We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable Christmas Party”
Review of Mulroy Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Derry
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Christmas Party”
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I attend a Christmas Party night with family and friends which has always been enjoyable, but this year although the Party was great and the staff helpful the place wasnt as clean and the heating was off in my room. The receptionist said that there was a problem with the plumbing but no offer of recompence. Will look elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathyquigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this review, 12 April 2014
Hello Kathyquigg,

Thank you for your review. As your review was left some time ago I can only inform you that any bedroom issues you experienced, have since been rectified. We have since upgraded our bedrooms to a high standard and I'm sure if you return, and I hope you will, you will most definately notice the changes.

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    199
    105
    40
    9
    12
See reviews for
75
206
8
12
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

I stayed here for one night, midweek, for business. It's a big hotel, and it had almost no guests (admittedly, mid December is not exactly peak season!). Room plus full breakfast cost a paltry €35, which is excellent value, particularly considering that the room was huge - and warm - and the breakfast was notable in both quantity and quality. It was a buffet, and there was enough to feed an army. The hot counter had two different types of eggs, hot tomatoes, mushrooms, bacon, sausages and saucer-sized black and white puddings. All staff from reception to restaurant were very friendly and welcoming.
Definitely worth a visit; if you were on holiday, you could base yourself and explore Donegal from there.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pavanamuktasana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ireland
Level Contributor
91 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 December 2011

Spend 2 days in best western milford. Great value for money, great buffett breakfast. Food in the bar area was very good value for money. Had a pre festive 4 course dinner for 16 pounds.
Bed was very comfortable, room big. staff excellent. busy with locals. overall a very nice hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ysh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
co down
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2011

This must visit hotel offers well thought-of-hospitality which brings in a broad range of punters and whether its live music, club nights, football matches, beautiful wood burning fires and superb food or just a general, straight forward excellent location to tour Donegal
this hotel admirably caters to your needs.Service during our stay was great and the range of entertainment, food and alcohol on offer in this impressive complex was an ooh and ahh of satisfaction

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rod4849
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

We stayed at the Best Western Milford for one night on our tour of Ireland. It is quite a large hotel on the outskirts of quite a small town. It has large reception rooms and seems to be largely geared towards the wedding reception market.

We were consigned to room 101 (wheelchair accessible) which was comfortably furnished if somewhat dated (Corby trouser press). The only problem was that the waterproof mattress pads did not improve bed comfort.

The restaurant menu in the information pack seemed rather pricey but when we went to eat they were actually serving in the bar instead and there was a very reasonably priced and tasty fixed price menu. There was a good breakfast buffet in the morning.

For some reason the hotel reception area has been moved to the opposite side of the building away from the hotel rooms - quite a long walk. When we checked out they were setting up for wedding drinks in the same area. I am not sure that I would want to have to go through a wedding reception to check in or that a bride would want suitcases carried through her reception!

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mymsman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lake Ariel, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 September 2011

Great for touring Fanad.Good parking centeral location See Fanad lighthouse.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
80 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2011

We stayed 2 nights mid august having got a great bargain at 79 euro each for 2nights b&b and one dinner direct from the hotels own website. The hotel is in the countryside approx 10 miles from Letterkenny, the nearest village being Milford. Excellent location to tour around Donegal, only a few miles from beautiful Port Salon and close to Fanad Head. The hotel rooms are immaculate, clean and warm. Bar and Dining room very cosy and the food is excellent. We stayed mid week and the hotel was busy as it was the school holidays. We must mention the lovely reception staff who were always more than happy to give us information on the local area and things to do. Credit to all staff as the customer service is excellent.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank marian40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
9.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,089 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,176 reviews
10.2 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 379 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.6 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
11.1 mi away
Shandon Hotel and Spa
Shandon Hotel and Spa
#1 of 1 in Portnablagh
4.5 of 5 bubbles 686 reviews
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulroy Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulroy Woods Hotel

Property: Mulroy Woods Hotel
Address: Letterkenny Road, Milford, Ireland (Formerly Milford Inn Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulroy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning North West of Co. Donegal on the outskirts of the picturesque village of Milford on the Wild Atlantic Way. Family owned and managed Hotel boasting 45 well appointed guest bedrooms including standard, superior and executive suite, Mulroy Woods Hotel is the perfect location for a break away. Free on site car and coach parking.Fast, free unlimited Wifi throughout all areas of the Hotel. Catering for all special occasions; Weddings, Anniversary's, Party's,Christenings.Group accommodation and lunch stop overs also available. Live entertainment throughout the year,from bars to bedrooms, food to fun, Mulroy Woods Hotel will spoil you, pamper you and remind you of the real meaning of Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Mulroy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hotel Donegal
Mulroy Woods Hotel Milford, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing