We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing sunsets...”
other travellers have booked this property
Pool and patio at night
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Pool and patio at night
Front entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
4 reviews
Pool and patio at night
Front entrance
Whole house front
Electric remote controlled gate
Great room
Great room view with kitchen
Kitchen
Beach, surf and ocean view
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Villa -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Nosara, Province of Guanacaste

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 4 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

146dg
Calgary, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Amazing sunsets...”
Reviewed 28 February 2018 for a stay in February 2018

My wife and I stayed as part of a group of 3 couples at Villa Gullwing. Our group had an amazing time in Nosara and at the house. In fact for us, the house was the star of the trip. We expected a nice place, but I'd say it was better than expected once we arrived.

This was our 3rd trip to Costa Rica (other two at Manuel Antonio). While the nature and animals are less prevalent at Nosara, the views, the people and the beaches are all excellent. Its a very solid Costa Rican destination. Back to the house... With the state of the roads in Nosara (aweful) its a little harder to dodge around than we would have guessed. As such, we were most thankful we had rented such a nice home with a stunning view. We opted to spend a number of afternoons lounging around the pool vs. at the beach. We also tried feverishly to schedule our days such that we arrived back for sunset, or left for dinner after sunset. I can't tell you how amazing the sunsets were from the back deck wtih an Imperial Silver in hand!

The place is larger than it looks. It is also well-appointed. We found that everything worked (appliances etc.). The owner, Hans, was extremely attentive to our info requests. He has also provided us with very good intel ahead of our visit regarding the options to fill our days, i.e.restaurants, wildlife refuge details, horseback riding etc.

We read reviews from many sites prior to booking. The only items that gave us pause heading in, was the 3rd detached downstairs bedroom (one review suggested the air quality wasn't the best). It was the dry season while we were there - pehaps it is worse when the rains come - but we didn't find it off-putting. It felt a little less fresh with less foot traffic and airflow etc., but not uncomfortable.

No regrets about our decision to rent here. It was a very memorable vactions for our group. We'd rent here again in a heartbeat. Top marks for Villa Gullwing & for the support from Hans.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mikeybart...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Mr ”
Reviewed 10 February 2017 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This place was wonderful. It had comfortable beds, towels and the kitchen was stocked with everything we could have needed. Oh and the pool was clean with breathtaking views.

Date of stay: February 2016
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RodS1162
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Beautiful property, incredible view! But...many appliances not working.”
Reviewed 20 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Front gate didn't work (nobody told us, we sat there for 20 minutes wondering what to do), dishwasher didn't work, coffee makers didn't work, TV remotes didn't work. If they had just had the property inspected and ready for us, we would easily give it 5 start...it really is a beautiful property, loved the pool and easy access to town.

Date of stay: December 2016
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   No.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Jan 2017
Prior to the guest's arrival, an electrical storm fried electronic components of the remote controlled gate, the dishwasher and the remote sensor of 1 of the 4 TVs. The gate was scheduled to be repaired on the day of the arrival of the guests but was done the next day. Our instructions for access to the property clearly state that there is a side gate for which they had the key from the lockbox. We provide 2 coffeemakers and 1 automatic Espresso machine, only 1 coffeemaker was not working and just need to be flushed with vinegar if clogged. Unfortunately, the part for the dishwasher had to be ordered from the US and could not be repaired for their stay.
When the client made us aware about the issues we responded immediately.
We have more than 15 five star reviews on another website and take pride that we offer our guests the best possible experience for their vacation at our home.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily T
Del Mar, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Treetop Bliss at Villa Gullwing”
Reviewed 12 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

My boyfriend and I had the pleasure of staying at Villa Gullwing this past September. We had the house all to ourselves and enjoyed all of the amenities including the expansive back patio area with out door dining, pool, and an incredible view.

Let's start with the location and the view. Incredible. I have to say that it was my first time in Costa Rica and I can't think of anywhere else you would want to stay to take in the natural beauty of this amazing destination. Because the villa is located in the mountains above Playa Guiones, you have a truly stunning view of the ocean and rainforest below. You feel as though you're perched in the treetops with the birds and monkeys that you can hear throughout the day. Besides the view, we really enjoyed the outdoor dining areas and the gorgeous infinity pool and water feature. Although we enjoyed it just the two of us, we were already making plans to bring back a group of friends - as the villa really lends itself to entertaining for a group. Plenty of room and space to spend time with your favorite people!

Inside, the house is in immaculate condition, spotless, and had everything we needed in the kitchen. Each of the rooms were uniquely designed - we had trouble picking which one to stay in! There is a fun, local touch to the decor, I loved the handcrafted feel of it all, but with a touch of resort/luxury. Perfection! The bathrooms were done very nicely with stone/tile and a "waterfall" style shower head. Most importantly in Costa Rica... the "Air Con", powerful cooling AC units in each room made for a great night's sleep.

A few added bonuses are the large living room with cable and movie selections. It was nice to cook dinner and have a movie night in after a day of activities. Also, the alarm, combined with being away from the beach and the guard at the entrance of the property, all made us feel very safe and secure when leaving the house with our belongings inside.

The location of Villa Gullwing is perfect. You'll want a car to get into town, or any of the great beaches, but everything is very, very close. Or you could stay at the house most of the day and relax too. Playa Guiones has many cute restaurants and shops and there is plenty to do. Definitely go ziplining with Miss Sky Ziplining Adventures and check out all of the local eats!

We LOVED our stay at Villa Gullwing and would recommend it to families, couples and friends looking to rent a house in the Nosares area of Costa Rica. It was perfect and made our vacation experience the best it could be! Hans, the owner/manager of the property was extremely helpful, responsive and easy to work with to secure the rental. We couldn't ask for anything more!

Date of stay: September 2015
How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Design of the house
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in United Kingdom. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.