We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Appauling” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel de France

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel de France
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Appauling”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2011

I can only say that the experience here was expensive and appalling

I would not recommend this to anybody and would suggest that this establishment be taken out of the tour guide.

Run down, shabby, poor service, unhelpful staff and at a price!

Of all the wonderful places we have eaten in France, and the wonderful hospitality of the French people, this was a disgrace.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the hotel, we only used the restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CRM007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    29
    21
    12
    9
See reviews for
16
35
3
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2011

The only reason one goes to Castelnaudary is for the famous cassoulet and I am afraid that this one was up to my expectations. The hotel was somewhat run down, bt it is an old building. I do not that I would want to stay there but I was there for the meal, which was recommended by guide book. This was very ordinary and I would not go back. The service was good but not what we read about in the article recommending it, therefore I would not go out of my way to get there especially if you are on your way to Carcassone as there many good restaurants in that city.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sanfordhb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leysin, Switzerland
Level Contributor
150 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2011

We stayed here during a bicycle trip along the canals. The hotel is run-down and dirty, with dead pigeons stuck in chicken wire above the garage. There were even rats in the walls. The staff were unfriendly and the breakfast was dismal. I am not just another american who doesn't "get" France, I lived there and I speak French. This hotel is a must to avoid. However, the cassoulet at their restaurant was excellent!

Room Tip: Go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AckExpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Castelnaudary hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2010

This was the second time I have stayed here and I had the same experience. very old dirty rooms that i desperate need of an upgrade. It was three star and has been reduced to two star. Justified.

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BeenthereBerlin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 December 2009

This hotel is excellent value, it has comfortable rooms and a good restaurant specializing in the dish that the area is famous for, cassoulet. The hotel is very inexpensive for what you get and the service is excellent with really friendly staff only to happy to accommodate unusual requests. It was a real pleasure to stay here, the staff's helpful and friendly attitude had a lot to do with it. If you're looking for comfortable lodging that's inexpensive in a good location in Castelnaudary, look no further, the Hotel de France really is excellent value. I would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bozlogjam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lot-et-Garonne
Level Contributor
394 reviews
87 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 245 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

In our view this hotel falls below its 3-star rating and doesn't meet the standard of 'Logis de France'. Our room was dingy and cramped - the bed extremely uncomfortable and our friends in the next-door room felt the same. Maintenance was poor; an inoperative toilet fan, and collapsed shower hose that was capable of inflicting lacerations showed that either no-one reported defects or no-one did anything about them. Entry foyer carpets dirty. Inadequate lighting in corridors was dangerous due to varying floor levels. This place could be a lot better than it is, if someone took an interest.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterFrance
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnaudary
0.4 mi away
Hotel du Canal
Hotel du Canal
#3 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
2.0 mi away
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
#2 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
#4 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
0.2 mi away
Maison du Cassoulet
Maison du Cassoulet
#6 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
12.9 mi away
Hotel Restaurant du Lauragais
Hotel Restaurant du Lauragais
#1 of 1 in Villefranche-de-Lauragais
4.0 of 5 bubbles 61 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel de France

Property: Hotel de France
Address: 2 avenue Frederic Mistral, 11400 Castelnaudary, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Castelnaudary
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel de France 2*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK) and Priceline so you can book your Hotel de France reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing