We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good location” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel du Canal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel du Canal
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
53 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Good location”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014 via mobile

Friendly and functional rather than a great french experience, but I'd happily recommend it for an overnight stay in this pleasant small town. You can see the canal even from the ground floor which made it very easy to find at the end of a long day biking.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank yeosteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    25
    105
    40
    9
    4
See reviews for
37
90
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Twickenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We were booked in here by our cycling tour operator. It doesn't look great when you arrive, more like a motel than a hotel, but our room was in the main building. It is well located by the Canal du Midi, visible even from our ground floor room. The room was very small and somewhat 'tired' in appearance and facilities - it needs renovating. Not a French character hotel that we had expected I don't know what it cost as it was part of a package - probably not much!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warm Springs, Virginia, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 April 2014

We have stayed at this hotel several times, usually when we've attended the Fete de Cassoulet in August. We have always requested a room on the upper floor overlooking the Canal du Midi. The rooms are simple but immaculately clean and quite adequate. I take a small battery operated fan when I travel in rural southern France in the summer as often there is no AC. The staff are all very lovely and gracious. The breakfast is fine. If you are attending the Fete de Cassoulet (which is a lot of fun) you just have a short walk across the bridge to the center of Castelnaudary. You can watch the locals playing boules on the court just next to the hotel - or play a game yourself. It is a very agreeable experience and we love the place. You can always check into a five star on another leg of your trip but this is the true Languedoc.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the upper level overlooking the Canal du Midi. If you go for the Fete de Cassoule...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank toulouse531
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2014

To be honest I was disappointed in the room, it was small, lino on the floor and it needed a good clean and a bit of paint on the doors etc which were not as clean as they could be. It felt like a "Budget chain" hotel which I wasn't expecting. There was no kettle in the room BUT the very helpful lady on the desk produced a lovely pot of tea with a smile. The staff were great, speaking French and English. Breakfast is good and served in a lovely room overlooking the canal so that is a positive. The location is good, we had a lovely walk around the Basin at dusk and ate by the side of the canal in La Chaloupe which we felt was value for money.

Room Tip: Ask for one overlooking the canal, otherwise it can feel a bit shut in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cliveess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clutton
Level Contributor
295 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Great value, excellent location. Free secure parking, free wifi with a strong signal, clean, friendly and only a 3-4 minutes walk into town. Right on the canal so very quiet and nice outlook from canal side rooms.

Room Tip: Ask for canal side
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pammie56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2013

We booked two nights at this hotel on our route home from a holiday down on the coast with a view to exploring the Canal du Midi.
What a delight! The room was comfortable (overlooking the canal), staff extremely helpful and friendly and the breakfasts were excellent for a hotel of this rating. It was also extremely well positioned for the town centre but easily found from the motorway.
Bicycles were available for us to use (free of charge!) and we spend a very enjoyable day along the banks of the canal.
Very good value and would happily stay again as well as recommend it as a peaceful stop-over or a good base for exploring surrounding area.

Room Tip: Rooms on the canal side are darker but have more to sit and watch!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Marjorie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Armadale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2013

We booked a single night at this hotel primarily for its proximity to the LeBoat canal boat hire base in Castelnaudary, France. But it exceeded expectations. We'd needed a single night to bridge the gap of arriving from UK by plane to Toulouse, then train to Castelnaudary. The hoyel was very close from rail station, no problem to walk it, even with all our luggage for a 2 week canalboat stay, and also close to shops to get provisions, and then to the boat base to collect our boat. The hotel is right on the canal, so we left our bags at the hotel and brought the boat to the hotel for the luggage. A small supermarket is easy walking distance from the hotel, up the main street.
Breakfast at the hotel was good, typical French, but good food and good service. There were obviously others doing similarly to us. We booked by internet - no problem and a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Canalside rooms have some view of the canal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Geoff C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castelnaudary
1.2 mi away
Clos Fleuri
Clos Fleuri
#1 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.5 of 5 bubbles 107 reviews
1.6 mi away
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
Ibis Budget Castelnaudary
#2 of 6 in Castelnaudary
4.0 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
Hotel du Centre et du Lauragais
#4 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Maison du Cassoulet
Maison du Cassoulet
#6 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel de France
Hotel de France
#5 of 6 in Castelnaudary
3.0 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
4.5 mi away
Peniche Kapadokya
Peniche Kapadokya
#1 of 1 in Mas-Saintes-Puelles
4.5 of 5 bubbles 13 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel du Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel du Canal

Property: Hotel du Canal
Address: 88 avenue Arnaut Vidal, 11400 Castelnaudary, France
Region: France > Occitanie > Aude > Castelnaudary
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Castelnaudary
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel du Canal 2*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the edge of the Canal du Midi, the site classified in the Heritage of the UNESCO, close to the center of Castelnaudary, the capital of the cassoulet, this big bright and friendly house of character with its 38 single or family rooms, among which two can welcome persons with reduced mobility.Breakfast served in room, in terrace or in room.Private parking lot, individual garages, bicycles garage and possibility of mooring along the Canal du Midi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Priceline so you can book your Hotel du Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing