We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Well Worth It”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Chateau de la Barre
GreenLeadersGold level
1 review
“Well Worth It”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

My stay at Chateau de la Barre was absolutely wonderful. Guy and Marnie, the count and countess, were very warm and welcoming. My room was beautifully decorated in the style of the period, having most of the original furnishings, yet without being overly ornate. The bed was extremely comfortable and I had no problems sleeping. To add to all that charm, the view from my window was idyllic. Marnie, an amazing cook, prepared delicious meals effortlessly, and Guy was a walking wine encyclopedia. The 100-acre property offered opportunities for long walks through nature to refresh and calm the soul. . The hosts have managed to give their guests the experience of a true castle combined with the feeling of being comfortable in your own home. I look forward to returning and bringing more people with me.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    142
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
99
11
5
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Staying in a Chateau owned by the family of a Count and Countess for 600 years sounded like a once in a lifetime experience: but now we've been there we would love to go again. From the moment we booked and received an email from Guy welcoming us and offering tips on our trip to the Chateau, we knew we had found something very special. Marnie and Guy's gracious welcome and the ambience of the historic Chateau were just the beginning. Guy, a charming raconteur, explained the history and culture of the area as he guided us through his home. Marnie provided delicious food, and detailed daily trip itineraries to Loire chateaux and gardens, including dinner bookings on our way home. Guy told us about terroir and how important it is to complement food with wine from the same soil. Marnie taught us about what to see and do. On 2 of the 4 evenings we ate at the Chateau - once experiencing the Grand Siècle dinner in the formal dining room and drawing room ; and once a relaxed charcuterie in the billiard room where centuries ago everyone would have lived. There is a renaissance feel about the hospitality here : travellers and hosts sharing their interesting experiences and insights. We met some fascinating people. Our room, the Suite aux Fleurs, was absolutely charming with a stunning bathroom in the watchtower overlooking the old fortifications and family chapel. We cannot recommend Chateau de la Barre enough. As Guy would say " your mission, if you choose to accept it" !

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ros W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kelsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

One would have to go a very long way to match the Chateau de la Barre vacation experience. Proprietors Guy and Marnie are committed to sharing all that is wonderful and beautiful about the Loire Valley and have extensive knowledge of the rich history and numerous amenities of the environs. They have thoughtfully and lovingly restored this historic property and created rooms that are sumptuous and luxurious. I enjoyed a wonderful breakfast with them while planning the day's activities, and later on, a divine dinner!

If setting is important to you, this is the place. The chateau is situated conveniently between Chartres and Tours, and is an amazingly quick ride on the modern TGV train from Paris - 43 minutes to Vendôme. But more importantly, one finds oneself at Chateau de la Barre, in the midst of peaceful romantic gardens, in the heart of all that is Loire.

If wine is important to you, this is the place. Viticulture has played an important role for centuries in this region, and the diversity of fine wines will enthral you. Take a vineyard tour or simply enjoy regional specialties with a meal overlooking the valley.

If history is important to you, this is the place. A quiet retreat in the midst of the legacy of the Kings of France and today a Unesco World Heritage site. Chenonceau, Amboise, Chambord, Blois......the dramatic love triangle between Catherine de Medici, Henry II and Diane de Poitiers is palpable, as are the poignant final days of Leonardo da Vinci in Clos Lucé , where Francis I installed the Italian artist.

If gardens are important to you, this is the place. Chateau de la Barre is set in magnificent grounds - 100 acres of enchanted gardens, ponds, paths and meadows. Known throughout the world for their splendour and beauty, the gardens of the Loire serve as inspiration for all. Le Jardin du Petit Bordeaux, the Garden of Sasnieres, the National Forrest Park of Bercé, Valmer, la Possonnière and the renowned Villandry may all take your breath away. A 3-day, "Gardens of the Loire Valley" tour can be arranged.

If classic cars are important to you, this is the place. Imagine driving in your own unique convertible, along country roads, visiting vineyards, castles and stopping for a cool glass of Loire wine. Guy can set you up!

If people are important to you, this is the place. Guy and Marnie take the time to personalize your experience and ensure the success of your holiday. They work tirelessly to ensure your comfort and to help you prioritize your time. They are interesting and genuine people, and it is most likely you will leave having made new friends.

My time at Chateau de la Barre was special and unforgettable. For me, it was all that a holiday could be.

Thanks, Marnie and Guy!

Room Tip: You can't go wrong!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 15Katie15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nipomo
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

Staying here is like going back in time. This beautiful family owned chateau with original furnishings was a special four days for my wife and I. Guy and Marnie were gracious hosts, helpful with suggestions of places to visit along with maps and directions. Be sure to accept their invitation to dinner. The food and wine parings were perfect and Guy has a wine list to die for. Mornings started with a delicious breakfast and you might get to visit with Kakoo, a colorful Blue and Gold Macaw. On our last night we had a picnic, with a Montrachet, overlooking the garden and enjoying the setting sun.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank John F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Mateo, California
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

If you are in the Loire Valley this is the place to stay. The chateau is located in a beautiful country side about in hour and some minutes from Le Mans but much closer to Tours.. Marnie and Guy are the perfect hosts. They are an authority in the history of the region, so if you are in to history they are a great resource. The rooms are very well appointed, we stayed in the Green a Room on the second floor, loved it, very spacious, lots of storage: dressers with lots of drawers. The bathroom was also nice and comfortable. The the daily breakfast was good, fresh fruit, cereal and upon request scrambled eggs and espresso coffee. The diners were delicious, specially the formal dinner in the grand dining room of the chateau. We loved dressing up( optional) the menu and the wines and Guy's musings about the history of his family, they have owned the chateau for 400 years, made it a very enjoyable evening.
Would my wife and I go back?:at a drop of hat. Would we recommend it: whole heartily !

Room Tip: Each room has its own charm and personality.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hcastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014

First the Chateau: It is beautiful, rich with history and the rooms are exceptional like all the other reviewers said. I paid an entrance fee to see places that were less nice to see! All the rooms are spacious, beautiful and have Hermes toiletries. Going for a walk on the property is also definitely a pleasurable experience. You will not be disappointed with your accommodation, so don’t worry about that.
Now for the real reason for this review - The hosts.
When we arrived, we felt like we were visiting old friends. We were warmly welcomed just like one would expect from a place like this. We were given a tour of the property on request which was very nice.
What we didn’t expect is how genuinely friendly and pleasant our host were. We returned to the Chateau de la Barre after a very unpleasant experience at a restaurant and shared it with our hosts. They were as supportive as the best family would be and had us feeling better within a couple of minutes. The experience was something that might have put quite a damper on our holiday, but thanks to our hosts we were all laughing again a little while later whilst enjoying a nice bottle of French red wine. Guy’s home-made “medicine” may also have helped some… ;-)
Not only did they turn a nasty experience into a nice story to tell, but Marnie also made sure the experience didn’t repeat itself. She phoned and made a booking at a restaurant in the town we would be staying the next evening and we had a very nice meal there.
Thank you Guy and Marnie, we will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BramenKaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Many reviews of a positive experience will often repeat the comments of others. I have such a wonderful memory of Chateau de la Barre that I hope I can leave a review that will want others to experience what I have, at this impressive Chateau and its gardens.
It goes without saying that Comte & Comtesse de Vanssay (Guy & Marnie) owners and hosts of the Chateau are proud of their home and want others to enjoy the experience of absorbing yourself into the history of the Chateau and their family name. From the moment you meander through the grounds down the driveway and catch your first glimce of the Chateau your face lights up, a cheeky little smile appears on your face and you realise that you made a great choice. For me I realised I had got things right as I felt the tension in my wife's hand which she had placed on top of mine and then seeing the glaze of her eyes and a smile that mimiced my own. 5 days later we left to continue our holiday through France and could not stop thinking about Chateau de la Barre, Guy & Marnie and the local area. So much so we change our plans and returned to finish our honeymoon at the place were our married life began. You will be very happy if you have your own memory of Chateau de la Barre to tell. 'Luxury is a matter of money, elegance is a question of education'

Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Chilton O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Conflans-sur-Anille
17.3 mi away
Logis de France Hotel
Logis de France Hotel
#1 of 1 in La Chartre-sur-le-Loir
213 reviews
21.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PREMIER Le Mans Country Club
11.7 mi away
Logis Le Saint Jacques
Logis Le Saint Jacques
#1 of 1 in Thorigne Sur Due
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.2 mi away
La Pommeraie
La Pommeraie
#8 of 41 in Le Mans
156 reviews
2.2 mi away
Pressoir Hotel
Pressoir Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint-Calais
18 reviews
20.8 mi away
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
Auberge Relais du Cheval Blanc
#1 of 1 in Beaumont Pied De Boeuf
84 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chateau de la Barre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chateau de la Barre

Property: Chateau de la Barre
Address: Chateau de la Barre, 72120 Conflans-sur-Anille, France
Phone Number:
Region: France > Pays de la Loire > Sarthe > Conflans-sur-Anille
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Conflans-sur-Anille
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4 star — Chateau de la Barre 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the same family since more than 610 years,Chateau de la Barre is more than a luxury accommodation, it is an experience of the gracious hospitality of French aristocracy. All the rooms are replete with precious XVIIIth century antiques and designer fabrics. Twice a week, a prestigeous dinner is hosted in the XVIIth century dining room, on other nights, it is possible to have a romantic supper in the dining room. Rent a car at CDG airport or take the fast speed TGV train directly to Le Mans or Vendome and rent a car there. Alternatively enquire about having our chauffeur pick you up and be your guide. It is also possible to rent a convertible classic car for your stay. Your hosts, Guy and Marnie de Vanssay, will be pleased to arrange customized stays for you, including visits of top wineries of the Loire (Cabernet Franc reds and Chenin whites, such as Chinon, Bourgueil, Vouvray and Jasnieres), sightseeing from the famous Loire Valley castles to fortified manor houses, medieval towns and picturesque villages, and farmer's markets. For the activity seeking, kayaking, cycling, hiking, hot air ballooning or why not drive a race car around the mythical Le Mans track? ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Chateau de la Barre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chateau De La Barre Hotel Conflans-Sur-Anille
Chateau De La Barre France/Conflans-Sur-Anille

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing