We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good value hotel, disappointing meal”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“good value hotel, disappointing meal”
Reviewed 29 June 2013

we had a great welcome arriving in afternoon. Near canal, stored our bikes safely. Nice room. Beware Thurs night when they empty recycling bins right outside the hotel and we got woken by crashing noise at 5am! receptionist in the morning was more abrupt. Breakfast expensive at 8 euros each, and we had to argue to sit by window rather than in a dark corner.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lion38
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    26
    10
    10
    4
See reviews for
9
27
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We booked this hotel on-line purely because of its location.The rooms were quite small but clean but the restaurant provided one of our most memorable meals in this part of France. The staff were friendly and attentive and all four of us thoroughly enjoyed our choice of dinner...the kidneys (rognons) being a particular success.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ingrid H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 September 2012

Poor welcome. Stayed on the first floor, 70 Euro/night + 8 Euro breakfast each, Room 6. Very small room, unable to open wardrobe door fully due to the bed. Room decor is nice but no air con and no soundproofing. Shower is very small and I am a slim 5'4". Needed to keep window open all night - taxi rank directly outside below the window, so beware of even more noise. Breakfast in nice dining room was indifferent, croissant, bread and out of date yoghurt and orange juice. Again customer service was very poor. Bikes stored in restaurant cellar/garage across the road, you have to carry them down steep flight of stairs (after 6pm only). Checkout was handled well but would not stay again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank plinth1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castelnaudary hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

My wife and I had lunch here on three occasions during August and were served very good food on each occasion. Their veal kidneys were beautifully cooked and so was the breast of guinea fowl - nothing was over-cooked (and this can be a fault in many French restaurants). We sat on the terrace on each occasion and, with the crisp white tablecloths and charming waiters, we had a lovely time.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisLudlow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grassington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

During our recent holiday we ended up eating here once for lunch and twice for an event meal with friends. The variety on he menu was excellent but e high point for me was the kidneys. My wife had the guinea fowl and also the razor clam starter both of which were superb.
The staff were very good and attentive when needed.
I would have expected this restaurant to have been busier on one of the evenings but maybe the threat of storms was to blame.
If you are in Castelnaudary give this place a go.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank kevin p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2012

We stayed here for 2 nights recently, and while it is not directly on the canal du midi, it is very close.

The hotel doesn't have an elevator, but this seems to be common in Castelnaudary. There is no air conditioning, but it wasn't a problem for us, as we just left the windows open & caught the cool breeze. The rooms have recently been renovated & modernised. The shower is wonderful, but the cubicle is a bit small. There was plenty of hot water.

We ate the first night in the restaurant below, and the food & wine was excellent. The waiter spoke very good English & was most helpful. I had the breakfast, and while it is only pastries, bread, etc., it was quite enough for me. (I enjoy the French breakfasts!) The croissants, pain & pain au chocolat were fresh & delicious.

There was a lounge area on the first floor, which is good if you want to relax out of your room. The young women on reception & in the restaurant were friendly & helpful. We were very happy that we stayed here.

Room Tip: First floor is better if you cannot manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CathyOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint-Nom-la-Breteche, France
Level Contributor
660 reviews
143 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2012

We came to Castelnaudary hungry and needing to eat but not realising it was a Bank Holiday weekend so our 1st 2nd and 3rd choice restaurants were shut . We were delighted to find somewhere that was open and went in not with any great expectations but what a pleasant surprise! Great food , pleasant efficient service and well priced - what more to say!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JANDDBritinParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnaudary
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Canal
Hotel du Canal
#3 of 6 in Castelnaudary
193 reviews
1.1 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
126 reviews
1.8 mi away
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
#2 of 6 in Castelnaudary
260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Maison du Cassoulet
Maison du Cassoulet
#6 of 6 in Castelnaudary
41 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 6 in Castelnaudary
91 reviews
14.4 mi away
Auberge du Balestie
Auberge du Balestie
#1 of 1 in Malegoude
140 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais

Property: Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Address: 31 cours de la Republique, 11400 Castelnaudary, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Castelnaudary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK) and HRS so you can book your Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing