We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Perfect house for a family, perfect base for a...”
other travellers have booked this property
This is the 6 seater hot tub and infra red sauna in the purpose built outdoor room beside cottage 3.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
This is the 6 seater hot tub and infra red sauna in the purpose built outdoor room beside cottage 3.
Very cosy downstairs en-suite bedroom. Relax in the sitting room with open fire, sky tv and free wifi.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
17 reviews
This is the 6 seater hot tub and infra red sauna in the purpose built outdoor room beside cottage 3.
Very cosy downstairs en-suite bedroom.
Relax in the sitting room with open fire, sky tv and free wifi.
Fully equipped Kitchen  of no.3 Millstone cottages.
A warm  welcome awaits you
Millstone Cottages at night with lanterns.
Ashtree riding stables 10min drive from the cottages
Millstone Cottage No.3  with the actual millstone in the garden.
4 person infra red sauna in the outdoor room at cottage 3.
View to decking area
Millstone Cottage no.3 at night, with outdoor room and hot tub at rear of cottage.
Front of cottage no.3 and lawns.
Open fire in sitting room.
Children having fun in the playground.
Play ground at Millstone Cottages
Climbing towers and playground at the cottages.
Launch ramp for zip wire.
The beautiful beach in Portsalon which is a 20min drive away.
Glenveigh National park. (20 min drive.)
Millstone Cottages logo.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Milford, County Donegal

Reviews from our community

 of 5 bubbles
Excellent - based on 17 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dot1977
Newry, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect house for a family, perfect base for a great holiday.”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We arrived on the Saturday and were met by Dolores who is such a friendly and helpful person. She was keen to give us all the information we needed about where to go and what to do in the surrounding area. We were shown around the house, told how to work the hot tub and sauna and left feeling relaxed and happy that we could contact her during the week should we need to speak with her.

The house itself was spotless. Perfectly equipped for a family of 6 - 2 adults and four children ranging from 5 to 10 years. The gardens were immaculate and perfect for a game of football and the playpark kept the kids all entertained in the mornings and evenings before and after our days out. The house is up a country road, in lovely tranquil surroundings, so we felt safe to let even the youngest child run around outside without constant adult supervision.

Before we went, I worried about the hot tub and making sure the kids couldn't get access to it without our knowledge. I was pleased to find the cover over the tub was easily managed by an adult, but the kids were unable to remove it themselves, so their safety was taken care of.

As a base for our holiday, we found it ideal as we could travel to a town or a sandy beach easily.

An added extra was the 'game' our kids played each time we drove up and down the road where they tried to be the first to shout 'belly button rock' every time they seen a millstone in a garden!! :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: I honestly can't pick one thing - the whole property was ideal for our needs.
Liked least: Struggling to find a negative - the ironing board was wobbly!!
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Donna-ros...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Seven girls stayed in jan best short break we gave ever been on”
Reviewed 23 February 2014 for a stay in January 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We book chalet number 3 in oct for a weekend at the end of Jan. seven girls
Went and we had a fantastic time. The house is beautiful Dolores had the fire lit and everything was so welcoming for us arriving.
The views from the living room were amazing downstairs double bedroom was ensure and massive bathroom with large bath and shower upstairs for the 2 bedroom. The jacuzzi was massive and we had a great time using this and the sauna with music system also. Dolores organised a large taxi minibus to collect us on the Saturday night and went to Milford. Food was beautiful and too much for us all to eat.
I would definitely recommend this cottage and its also ideal for
Families with large park with zip line etc. can't wait to go back again. And thank you delores formal your hospitality.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
traceybas...
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Christmas st millstone”
Reviewed 14 January 2014 for a stay in December 2013

Great family Christmas at millstone cottage.
Relaxed and stress free.
Hope to get back soon
Thanks xx

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jonathan...
Perth, Western Australia, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect”
Reviewed 25 October 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Myself the Girlfriend and 8 year old boy stayed here for 4 nights at number 3 and I have to say we were very happy with the house and everything that went with it.
We wanted a relaxing break and that's what we got.The house itself was beautiful modern spotless and had free wifi which was a bonus.
There was a brilliant playground outside the house for the young lad and the Jacuzzi was the little sweetener for all of us.The locals were really nice and we enjoyed the old Pubs around the area and the scenery was great.
Dolores and Danny were extremely nice and helpful and made our stay all the more pleasant.
We will be going back in the future and i would definitely recommend this place for anybody heading to that part of Donegal.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Oct 2013
Dear Guest,
We are very pleased you and your family enjoyed your stay at Millstone Cottages. We are happy to hear that your young son enjoyed the playground. We just added the internet facility recently and great to hear you found this to be a bonus.
Thank you so much for your kind review and we are delighted to learn that you intend to return to our cottages.

Kind regards,

Danny & Dolores.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewed 9 January 2013 for a stay in December 2012
1
person found this review helpful

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Infrared sauna
Liked least: Weather :)
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 29 October 2012 for a stay in October 2012

Value Location
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
william k
Bangor, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic holiday home, wish this was my house :-)”
Reviewed 30 June 2012 for a stay in June 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Dolores and Danny are stars, they were so lovely and very very helpful to us for the week that we stayed in millstone cottages, i could talk to them both for hours,they were both full of great advice and very knowledgable, they gave us loads of great places to go as we didnt know the area.

We stayed in cottage number 3, this was a fantastic choice, private long driveway with loads of room, (we had 2 cars and there was plenty of room left) the 6 seater hot tub was class, along with the sauna, i sat in both these for ages, (with a wee brandy of course) :-)

The house itsself was very very clean, as we had a 8 month old baby we were worried about the cleanliness, clean towels, clean bedding all provided on arrival.

Dolores provided a travel cot for us, along with a stair gate and a high chair,
the living room had sufficient seating for 6-7 people, along with plenty of coal and wood for the fire (which i had lite on the 29th june lol)

The house has oil fired central heating and was fantastic for keeping us nice and warm,

We had a big bathroom upstairs and our guests had an ensuite in their double room on the ground floor, both to a very high standard.

The kitchen had everything in it that we needed for the week, even the gas bbq on the decking took a right good hammering during our stay :-)

Everything about this particular cottage was really well finished and to a very high specification.

Beautiful house in a fantastic location. would highly recommend, this was our first visit to Donegal and we most definitely will be back to cottage 3 again!!


PS Danny's new play park was great, even i had a go on his "Zip wire"

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location is amazing
Liked least: no wi-fi and no pets allowed
Travelling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$141
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing