We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice gîte”

Auberge du Col de Bavella
Ranked #4 of 45 Restaurants in Zonza
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: French, Delicatessen
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Kids, Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: At the heart of the Alta Rocca (Corsica), the Auberge du Col de Bavella offers traditional Corsican cuisine, charcuterie and pastries.Our sun terrace offers you a breathtaking view of the Needles Bavella.Conveniently located near many attractions and landmarks recognized, our gite GR-20 will welcome you warmly withcomfort and island hospitality.----------------------------Au coeur de l’Alta Rocca (Corse du Sud), l’Auberge du Col de Bavella vous propose sa cuisine corse traditionnelle, charcuterie et pâtisserie maison.Notre terrasse ensoleillée vous offrira une vue imprenable sur les Aiguilles de Bavella.Idéalement situé à proximité de nombreuses curiosités et points d’interêts reconnus, notre gîte d’étape GR-20 saura vous accueillir chaleureusement avec tout le confort et l’hospitalité insulaire.
Nethy Bridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A very nice gîte”
Reviewed 20 July 2014 via mobile

A great place to stay if you're walking the GR20....or even if you're not.
Friendly service, stunning location and the Demi pension option offers excellent value. I'm not sure if they have private rooms, but the bunk rooms are clean and quiet and the showers are excellent. Cooking facilities as well if you feel the need.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Nethyman2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

351 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    123
    173
    37
    13
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Ups and Downs”
Reviewed 14 October 2013

The setting is lovely -- right on a major hiking trail in the forested mountains of central Corsica. Fortunately we arrived about 12:15 for lunch, just ahead of two busloads of tourists, and our service was very good. As the tourists were French they were well behaved and not too noisy! My husband's lamb (carré d'agneau) was excellent, while my soup, one of their house specialties was very heavy on potatoes. I decided to spoil myself with dessert -- moelleux au chocolat -- trés bien!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
376 reviews
151 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“Good home-style cooking”
Reviewed 10 October 2013

This is the best choice for dining in the area; there are not many places to eat in Zonza, the area that holds many of the trail heads into the Bavellas. The auberge serves good home-style meals rather than fine cuisine. We had a veal stew over penne pasta and a pork ragout. Both were tasty.

There is an indoor dining room as well as an outdoor terrace.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJB1165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“restaurant ok, hostel not that much..”
Reviewed 14 August 2013

5 stars for the location right next to all the nature trails so that was great. The quality of the food i thought was good, traditional corsican cuisine.
The service so and so because they were insisting on having us order more things than what we wanted and didn't explain very well what was included in the fixed menu.
This is a detail, but the water will cost you 4 euros the minute you sit down and this is something nobody thinks about -there is a fountain right outside with fresh, free mountain water for everyone to enjoy!
However the price/quality ratio I would say was good.
The PROBLEM was mostly the hostel. Pretty stupid to choose to sleep in a hostel that first of all does not provide any linen/blankets/towels- and what should a non-summer traveler do in that occasion? it was kind of chilly also in July.
2nd, as soon as you enter there is a terrible toilet leak smell in the corridors when 2 meters outside there is the unique wonderful smell of pine trees and nature!!!!!!! we could have camped instead with much less money too!
if i could rate the hostel and the restaurant separately i would give much lower ratings to the hostel

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rena Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great vegetarian options”
Reviewed 12 August 2013

Although we entered the restaurant very late in the afternoon, the staff was very friendly and helpfull. I had some great bavella cheese lasagna a nice dessert and the atmosphere was nice.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank m q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Auberge du Col de Bavella also viewed

 
Zonza, Corse-du-Sud
 

Been to Auberge du Col de Bavella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing