We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“holiday 2014”
Review of Hotel Ammos

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Polichrono
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Hotel Ammos
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 August 2014

Hotel clean and tidy. Christina, vangelis and all the staff very helpful. Dont however get a room at the back because the locals talk and laugh well into the early hours. I know its local custom but they are very loud. Kitchen facilities basic, take a small pan! Food in polichrono itself nowhere nearas good as it used to be. We have been 8 times in last 10 years, always eat local dishes, but its not a patch on what it was. And the beaches now are so busy!! Overall apartments fine (apart from hill up from beach), pool fine but town and food itself has got worse over the years.

Room Tip: Get a room not overlooking the main road at back (north facing balconies).
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank phil s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was our first trip to Greece and we were certainly not disappointed. The hotel is very clean and well situated, while the rooms are both spacious and cleaned regularly. Christina and Vangelis were both extremely friendly and made sure our stay went smoothly. They even provided us with some bread to feed to the turtles at Lake Mavrobara. George the barman was also very friendly and chatty. The hotel is located at the top of a fairly steep hill, which while not a problem for us could be for some. Air conditioning (an additional cost of €6 a night) would be recommended, although we managed without it with the balcony door open at night.

Food at the Ammos is good for breakfast or a snack: they even have a go at an English Breakfast! It is however relatively expensive when compared to the copious number of restaurants in the village, a 2 minute walk from the hotel. The most expensive meal we had came in at just over €30, with both of us having a drink and main meal, although most nights we spent a shade over €20 and practically rolled back to the hotel. Portions are hearty and most restaurants have extensive menus. English is generally well spoken by most, although German is also well spoken. The village is bustling by night and the hotel also had a very chilled atmosphere in the evenings.

There are a relatively limited number of things to do and see close to the village, but it is possible to take boat trips and other excursions through either your tour operator or other firms in the town (we used Lemonia Tours). The beach is fairly full during the day, but you do not have to walk far to get away from the crowds and the water is perfectly clear and very refreshing in the heat of Greece. Snorkelling is something I would recommend. The pool area at the Ammos is also a good place to relax and there are plenty of sunbeds for all. Lake Mavrobara is worth a visit, although it is accessed by hiking into the mountains so an early start is recommended unless you wish to fry.

My one criticism of the Ammos would be that there is a very limited supply of cooking utensils in the kitchen area of the rooms, although this is not an enormous problem if you go out each night. The lack of corkscrew did however cause some issues when we bought a corked bottle of wine...

In summary, the hotel is functional, relaxing and friendly. Its not the Ritz, but its certainly does the job. Those with extravagant taste will be best off elsewhere, although even the locals agree the Ammos is the best hotel in the town. I would thoroughly recommend it, especially to young people or those looking to go to Greece without spending a fortune.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank PeteBart13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

had a great week with Christina and Vangelis at there small, compact,but perfectly formed hotel.hotel is spotless and the rooms are large and comfortable.pool area is a suntrap and there was never a shortage of sunloungers.George was always on hand to serve snacks and drinks.Polchrono has loads of minimarkets,bakeries and loads of good eating places and is only a short walk to its centre.One eating place that's a definite is the Cockney bar,where the portions are huge,the food is excellent and the bill is low.I had a huge mixed grill,dessert and drink for 10 euros[8pound roughly].eating out is really cheap.me and the family had a great week and would not hesitate to go back.

Room Tip: we had room number 201 which from the balcony you get a lovely view of the sea did not need to pay f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank keithmaycroft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

Such a lovely hotel in the perfect spot! We've recently returned from our stay at the Ammos hotel in Greece and there really isn't a thing bad to say about it. The rooms were spotless and cleaned everyday and also very spacious, every area in the hotel was spotless and the pool was always clean. There were enough sunbeds for everyone and no one felt like they were on top of each other as some went to the beach. All the guests got on well with each other, and Christina and vangelis couldn't do enough for you and of course George! The people working at the hotel always spoke to you and had a laugh. George was the bar man and is known for the size of his cocktails, he always had a laugh with you in the bar and him, Christina and vangelis made you feel welcome every day. The hotel had a good range of breakfasts and snacks at very reasonable prices that caters for everyone. The pool was fab and a perfect sun trap. The hotel was in an excellent spot, near to shops, supermarkets, bars/restaurants and a lovely bakery called bread and breakfast which was perfect for freshly made bread and patisseries. A slight hill down to the beach from the hotel but nothing too major or too far. Great places to eat especially the cockney restaurant which is about 5 minutes from the hotel and you MUST visit when you're here and also the garden restaurant a few stops down. Overall a fantastic holiday and we will be returning soon

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Abs586
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Well maintained spotlessly clean throughout and amazingly warm and friendly staff. Christina has a lovely personality and is very attentive and was happy to help with any queries we had. The rooms are very comfortable and spacious. The shower is on the small side but adequate and there was always hot water. Rooms cleaned well and our towels were changed every 2 days. About a 10 minute walk to the beach. The hill is quite gentle if you use the poolside entry to the hotel. The pool area is quite compact. Prepare to get splashed if there are children around. Halkidiki is a place to relax. There is not much to see in the way of culture. We did walk up to see Turtle Lake which was hard work in the heat and a little disappointing as it was much smaller than expected. Christina had given us some bread to feed to the turtles and that brought them out. Make sure you take some otherwise you may be left wondering where the turtles are! We had some great value meals. Flegra on the sea front was our favourite. (Green checked tablecloths, always very busy.) Their greek dishes were very tasty and the complimentary dessert of a crepe with banana ice cream and chocolate sauce was a bonus. We also liked the Cockney bar whose breakfasts and lunches were amazingly good value.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We had a lovely stay at Ammos. Christina can't do enough for you and is very welcoming and accommodating. The rooms are a fair size however basic. The towels were only changed once whilst there although it stated 3 times a week. Food was limited in the hotel, however there are plenty of places close to the hotel. As said before Christina, her hubby and George are more than willing to help with anything and despite it being a bit quiet for us we enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Robbog33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

We stayed at the Ammos Hotel in June, the apartment was clean and spacious. However, what really makes the holiday is Christina, Vangelis and of course George. All guests were very friendly, and we all seemed to return back at night the same time, so we used to pull a few chairs together and chat, which we found really refreshing, as usually we Brits aren't that friendly or maybe its just us!! I was a bit reluctant to add a review, as it's a real jewel in Polichrono's crown and want to keep it that way!! We couldn't stay away, so are going back in September for a cheeky week.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank 1Sued
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
0.3 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#1 of 9 in Polichrono
363 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Summer Dream
Hotel Summer Dream
#7 of 9 in Polichrono
13 reviews
0.3 mi away
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
Akrogiali Boutique Hotel
#3 of 9 in Polichrono
79 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#1 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
4.9 mi away
Art Boutique Hotel
Art Boutique Hotel
#5 of 18 in Pefkohori
111 reviews
2.9 mi away
Grecotel Pella Beach
Grecotel Pella Beach
#1 of 25 in Hanioti
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ammos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ammos

Address: Polichrono, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Number of rooms: 24
Also Known As:
Ammos Hotel Polichrono
Hotel Ammos Polichrono, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing