We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly place”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Royal Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 10 October 2011

October 2011
The Hotel:
We were in room 202 in the oldest block of the hotel, looking directly over the pool area. The rooms were kept very clean, ours being cleaned every day except Tuesday, the cleaners day off. We had fresh towels every 3 days, and clean sheets once a week. The bathroom and kitchen area was cleaned every day. The bins were also emptied every day. No faults there at all. The bathroom had a shower, wash basin and toilet. The shower would never stay on the same temperature, one second it would be warm, the next, piping hot. It wasn't too much of a problem for us. The shower doesn't have a holder for the shower head, so you have to hold it yourself when showering, which can be a bit awkward. There was also no holder or shelf for any toiletries, so we had to keep them on the floor.
The kitchen area consisted of a hot plate, a kettle and a sink. We had all the cutlery, glasses etc for our needs, but we felt the actual facilities were a bit lacking. We could have done with a toaster, microwave and/or maybe a small oven. We chose to eat out instead of cook.
The beds were 2 single beds pushed together as a double. This made it a bit awkward to sleep, but manageable. The beds were comfy.
There was a small TV with one English speaking channel, EuroNews. Some of the other channels also showed films, subtitled in Greek.
There was also a breakfast bar, but the lights above ours didn't work. There was plenty of storage, with a large wardrobe with drawers, and two dressing tables.
The balcony was a good size.
The bar had a small menu of food and drinks. We paid 3 Euro for a large Mythos Lager.
The pool was clean most days, but on one day after bad winds during the night, the pool was full of dead bugs. It was quite disgusting.

The Resort:
We made a huge mistake in booking our holiday in October to this hotel. Although the hotel itself is lovely, the resort of Polichrono was empty. When we went out for our evening meal, we would be lucky to see anyone else eating anywhere. Most places had shut the previous week, the last week in Sept. We ate at the Cockney Cafe for a few meals, which was nice. We also ate at the restaurant that is on the same street as the Cockney Cafe, with yellow walls. It wasn't good at all. The food was bland, and the waiter took our money and didn't bring back our change, giving himself a good 6 Euro tip which he did not deserve.
We would recommend the bakery just down the road. It had fantastic bread, cakes, sweets and ice creams. We bought our lunch from here most days.
We spent most nights in Hanioti. The bar staff ring a taxi for you if you ask. We had Taxi #24. The guy was lovely. He even asked what time we wanted to be picked up to go back and he was at the the taxi rank waiting for us. It cost 7 Euro to get to Hanioti from the hotel. Well worth it. There are lots of nice places to eat, and there are actually people walking around there. We went to one restaurant in particular, Restaurant Tropicana, which was fantastic. We went twice in the week we stayed at the hotel. There are lots of shops and bars to visit there that don't close until the second week in October.
We found the Thomson trips fairly expensive for what they were, so we decided to look into the private trips. There is a Day Trip/ Excursion shop near the beach in polichrono, but we found it shut from the 4th Oct.
The beach was small but nice. We didn't spend much time here as it was so empty. We found it a bit like a ghost town. It was quite uncomfortable walking around at night.
All in all, this would have been a great holiday if we had gone a few weeks earlier.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sophie0808
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (361)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

213 - 219 of 361 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2011

My wife and I spent a week at the Royal Kostas from the 19th of Sept. We had read through a number of reviews beforehand and decided to take a chance and give it a go. Considering what we were actually looking for in a holiday, the place was absolutely perfect.
The welcome was warm and friendly, although a little chaotic with a large coach delivering us all en-mass, but within 10 minutes everything was sorted and we were firmly bedded into our room.
The small apartment we had was perfect for us with a small and basic kitchen, an adequate bathroom and huge bedroom. It was self catering but we had no intention of eating in at all. Had we done so then I feel that the small electric 'bedsit' plate was a little dubious and the whole kitchen would have benefitted greatly from a toaster and a microwave. The obligatory kettle was there of course.
The apartment generally was very clean and well presented, and was cleaned every day apart from tuesday (staff day off) with the bedding changed every other day.
We had read that Kostas himself was rather grumpy and stand-offish, but we found him perfectly amiable and rather quite jolly. Although, his english is exceptionally basic and presumably is unable to engage in idle conversation, he always had a smile even though working before dawn and well into the night (even out picking up litter at midnight).
The bar staff are friendly and engaging with an abundance of help and advice on hand and provided a very nice and relaxing atmosphere, even though the musical choice is nearly always a kind of aged early eighties time-warp soft rock medley.
The pools are small and safe but adequate and cleaned daily, as is the general areas around the place.
When it comes to the Royal Kostas generally, it is relaxing and appeasing with a laid-back atmosphere. It is by no means a party palace, which is just what we specifically avoided.

Polichrono is a small, relaxed and quiet town with a shallow beach but no real tidal flow. The beach is quite reasonable but can be covered in sharp shingle over a large part of it, but sunbeds are plentiful and the shingle problem is easily solved with beach shoes. High tide is about 1 foot higher than low tide and so there is a constant expanse of beach readily available all the time, albeit about 40 feet deep throughout its length. The sea is warm and calm which makes it ideal for a quick paddle or a long soak and swim, even for the kids.
The town is full of varying bars and restaurants, fast food outlets and souvenir shops, although those on the front are considerably more expensive than the ones in the side streets, all seeling the same stuff. There are a few leather shops in the town, all run by russians laundering their money, selling thin rubbish at high prices.
There are 2 main supermarkets within 100 yds of Kostas, but they are closer to what we would describe as a large general store akin to a large SPAR shop or a town Co-op store.
While at the Kostas everything we could need was within easy reach and anything we couldnt find was easily mapped out by the bar staff, and off we went in search.

We would highly recommend the Kostas and we are looking at the prices for next year already. If youre a party animal or prefer to find british beer to complement your england football shirt then I would suggest many areas in spain for you. This is not the destination for you. Thankfully, it is for us.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MrTigerSlough
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 October 2011

just got back from a trip to Halkidiki and although have always loved the islands in Greece won't be going again in the near future due to the extremely high cost of living there now, very very expensive, the kosta's studios are nice and clean and handy for the village, and all english staying there, on the whole very nice experience but self catering is all but non existant, very spartan, no toaster or microwave, cooking is done via a two ring portable electric stove which in my opinion is very dangerous if in the vicinity of children as it can easily be pulled off the bench even with hot pans on it, rest of the resort is OK, heard people moaning about the dirty beach and i can assure them that renting a car to find a nice beach is a waste of time as they are all dirty, polychrono one is one of the better ones, the man Kosta's doesn't have a whole lot to say for himself but seems to be very nice and is always on hand if needed, we didn't really get to know the staff or family as we were out all day in the hire car but all in all a nice holiday but sorry i won't be going to Greece ever again.

Room Tip: sorry we paid cheap and were in the cheap block so can't say but i did stipulate 'not overlo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank geordiegemma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We visited on 26/09/2011 for a week. The positives are that the apartments are a good size and very clean. The 'Kostas' family are very friendly! If you want a quiet holiday, with a bit of local entertainment it's fine. There are two o.k. sized pools which were not crowded. Local restaurants cater for all. There are local supermarkets if you want to eat in. The negatives, may seem silly! Whilst being self-catering, they do not facilitate, so no washing up liquid, tea towel and scourer. There is a two ring electric hob and a kettle.
So, would I go next year? YES! It ticks all the right box's for us!

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pingpong_dan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

firstly lets talk about the apartments, seems to be the only place English people stay in the, resort and just wasnt for us. there was a split between the people who sat around the small bar area smoking and drinking all day and those who rarely stayed there. although the bar staff were friendly enough we did not find this to be the case with Mr Kostas who appeared very grumpy and hardly able to return a hello (i gave after trying twice) he seems to take it as a personal insult if you did not attend his very expensive (19 euros) weekly barbecue.
we had paid extra to be in the "deluxe" new block, it was very clean however also very dark with no sun at any time of the day, impossible to see to get ready after 6pm. it was supposed to sleep four people, two in the kitchen? we found out from other residents that you could get an air conditioning remote free, very strange this had not been mentioned to us, so we only had one for one night. we could not get any english channels on the television. there were stray dogs constantly wandering around (as there was in the resort actually trying to climb on her knee when you eat, yuck).

the resort
being a regular visitor of spain, france and italy we were initially shocked at the lack of anything to do in the resort, no enterntainment of any kind and like a ghost town most of the time we did however warm to the people, we found the serbians (which was nearly every holiday maker) and the greeks friendly and warm, we were even given a lift to the next town from a friendly restaurant owner (the taverner with the bird in on the sea front where you can get half portions, lovely food).

the beach is basically a narrow strip of shingle with stormy water, not at all child friendly but we got used to lying on it for the three days of good weather we had after the worst thunder storm possible.

we did go into the cockney bar when it was raining however prefer not to use english pubs abroad.

there are hardly any shops and the whole resort is walkable in about forty minutes, all of the way around and back

we did enjoy climbing the hill to see the turtles.

watch out for over charging, one couple were nearly charged three times the proper taxi price to the next resort and we were almost charged 9 euros too much on our food bill.

i didnt really like the food which was very fatty - gyros (basically kebabs) and masses of sauce on everything, ive put on loads of weight. it was good to get the free puddings though, very kind.

as i said we kind of got fond of the place, would never consider staying at the Kostas again but might return to one of the small hotels on the sea front.

Room Tip: I wouldnt recomend staying here choose a lovely authentic hotel on the sea front with friendlier sta...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lesleyashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2011

After looking through TripAdvisor at the reviews, we decided to book our stay at the Royal Kostas. The place is very clean and staff are very friendly. The pools are quite small but there was always enough space without feeling over crowded. The bar offers drinks at reasonable prices and basic food which is more than adequate when sitting next to the pool. We stayed in what seemed like the 'newer appartment block' which exceeded by expectations. The rooms were large with a decent sized balcony. During our stay, I would say the only downside is the balconies in that they are so close together they provide no privacy whatsoever. The hotel is in a great location with approx 5 minute walk to the middle of the town. Some reviews mention the 'main road' outside the hotel. We never had any problem crossing this road and it was never too busy to cause problems. There are numerous resturants within a 10 minute walk and the beach, despite being long and narrow was nice. There is an ATM across the road from the hotel along with a bus stop which makes local resorts easy to access.

We enjoyed our stay and would definitely go back.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Russ L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2011

My wife and I got back monday after 2wks in Polichrono/The Kostas, We read the reviews on T/A b4 we left.
Here is our review.
We stayed in the new block (superior)and cannot comment on any of the other 3. We were lucky as our apt had 2 single beds in one room and a single plus a pull out bed on one side of the large kitchen. OK for another adult or 2 children.
The main b/room had a small flat screen TV - the only English channel was Euro News - which was ok as you got the World News + the weather 4 the next day, and u don't go to Greece to watch TV; also free air/con.The bathroom was small but OK, the kitchen well normal 3star self catering in Greece, my only moan, we could have done with a toaster.The bar was nice,it did snacks + breakfast for the lazy. I think some took it back to their rooms.The real thing to do is if u want breakfast is get your bits 4 the day u get out that bit earlier and visit the Cockney Cafe (only 1min from the beach front) for 5 euro u got the works and a ex Lrg for 7euro. The Kostas tried to copy but the CC wins it's just as u or your mother had done it, its run by some very nice Engish folk and ex pat's help them out.The on site entertainment on site is a weekly bbq+quiz ok in your 2nd week for a night on site but not in the 1st wk.
The beach ok to get a space set the alarm clock and the sun beds well it's like a school dorm no spaces. If it's tan and a dip walk too the end past the sun beds on end lh/side as u look out to sea but too the rh around the point by way of beach or the lane about 1/4 mile is the place to go sandier and few people this Sept dont forget.
Places to eat all to the rh on the frt Nefelir Garden family run ,The Viva, up a side st b4 the Viva, George's family run,we tried the Tulip but 6 euro for Mussel Saganaki which was just 10/12 mussels in a watery sauce, not value for money as mussels elsewhere was a lot better.
Shops as you come off the main road into the village, news papers s/market on the rh next to the nice bakers on the corner and all food stuff s/market on the lh corner plus the beer and wine is cheaper.Car hire Holiday rep's Euro car charging July prices in September - too much, into village next to 3 Lions bar Hani---- cars will wheel & deal, if required over a wk. Moans, pools and space around pools were cramped in Sept. July/Aug? Well, I hate to think. We did not use it, dogs barking in the morning, some road noise but better than in the village It's self. All in all not a bad 2wks

Room Tip: When booking ask 4 the new blk (Superior) as others overlook each other and the noise from the pool.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CRNSTA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Polichrono
2.9 mi away
Alkion Hotel
Alkion Hotel
#2 of 12 in Kriopigi
160 reviews
4.3 mi away
Hotel Flegra Palace
Hotel Flegra Palace
#2 of 18 in Pefkohori
368 reviews
5.3 mi away
Alia Palace Hotel
Alia Palace Hotel
#3 of 18 in Pefkohori
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Kassandra Palace Hotel
Kassandra Palace Hotel
#10 of 12 in Kriopigi
285 reviews
0.0 mi away
Macedonian Sun Hotel
Macedonian Sun Hotel
#10 of 11 in Kallithea
159 reviews
3.5 mi away
Hanioti Village Resort
Hanioti Village Resort
#7 of 25 in Hanioti
255 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Address: Polichrono, Polichrono 63085, Greece
Region: Greece > Central Macedonia > Halkidiki Region > Kassandra > Polichrono
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Polichrono
Price Range: £50 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Royal Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 71
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In a beautiful village of Chalkidiki in Polychrono, the peninsula of Kassandra, awaits a modern complex 4-star hotel to offer a very relaxing and beautiful moments. The Hotel Royal combines natural beauty, located between green hills and close to the turquoise waters of the Gulf Toroneos, with all the amenities a traveler wishes for a memorable vacation. The complex consists of 5 buildings with 71 (23 apartments and 48 studios) fully equipped rooms and features two swimming pools with sun loungers and parasols. The hotel can accommodate travelers with disabilities, as well as all public areas are accessible. In the beautiful outdoors, you can enjoy swimming, sunbathing while reading your favorite book plus ordering drinks and snacks throughout the day from our highly organized pool bar. Every week a barbecue night takes place, with a lot of delicious food. If you wish to swim in the crystal clear turquoise sea of the region, the distance to the beach is not more than 3 minutes. If you want to stroll or shop, the village center is just 2 minutes from the hotel. The Hotel Royal is the ideal destination for family vacations and promises to provide you with everything you have in your home and ... much more! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Ebookers, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Apartments Royal
The Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Kostas Hotel Polichrono
Royal Hotel Polichrono, Halkidiki

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing