We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value & Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Mulroy Woods Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Mulroy Woods Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
North Antrim
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent value & Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 June 2009

The hotel was excellent, very friendly staff who went out of thier way to help. The hotel also organised golf at a very good rate, they also organised for a coach to be available over the weekend. We had a very good meal in the restaurant on Sat night and the buffet breakfast was exactly what we needed before 18 holes of golf at the nearby Portsalon G.C.

Niall - North Antrim

  • Stayed May 2009
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nedmc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    98
    38
    9
    12
See reviews for
72
190
8
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Belfast, Northern Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2009

The hotel itself was lovely, very clean, modern rooms and lovely atmosphere, the stay were very nice. Breakfast wasnt a buffet style, so really couldnt get your moneys worth, but it was lovely and the toast is the nicest ive ever tasted. You would defo need a car to get around, the hotel staff helped us plan our day and showed us things to do, they even rang up places to ensure they were open as they were out of season. Would defo recommend the altanic drive, so lovely and you get to see a couple of nice wee villages with a lovely mauds cafe. there was a garage across the road which was handy. this is defo only a place for a few days, there wasnt much to do and you defo needed a car, but lovely for a complete chill out weekend. It was a tad expensive but at the end of the day, I was a student who saved up to go with my boyfriend and there was a bad exchange rate, but would defo recommend it for a relaxing stress free time!

  • Liked — peacefulness
  • Disliked — not a great option at breakfast
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lilmizlisa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast
Level Contributor
100 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2008

Did not stay in this hotel but was staying in the local area. There is not much around this area, small village with other outlying villages so the Milford Inn Hotel would be the main place to go for a meal out.

Service was very poor, long waits to take order, delay in bringing drinks etc. perhaps that's just the laid back attitude in Donegal, I'm not sure.

But the meal itself was very disappointing, just not particularly good quality all round. I should point out at this stage we ate in the Bar Bistro area not the restaurant but if the restaurant is served by the same chef I wouldn't hold much hope that it would be any better. Due to the lack of kids options in the restaurant we plumped for the bar area.

Lowlights of the meal was a potato skin starter which was terrible, more like a half baked potato strangely with cubes of potato as a topping and a splattering of cheese, one half of a mushroom was the only other topping which was meant to be bacon and mushroom topping. Also a chicken enchilada which was also terrible, it was full of corns, green beans and courgettes with one small piece of chicken stuffed inside – it was clearly a vegetarian enchilada with that one piece of chicken stuffed inside – terrible, really terrible (I checked the menu on leaving and sure enough vegetarian enchilada was on there!). Other meals were just ok, steaks etc but nothing special.

It was the sort of place that none of the staff came near us to ask how things were or if everything was ok – I wonder why! I complained when paying and was told they always feed everything back to the chef, was not offered any money off or to speak to a manager, even after speaking to 2 members of staff, I very limp sorry was all I got.

Anyway rant over, and as I said this was just a visit for a meal but I will never be back, ok any place can have an off night but the lack of care by staff would give me no confidence that the hotel is run that well, would not dream of staying here. Book a nice cottage or B+B instead!

  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank GLSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warsaw, Poland
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2008

We stayed in the hotel for a couple of nights in March 2008.

The hotel is well situated for touring the north of Donegal, and I'd especially recommend visiting the beaches near Portsalon.

The room was clean and modern and the bathroom ok. Staff on reception were friendly and helpful with directions/things to do in the area.

Breakfasts were good and we also ate in the (very large) bar one evening which seemed to have a good smattering of locals in it. They also have a real-fire in the reception area which is nice too.

While we were there they were building a sizeable extension to the hotel, but building work didn't disturb our stay at all.

Parking was good (right outside of the hotel), but there weren't a whole lot of amenities around apart from a very well stocked garage across the road. Milford village is a short drive away.

  • Liked — Breakfasts
  • Disliked — Didn't possess a lot of character
  • Stayed March 2008
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TrevorH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Co Antrim
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 March 2008

We stayed in this hotel for one night only and it was very quiet but that was February after all. The room was very comfortable but it could do with being updated a bit. The staff were very good and the food was excellent. The location is not brilliant but is ok if you are travelling around Donegal. All in all we had a very comfortable stay at a reasonable price.

  • Liked — Very comfortable and excellent food
  • Disliked — Location and decor
  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank MagillCoAntrim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Milford
8.8 mi away
Mount Errigal Hotel
Mount Errigal Hotel
#6 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,122 reviews
9.2 mi away
Clanree Hotel
Clanree Hotel
#4 of 12 in Letterkenny
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,051 reviews
13.7 mi away
Arnolds Hotel
Arnolds Hotel
#1 of 1 in Dunfanaghy
4.5 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Radisson Blu Hotel, Letterkenny
18.0 mi away
Ballyliffin Lodge & Spa Hotel
10.2 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#1 of 3 in Downings
4.5 of 5 bubbles 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulroy Woods Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulroy Woods Hotel

Property: Mulroy Woods Hotel
Address: Letterkenny Road, Milford, Ireland (Formerly Milford Inn Hotel)
Region: Ireland > County Donegal > Milford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Milford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulroy Woods Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
No matter what the occasion, weddings, special parties or just a steal away romantic weekend, Mulroy Woods Hotel is a special place just for you. From bars to bedrooms, food to fun, Mulroy Woods Hotel will spoil you, pamper you and remind you of the real meaning of hospitality. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Mulroy Woods Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Milford Hotel Milford
Milford Hotel Donegal
Mulroy Woods Hotel Milford, County Donegal, Ireland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing