We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't miss out on this gem!”
Review of Millstone Cottages

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Millstone Cottages
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We've just returned from our stay at No.3 and can't recommend it enough. Danny and Delores went above and beyond to ensure we were well looked after throughout our stay, lighting the fire on arrival, arranging taxi to the village and giving us directions and advice for our activities. the accommodation is amazing, maintained to the highest standards.We only availed of one bedroom as we were a couple but the property would easily accommodate a group. The surroundings are very tranquil so if it is peace and quiet you are after this is the place for you! And what can we say about the hot tub and sauna, just wow! We will be back!

Room Tip: Go for No 3 if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank cadger1978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (77)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 44 of 77 reviews

Reviewed 2 February 2014

A wonderful time had by all at Millstone cottages. A fabulous, modern, comfortable home with a bonus hot tub and sauna to relax in during the day or night. Fab scenery and wonderful beaches near by. Plan to visit again soon. Great for families or groups of friends. Top class!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

1 word wow!! What a warm. friendly welcome, beautiful cottages we rented 1&3 both has 6 seated hot tub with disco ball lights unreal just class cottage 3 also has sauna it was amazballs, very private! On the wall had sheets times dates etc of all being checked cleaned n changed very very clean as was r cottages beautiful white bedding though out, cottages smelt so fresh n clean blazing fire on arrive, we were shown round and left to settle Dolores n danny only a phone call away at all times. In r party was 4 adults 7 children and 2 babies age range 0 to 12 , each and every one of the children loved your cottages as did we adults as u no we extended r stay another 2 nights dolores n danny lol we had everything we needed in cottage, we arrived bk to bags of blocks on a few occasions of r 9 day stay , left at the foot for us as owners don't go in without u knowing, anything we needed dolores and danny didn't hesitant , really lovely genuine folks who had all the time in the world to tell us places to visit places great in the area for kids , r kids had a blast at the massive private play ground which had a zip wire which kids loved spend hours in the fresh air playing on it makes a change to sitting on ps3 I pods n phones! When it rained we all enjoyed some family.time in the beautiful hot tub located a few feet away from back door music playing, really relaxing place highly recommend we have booked a week in June cannot wait,elect n oil was no different than r own at home we also have a hot tub if u don't it will cost slightly more on elect for it not an awful amount of difference couple £. All in all great value for money! Money well spent, 5 min into village to shops n butchers found em v cheap compared to home and meat is lovely very friendly folk n Millford make u wanna move here! Any chance of permanently renting num 3 dolores lol again thanks dolores n danny for a truly wonderful dream holiday n donegal just what we needed for my birthday n after the mad Xmas rush, c u both very soon X Bernie Baz Cortney Gareth Jodie n maison x ps pics do it no justice very peaceful relaxing beautiful place out standing beautiful surroundings inside n out x

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank bernienbaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013 via mobile

Great weekend having booked the three cottages, the hot tubs were amazing and the playground loved by the children. Houses clean and spacious and fantastically equipped. Rathmullan beach 15 minutes away for a good walk. Electricity and gas bills came to 110 Euros for the three cottages for the weekend to give people an idea of extra cost.
Would definitely recommend and hope to be back.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank cathleme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your recent review of Millstone Cottages. We are delighted to hear you found our accommodation family friendly and that the kids enjoyed the playground hot tubs etc.
Just to confirm your bill of 110 euro payable on departure was for electric usage and oil usage in total for the three cottages combined. This worked out on average 36 euro per cottage and to be honest we did notice after you left on Sunday, that the immersion had been left on in cottage no.3 and when we checked the water was absolutely boiling hot coming out of the tap, which would indicate it had been on for quite a considerable period of time. Maybe the immersion had been left on, or switched on by accident but either way this would understandably have resulted in you having a much higher meter reading for electric usage than normal. The oil heating system in each cottage is a much more efficient method of heating the water and much cheaper too!!
We are very pleased to hear you recommend our cottages and that you intend to return and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Millstone Cottages.

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We are just home from a wonderful weekend away at cottage no.3 for my brother in laws 40th. On arrival we were greated with Dolores friendliness and a warm open fire, she showed us everything we needed to know and left us to enjoy but with the assurance if we needed anything just to contact herself or her husband Danny.The cottage had everything we needed and with the bonus of the hot tub and sauna it left us all feeling chilled and relaxed and ready to face are busy week ahead. We would like to say a big thank you to Danny and Dolores for all they did and we will return to this tranquil place again. Donna xx

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gorrmcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 13 November 2013

Dear Guest,

We are delighted to hear you all had a nice relaxing time during your recent stay at Millstone Cottages. We are happy to hear you all enjoyed the birthday celebrations and that you found the hot tub and sauna to be a bonus.
Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back to Millstone Cottages in the not too distant future,

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Kids were on mid-term break so we wanted to go somewhere different. Donegal has everything so I looked for a holiday cottage there. I found Millstone Cottages online and booked it immediately. After a long trip what a joy to arrive to a roaring open fire and a warm welcome. We settled in quickly - kids took to the hot tub and adults pulled closer to the fireplace!

Delores was available as needed, but we had everything we needed for four lovely nights.

Plus points - peace and quiet but with Sky TV, Broadband and Hot Tub/Sauna ensuring we wanted for nothing. To top that, kids had a newly built play area with zip wire! In the area, the Fanad peninsula has everything - scenery, beaches, rugged walks. Great seafood cost pubs.
.
Negatives - really, I can't find any.

Room Tip: All rooms are so quiet and comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CanIstay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 8 November 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for posting your recent review of Millstone Cottage no.3. Glad to hear you liked the open fire on arrival and that the kids enjoyed the playground and zip wire.
We would be delighted to have the opportunity, sometime in the future, to welcome you and your family back to Millstone Cottages,

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2013

A real home away from, we arrived a lot later than we had stated,but Dolores was so accommodating,waiting for us to arrive. The cottage itself was just fabulous,& scrupulously clean & the surrounding area was stunning natural beauty. The kids had a ball,& loved the playground. We were also very happy with the hot tub facility,a great way to relax when the little people had gone to bed. We will definitely be going back,the hospitality of Danny & Dolores is second to none. All in all a wonderful place for a break,with kids or without. Can't recommend it highly enough!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rosalyn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Millstone Cotta... H, Owner at Millstone Cottages, responded to this reviewResponded 21 October 2013

Dear Guest.

Many thanks for the lovely review of our cottages. We are so pleased that you all had a great time here for you family holiday. Fantastic to see that the kids enjoyed the playground and that the hot tub was a great source of relaxation especially in the evening time.
We are very happy to hear you intend to return in the not too distant future and it would be our pleasure to welcome you back again to Millstone Cottages.

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
2.5 mi away
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Mulroy Woods Hotel
#1 of 1 in Milford
416 reviews
6.8 mi away
Portsalon Luxury Camping
Portsalon Luxury Camping
#1 of 4 in Portsalon
127 reviews
1.7 mi away
Bunlin Bay House
Bunlin Bay House
#1 of 1 in Milford
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Millstone Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Millstone Cottages

Address: Tirhomin, Milford, Ireland
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Speciality Lodging in Milford
Price Range: £99 - £159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Millstone Cottages reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Millstone Cottages Milford, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing