, relatively updated and well-maintained. The pool and outside living space is the greatest asset of the property. There are lots of bedrooms- a huge primary master, another that can be considered a master, 2 more with queen beds that share a fairly small bathroom, a large loft with 2 bunkbeds and another room with queen and bunkbeds and it's own bathroom. A walk out the front door offers a close up view to the Howler Monkeys. Would strongly recommend hiring cooks for your group ( very inexpensive). Shopping for groceries is not an easy effort and kitchen cleanup is best handled by them, especially with no dishwasher. The food that was prepared was very good but a little more variety and less effort on our part to coordinate would have made the meal experience much better. When David is not around to translate, it made communicating a little tough. We did not rent cars, but had them arrange taxis from the airport. Transportation once we arrived, is relatively well managed. There are 2 vehicles available, an SUV and a large pickup truck with bench seating in the cargo area for up to 10 people. David and Manuel are available most of the time, but its best to plan your activities at least a ½ day in advance. There is a nominal charge for transportation and truly beats driving yourself. Plus riding in the back of the truck is really fun! Playa Guiones, is great spot for surfing and sunsets. Although you can walk there, estimate about 20 -25 minutes. Carrying surfboards, chairs ( which are all available on property for a small rental fee) etc. is best done with vehicles. You can easily walk to a very good restaurant, located at the base of the property. Don't miss Olgas for sunset and dinner on the beach. There is also a fitness studio at the bottom of the property- make sure to arrange workouts with Davis- he is amazing and did separate workouts for the adults and the kids.. Pamper yourselves with massages on the deck of the house. Everyone at Jungles Edge was very pleasant and attentive to our needs. I would recommend that the more advanced planning you do with David, the smoother your trip will be!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank IndyMom526
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 7 April 2014

I've never been to Costa Rica before & being able to stay at Jungles Edge for my 1st experience was by far the best decision! You are in the middle of the jungle with dirt roads, sunshine & beautiful beaches surrounding you. You can spend all day laying out at the beautiful pool, listening to the howler monkeys & then take a walk to the beach for the beautiful sunset. We were able to surf, paddle board, jet ski, local cooks for the day, patio massages, bon fires, workouts with an MMA fighter, pilates, & zip lining. A week spent there was def. not enough time for me but def. made me eager to book my next trip there.
Dave & Edie are amazing owners & so very helpful. I would recommend this place to ANYONE who wants to visits Nosara & can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meeclain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia Beach, Virginia
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

I've been vacationing in Costa Rica for over 10 years and Jungles Edge is by far one of my favorite places to stay. It's located in Nosara on the Guanacaste penninsula, a town which offers a variety of things to do for all adventurers. Whether you're ziplining down the mountain, surfing, spear fishing, practicing yoga in the tree tops, there's always plenty do to.
The amenities at Jungles Edge are awesome, clean and organized. The staff and owners Dave and Edie couldn't been more humble and hospitable. They have lived in Nosara for 10 years and are very knowledgable about the town, best places to eat, killer surf spots, and anything else needed. I would definitely recommend staying here and can't wait to go back in a few months!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank britninoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014 via mobile

I recently stayed at jungles edge with some friends. We stayed in their air conditioned rooms which had large beds that easily sleep 2 people. A/C is very nice and gets icy cold. The amenities here are top notch; huge martial arts/yoga floor with equipment, kitchen, refrigerators, cooking area, dining tables, hammocks, ping pong, weight set, and HOT WATER. The owners, David and his wife Edie, are the nicest people you will meet in Costa Rica. Very friendly and hospitable and we even took a martial arts inspired yoga class with David and their yoga instructor Serafin which was incredible. They have tons of surfboards, SUP, and even wave runners to rent at very reasonable prices. Internet is super fast and covers the entire property, a first since I have been around Costa Rica.

The bathrooms are huge and have several enclosed showers and toilets and we very clean. The hot water was a nice luxury I had forgotten I loved. One of the best part, NO BUGS IN THE ROOMS! my bug bites finally have some relief.

Everything was very well priced and David just seemed like he was more interested in us having a great time than making a buck off us. They gave us some great recommendations for eating and night life, they have lived here for 10 years so they know the area very well.

I'll definitely be back!

Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Nosara hotels
0.4 mi away
The Bodhi Tree Yoga Resort
2.2 mi away
Boutique Hotel Lagarta Lodge
0.9 mi away
Giardino Tropicale
Giardino Tropicale
#4 of 22 in Nosara
273 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Living Hotel
Living Hotel
#10 of 22 in Nosara
140 reviews
0.8 mi away
Sunset Shack Hotel
Sunset Shack Hotel
#11 of 22 in Nosara
60 reviews
0.7 mi away
Olas Verdes Hotel
Olas Verdes Hotel
#5 of 22 in Nosara
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Jungles Edge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Jungles Edge

Property: Jungles Edge
Address: Meters South Of Nosara Yoga Institute Then 200 Meters West 200 | 200 meters South of Nosara Yoga Institute & 200 meters wes, Nosara 50206, Costa Rica
Phone Number:
Region: Costa Rica > Province of Guanacaste > Nosara
Amenities:
Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Nosara
#4 Green Hotel in Nosara
#5 Spa Hotel in Nosara
#6 On the Beach Hotel in Nosara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Jungles Edge 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Jungle's Edge is Costa Rica's newest all-inclusive yoga and surf center. With adult hostel and beautiful community vibes your stay will leave you with memories for a lifetime. Our facility is nestled mere minutes from Playa Guiones, a world-renowned surf destination, and tucked away into the jungle, making it the perfect setting for retreats of all varieties. Nutritious gourmet cuisine, accompanied with fresh juice detoxing, is prepared daily for our retreat and surf camp members. Our 4 acre property is made up of multiple organic gardens, hundreds of banana trees and luscious flowers making it the perfect getaway. Jungle's Edge is the oasis you have been dreaming of. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, Priceline and Evoline ltd so you can book your Jungles Edge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Jungles Edge Costa Rica/Nosara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing