We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nature!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Santa Ana Volcano

Santa Ana Volcano
Book In Advance
More Info
US$45.99*
and up
Santa Ana Volcano Hiking Tour from San Salvador
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
New South Wales, Australia
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nature!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 April 2014

This place is an excellent choice for the people that love nature and fitness activities. You can have a nice time walking to the volcano and although it might be a little bit challenge for some, it will be worthy at the end. Great views!

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MerceditasHC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

195 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    39
    9
    0
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“with a huff and a puff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

Wow, what a view, the lake is amazing, a bubbling mass of facination. Yes the hike is quite a walk but its not a clambering path just rocky, if I did it most people can unless you are really unfit.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank dorothy m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
57 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Uphill climb takes some energy; emerald green acid lake worth it”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2014

We're glad we did this climb -- the acid lake and views from the top are worth it. However, be aware that it is sold as an 'easy walk' and it's not. After a downhill start (which, of course, us uphill on the way back), this is an uphill climb that ends at about 8,000 feet -- high enough for the altitude to impact some people's climbing stamina. Our 'guide' compounded the problem by setting a very aggressive pace and not providing rest stops. He would get far ahead of the stragglers in our group, finally wait until they caught up, and then start moving again as soon as they arrived. He literally ran up the last portion and intentionally chose small 'shortcuts' that eliminated little bends in the trail by allowing you to climb more steeply uphill. In a nutshell, he was awful. Mauricio was his name. Anyway, bring lots of water (at least 1 liter pp) and an energy snack or two. The view from the ridge is spectacular, and the very green acid lake is quite unique. The economics of the thing are a little puzzling. They charge an entrance fee for the park, and then a separate fee to climb (although no one would to to the park and not climb), and then, about a third of the way up, you pay another fee, apparently for crossing someone's private property. Altogether, it's about $13, so not a lot of money. I suggest a decent pair of hiking boots, although some choose to wear sneakers/tennis shoes/whatever you call those things. There may also be an ice cream vendor at the top. He was a nice guy -- he didn't have change for me, but he gave me the ice cream anyway with a promise to pay at the bottom.

If you are taking the bus, be aware of the time, as the last bus leaves at something like 4pm.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank michaelszippy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Picture perfect volcano”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

We took the bus from Santa Ana to the volcano. Sit on the right hand side for beautiful views over the lake on the way up. The bus arrived at about 9.30, giving an hour to grab some breakfast and some snacks from the comedor there. The trip started at 10.30, we were accompanied by a guide and two security officers, all of whom were very friendly and informative. It's a good walk up to the volcano crater, with gorgeous views on the way. The crater itself took our breath away, sweeping volcanic landscape with a picture perfect bright green, smoking lake. Absolutely stunning. We arrived back to base at about 2pm. As the bus back leaves at 4 we had a bit of hanging about, but apart from that it was a brilliant day out, all for about 12 dollars.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank robotwigs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Interesting Experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2014 via mobile

The hike is tough...1.5hr walk up hill. Wear good shoes. Travel when there is no cloud so you get the the views, not just a view of the crater. Overall, worth a visit.

Helpful?
Thank Travel_Taniwha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Santa Ana Volcano also viewed

San Salvador, San Salvador Department
Coatepeque, Santa Ana Department
 
Santa Ana, Santa Ana Department
Santa Ana, Santa Ana Department
 

Been to Santa Ana Volcano? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing