We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“4th time and looking to go again”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Camping La Rive

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Biscarrosse
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Camping La Rive
worthing
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“4th time and looking to go again”
Reviewed 15 January 2014 via mobile

This is probably the best ran campsite I've been too, great atmosphere, lovely private beech, really clean, and the two brothers that run the paper shop/ bike hire/ ice cream parlour really make the holiday with there attitude and the fun they have with the kids.

Stayed August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank sunnyWorthing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

746 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    208
    316
    143
    58
    21
See reviews for
643
19
2
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We've been here 3 times now with Keycamp. The keycamp pitches are far enough away from the noise of the disco etc but close enough to pools etc. Also the keycamp pitches are crammed in like some of the other, although there are some pitches that are better than others. The site has great amenities, it's got the best of both worlds with the pool complex and the lake/beach. The pool complex is great, especially with the new log flumes. The beach is sandy and the lake is very shallow for about 100 metres, which is ideal for the children. There are cycle tracks just outside the campsite too that go through the forest to the north and south of the lake.
All in all agreat campsite

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lynn G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerry, Ireland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 September 2013

We stayed with Thompson Alfresco for 12 days at the end of June. We have stayed on campsites many times in France, so the following are our observations. Mobiles with Thompsons seemed more spacious and have better pitch size than Keycamp who we usually go with. The Rep Karen was a breath of fresh air for her local knowledge and general handywoman capabilities as well as keeping in touch with us on a daily basis. With didn't have any dealings with reception but found staff in the shops, bar and takeaway very friendly even if they are quite slow. Location is excellent, 40 mins Bordeaux and other excursions activites less than hour drive. Lots of good supermarkets, E-Leclerc, Intermarche and Lidl. Lovely seafood restaurants in Arcachon and Biscarosse. Beautiful beaches for sunbathing and sandcastles nearby but strong currents. Evening entertainment geared at the french but every effort is made to include by animation team. Nice playground and arcade is a meeting place for teenagers in the evenings. What is the best kept secret has to be the wonderful pool facilities, there is somethign for everyone, and the new waterpark you would pay to visit on any other holiday. The heated lazy river and wave pool offered indoor options on cooler days. Yes there weren't enough seats and no umbrellas and lots of rules but it was bloody brilliant!!!! We didn't even go to the lakeside beach which had lots of hire opportunities and friends raved about, we could not tear our 8 year old away from the pools and all the friends he made. My problem now is where am i going to book next year that can keep him happy after all that!!!!!

Room Tip: Check a site location map if possible before booking to get an idea of pitch location and size. Som...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrspickup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al_Fresco_11, Al Fresco Holidays at Camping La Rive, responded to this review, 15 October 2013
Thank you for such a lovely review.

It's fantastic to see you thoroughly enjoyed your stay on La Rive - it sounds like you had a great time at the swimming pool.

Thank you for your kind comments regarding Karen - I'll make sure they get passed to the manager for the region.

We do hope to see you again - possibly on La Rive again!

Many thanks, the Al Fresco team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2013

We arrived at La Rive after a long 8 hour journey from Roscoff, which was bad timing on our part as it was 1130pm when we arrived (but we will know for next year). Even though reception was closed etc the security guy had all our details and showed us to our pitch despite this late arrival. Our pitch was J33 and more than spacious for a large family tent, gazebo and SUV car. We had an issue with our hook up, as the mains was quite far from our pitch, however the electrician was kind enough to make us an extension so this was sorted within 30 mins at no extra charge. Be aware to make sure you have at least 20 meters of hook up. We also requested a pitch near the facilities and this was perfect. It does get quite cold at night, although 27 degrees in the day it dropped right down in the night, so take extra warmth if you are in a tent.

Pool is fabulous especially if you have children between 3-16. Sunbeds are very sparse, which was not really a problem for us but I can see this would be for some families. The shower/toilet blocks are very clean (remember your toilet roll though!) We only ate at the takeaway once which was very nice. The chips are ideal if you are cooking yourself and just want to add these on your meal. We didn't really go to the entertainment as our son is 14, but we did sit outside in the bar and all the children seemed to love it. The arcade area was really good and the little waffle/ice cream hut in there was fab! highly recommend you have their waffles and ice cream before you leave. The shops onsite have everything you need, the fresh bread and croissants are good value too, although Lidl is literally five minutes down the road and very reasonable. We hired a fridge which was 10 euros a day but it was a godsend as it was very hot so there was no other way of keeping things cold. The hire shop is brilliant and fairly cheap.

Biscarosse plage is about 20 minutes with a gorgeous beach and loads of bars/shops and restaurants, well worth a visit. The eurocamp/keycamp/thomson information caravans are open all the time , so if you want some local information or things to then go and have a browse through their endless information. We went on the canoe trip which we booked through the hire ship its 20 euros each and worth every penny. The beach which is on the site is lovely with water sports, really cheap to do and the lake is very safe as its shallow.

This site is brilliant for kids without a doubt, from about 8am there are little ones scootering /cycling around the camp, which I think is brilliant as holidays are about kids having fun. If you want a quite site then don't go here but if you want a fun holiday with the option to do things out of the site then this is fantastic. The reception staff was lovely , even got a bottle of wine on departure to thank us for staying. I would also say if you do have any requests email the site before you arrive, they are more than accommodating to any requests.

Brilliant x

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank vicky d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

It is ranked as a "five stars" resort so we expected everything to be at the top level. The resort is not big which is definitely a plus. The camping houses (we had Key West lunge) were very modern, nicely designed, well equipped and definitely the best quality (non-air con). I was a bit irritated however with the careful inventory of equipment (every, single small spoon was named and counted) at the beginning and the end of our stay. Considering the price that we paid, this should not have taken place. The pool area very attractive for the kids with fantastic slides. SPA small but with excellent staff and service. However, there was no single umbrella at the pool and although we went in the last week of August it was very difficult even to find a place for a towel. Nice lake and the beach with just enough space, there as no problem either to rent a boat or kayak. The safety however is an issue as the resort is easily accessible to everybody (no guards). Our scooter was stolen and the staff did not even know how to proceed with this case - we had to go to the reception several times and ask for a written report. The restaurant (the only one) is very average (although the staff tried very hard...) but we had to wait for 90 minutes to get the main course! Fast food area had also a very slow service - 20 minutes waiting on average for a sandwich with few people waiting only which was really annoying. There is a supermarket open from 8 to 20 with fresh bread all day but the variety of articles very limited, especially fruit and vegetables. To sum up, although camping houses were great and we could enjoy more privacy than usual, it is definitely not a five stars resort.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AlicjafromLausanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
france
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Hi. we went to La Rive camping resort at the end of August 2013 for 2 weeks. with our 5 and 7 year old.
was impressed by the reception and the way they handled our arrival...... the pitch was very clean and had big bushes and trees for shade. we were opposite the large indoor pool and close to the 'main square' as we called it. we had a comfort pitch so was bigger than a normal pitch. with water.
the pools were excellent!! very clean . great outside pool for adults to have a good swim. indoor pool was brilliant with a chanel you swim around islands. and a wave pool which went on every 20 mins then was turned off.
the new water park was great lots of slides in different age groups. water jets, waterfalls, and the best was the huge bucket on the top that every 8 mins filled and tipped at least 200 gallons of water on the people below!!! kids loved that. there were also 4 fast slides in another part of the pool. plus 2 kids pools for toddlers that were very safe and lots for them to do...... slides.... waterfalls, bucketrs to tip etc etc. the hardest part would be getting them to leave.
the pool was VERY VERY busy after 2!!! actually too busy for me. don't bank on getting a chair to sit on...... most people put towels on the floor or the wood decking.
the toilets were constantly being cleaned..... which got annoying after a while!!!! theres no loo seats and BRING YOUR OWN PAPER!!! Which I was angry about specially the price we paid to stay!!
the entertainment was good, every night something on...... only downside was it was the same people doing the entertainment. and the PA system made it hard to understand the French and English!!! (they do try to translate sometimes). kids disco every night and the kids club every day mon to fri. for 2 hours. second week my kids were bored with it as everything got a bit samey!!
beach was excellent. but water in the lake is WARM. so was not refreshing. but doesn't get deep either for at least 500 feet or more.
food....... reasturant was good reasonable prices. take away was very slow service but offered sandwiches and pizzas.
campsite at night was noisy with music until 1am then it got quiet. no loud people or cars moving. but be warned...... if you stay near the indoor pool...... theres a VERY LOUD fan system that comes on every half hour right through the night!!!
staff, very friendly..... some spoke English.
enjoyed our stay. would go again but just a week. as second week it all was the same!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lisa m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yeovil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We drove from Caen directly to the campsite and it took 7 hours with 1 stop, and about €53 in tolls (peage) one way. We stayed with Keycamp in a 2 bed mobile home with decking area. We took our own bed linen and towels, but you can hire these from the company. Remember to take t-towels and shower mat if you're going to take your own. There are blankets for each bed, and it does get cold at night even with temperatures during the day of 30 degrees. We had our own gas barbeque (best meat can be bought at Lidl in Biscarrosse). Keycamp and Eurocamp homes are grouped together so we were in a group of about 10 homes with all English families - great for our kids aged 11 and 7 to play out safely with their new friends. And they could play safely, never had any problems with cars. We hired bikes for 1 adult and 2 juniors for €100 for 5 days, and there are many easy cycle routes around the area. We were within 5 minutes walk to the pool, but never had any noise issues. The site has a "quiet after 11pm" rule. The pool complex is fantastic. We got there at 10am when the slides opened, and always got 2 loungers. The kids went off on the slides for hours and as parents we felt they were very secure. The lifeguards were always present and watchful, we never saw any problem with towels being moved. The lake is also great. We hired a pedalo, and my husband did the paddle board. There were plenty of options for watersports, and the lake itself is very safe for swimming and the kids could play in the sand as if they were at the seaside. There is an area on the beach near the hire centre with loungers and parasols that are free to use. You can buy Wifi at 3 hour, 6 hour, 1 week or 2 week passes. With the 3 and 6 hours you can log on and off. We bought a 6 hour pass for €15 and checked emails, etc for 30 minutes per day and it lasted for our 10 day stay.The beach at Biscarrosse is stunning, very long with soft sand, and plenty of lifeguards. They put the flags out to show where swimming is safe. A lagoon forms on the beach which has small waves and doesn't get too deep for safer swimming. Biscarrosse is a typical seaside town with gift shops, ice cream shops, plenty of restaurants - the local speciality is mussels. Parking is free, but gets hard to find a space after 5pm, earlier in the day was fine. We didn't use the kids club so cant comment. We tried the restaurant once, and found that you should reserve in advance. We turned up at 8pm with plenty of spare tables only to be told they were all reserved. After much chat with the waiter we were given a table. Food was OK. The supermarket at Biscarrosse is huge, but gets very busy after 6pm. We used the onsite shop for basics, and its is open 8am - 8pm. We took trips to Arcachon (great town for shopping and also has beaches), to Dune de Pilat (biggest sand dune in Europe and a real wow factor), and took the kids to the Go Ape - type tree climbing, zip wires through the trees on the way in to Biscarrosse (safety slightly lacking, but kids thoroughly enjoyed it). Having been with Keycamp to 3 different French campsites, this one is our favourite.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank katywatkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Biscarrosse
3.7 mi away
Pierre & Vacances Residence Le Domaine de Gascogne
7.9 mi away
Les Cottages du Lac
Les Cottages du Lac
#1 of 4 in Parentis-en-Born
254 reviews
10.4 mi away
La Co(o)rniche
La Co(o)rniche
#1 of 3 in Pyla-sur-Mer
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
Grand Hotel de la Plage
Grand Hotel de la Plage
#5 of 10 in Biscarrosse
206 reviews
3.5 mi away
Domaine Les Oreades
Domaine Les Oreades
#1 of 9 in Sanguinet
94 reviews
19.1 mi away
Camping Airotel Les Viviers
Camping Airotel Les Viviers
#6 of 11 in Lege-Cap-Ferret
811 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Camping La Rive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Camping La Rive

Property: Camping La Rive
Address: 6523 Route de Bordeaux | 6523 Route de Bordeaux, 40600 Biscarrosse, France
Region: France > Nouvelle-Aquitaine > Landes > Biscarrosse
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 19 Speciality Lodging in Biscarrosse
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Camping La Rive 5*
Number of rooms: 800
Also Known As:
Camping La Rive Hotel Biscarrosse

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing