We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value”
Review of Mulroy Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 May 2012

This hotel is good enough, but it is far from any towns and not that cheap considering location. The rooms are clean, but nothing special. The breakfast is hot food (full Irish breakfast) and very good.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Audramarie221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Audramarie221,

Thank you for taking time to leave a review on Tripadvisor. Since you have stayed with us, the hotel has gone through significant changes and we have upgraded our bedrooms to a high specification. I'm sure when you return, and I hope you will; you will be amazed at the changes you find. Both the team and I look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to the Milford Inn Hotel.

Best Wishes,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (416)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

376 - 382 of 416 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

Myself and my partner stayed here some time ago as part of an organised scuba diving tranining weekend. We understood the owners were divers themselves, and appreciated the fact that we might dine late and need showers on Sunday morning after our checkout... this might seem a little strange to the normal person, but it meant alot to us, that we were allowed a very late checkout on the Sunday afternoon to allow us to shower and change before our trips home. It was a very cold time of year, but the warmth of the hotel fire and real turf was so inviting. The staff were so friendly and helpful and nothing was an issue. We did not realise that there was a meal for us on arrival, it was only chicken curry rice and chips, but boy did it go down a treat after a 3 hour drive on icy roads!
The next night we ate in the dining room and had a lovely meal. There was live music in the Bar and as it was around Christmas time there was a great buzz about the place as there was a party night on. We were in a lovely room in the hotel, and far enough away from the funtction room so that we didn't hear any noise.
We stop here regularly for breakfast on a Sunday morning when going to the downings, its a great spot for a full Irish!!
Would love to go back for a night or 2

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank golemma79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello golema79,

Thank you for your excellent review. Our team here are known for constantly going above and beyond the call of duty to ensure each guest receives a memorable experience. I'm delighted to read that you recognised this as it really is what makes staying at the Milford Inn Hotel so special. We hope to see you again the next time you are en route to Downings Bay.

Kind Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2012

my husband and i spent saturday night the staff were so friendly the room was spacious and comfortable the food was excellent had a good nights craic in the bar we even got a wee dance it was r third time to stay in milford inn wud go back

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Nelehenworb,

Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure to host your group on your "Mammy's Escape" and we are delighted that you enjoyed staying with us. I will be sure to pass on your kind remarks to the team, who I know will be delighted to hear them. Looking forward to seeing you all for Mothers Day 2015 already!!

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2012

thirty eight "mammys" from Co. Meath escaped to Donegal for Mothers' Day and stayed overnight. We were delighted with the Milford Inn Hotel, rooms were large, warm, comfortable and anything extra like more towels, toiletries etc. were smilingly brought at once. Dinner and breakfast were excellent, lovely dinner menu with large choice. Entertainment in the bar was as usual, loud and noisy but enjoyed and we danced ! Would stay there again if in the area.

Room Tip: ground floor was excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nelehenworb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Margaret D,

Thank you for such a kind review. We really appreciate it. I'm delighted to read that you enjoyed our food and live entertainment. Both the team and I look forward to having the opportunity to welcome you back in the not so distant future.

Warmest Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

arrived on fri for weekend met with lovely receptionist at check in. rooms very spacious and clean. Food in both dining room and bar very good value for money .on saturday night unfortunatly there was a bit of mix up in our orders but waitress on seeing her error quietly and efficently got it sorted without any drama. would deffinately stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jennifer m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Jennifer M,

Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. Our staff are a very friendly bunch and are always delighted when their hard work is recognised and praised. I'm happy to see that your meal issue was identified and rectified immediately, and without any resultant difficulty to you or any of your group. I do hope you will return soon and re-acquaint yourself with our friendly team who will be delighted to see you.

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2012

my partner and I stayed on saturday night for one night. i got a good bed and breakfast rate on booking.com.Receipionist on check in friendly. i had booked a double bed room and on getting to room it had three single beds. I returned to receiption and was given another room which had a double and single bed but the double bed was actually two single beds put together. The room was clean and comfortable. toileteries in the bathroom sparse. Breakfast was self-service and make own toast. unfortunately the breakfast plates were cold and the bacon sausages and white pudding were only lukewarm . thus my breakfast was cold before i could get it eat. warm plates would be a bonus. Also we were half way through our breakfast and still had not got our tea. Had to ask for our tea which should not have happened. Thought the food in the bar was somewhat overpriced. On the plus side there was entertainment in the bar saturday night which was very enjoyable. I would return to this hotel but some improvements are need re breakfast such as warm plates and hot food

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank rosieCookstown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello rosieCookstown,

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Since your stay we have overhauled our breakfast offering and now have a much higher standard of service.

With regard to your comments about our bedding, the description that you recieved "two single beds pushed together" is actually innacurate. That type of bed is a "Zip & Link Bed" which when assembled is in no way different to a standard double bed.

I am disappointed that you felt our food offering was overpriced. We feel that we are quite competitively priced in the local market and our food produce is all locally sourced and cooked to order, which ensures a high quality dining experience.

Once again thank you for your review and I hope I have addressed your observations.

Kind Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2012

I attend a Christmas Party night with family and friends which has always been enjoyable, but this year although the Party was great and the staff helpful the place wasnt as clean and the heating was off in my room. The receptionist said that there was a problem with the plumbing but no offer of recompence. Will look elsewhere for next year.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kathyquigg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gearóid P, General Manager at Mulroy Woods Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2014

Hello Kathyquigg,

Thank you for your review. As your review was left some time ago I can only inform you that any bedroom issues you experienced, have since been rectified. We have since upgraded our bedrooms to a high standard and I'm sure if you return, and I hope you will, you will most definately notice the changes.

Best Regards,

Gearóid Pyne
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
9.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
1,159 reviews
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
9.5 mi away
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
Inishowen Gateway Hotel
#1 of 4 in Buncrana
950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.2 mi away
Downings Bay Hotel
Downings Bay Hotel
#3 of 3 in Downings
277 reviews
10.2 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#2 of 3 in Downings
400 reviews
8.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
2,307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulroy Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulroy Woods Hotel

Address: Letterkenny Road, Milford, Ireland (Formerly Milford Inn Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range: £50 - £101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulroy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the stunning North West of Co. Donegal on the outskirts of the picturesque village of Milford on the Wild Atlantic Way. Family owned and managed Hotel boasting 45 well appointed guest bedrooms including standard, superior and executive suite, Mulroy Woods Hotel is the perfect location for a break away. Free on site car and coach parking.Fast, free unlimited Wifi throughout all areas of the Hotel. Catering for all special occasions; Weddings, Anniversary's, Party's,Christenings.Group accommodation and lunch stop overs also available. Live entertainment throughout the year,from bars to bedrooms, food to fun, Mulroy Woods Hotel will spoil you, pamper you and remind you of the real meaning of Irish hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Evoline ltd, Hotels.com, Cancelon and Ebookers so you can book your Mulroy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hotel Donegal
Mulroy Woods Hotel Milford, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing