We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“philip” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #3 of 9 Kildare B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Paris, France
1 review
“philip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 February 2014

An excellent stay. I would warmly recommend anyone to stay here. The breakfast was delicious (if rather bad for the cholesterol), and everything in the room was just fine. My first visit to rural Ireland in many years--I must come back soon.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pendean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SootynZazu, Owner at Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 23 February 2014
Thank you so much for your kind comments. We look forward to having you stay with us again soon. Thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

136 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    91
    36
    4
    3
    2
See reviews for
45
54
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 January 2014

Irish hospitality is justifiably famous but, of course, there are always exceptions. However Castleview farm is not one of them. Rest assured that Liz Fitzpatrick will do everything she can to make your stay enjoyable and comfortable. Our stay was for a few days in early September to allow my wife to pursue her family tree. (Note. Newbridge Library is the place to go if you are tracing Co. Kildare ancestors.) We arrived in the late evening gloom and rain, (well, it is Ireland), and were greeted by Liz, who took us into the quests' lounge and made us a pot of tea while she explained the usual basics of access to the house, breakfast times etc. After that she showed us to our en-suite ground floor room. This was very comfortable and included, (vital for English travellers), tea and coffee making a facilities. The next morning our breakfast was cooked to order by Liz, so welcome after the buffet breakfasts offered by too many hotels these days, and was very good, (and, because we were in Ireland, very filling).

We stayed for four nights and could not fault Liz's hospitality. Accordingly, we would thoroughly recommend staying with her. One word of warning, however, Castleview Farm is very popular, so book early!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Terence B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SootynZazu, Owner at Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 5 January 2014
Thank you kindly for your wonderful feedback, it is very much appreciated .You describe famous Irish hospitality, that is certainly what we strive to create for our guests. We pride ourselves on providing a warm welcome to all visitors to our home. It gives us great pleasure to read of your lovely experiences with us during your stay . We hope you and your wife can come and stay with us again soon, .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
79 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013

We left our accommodation search a little late and it was getting dark when we arrived. There was no one home. We could see it was a working farm and could see that the place looked very nice. We had already been turned away at another property nearby with no vavancies. We hit the road again and headed down to Monasterevin in hope. we drew a blank so decided to head back and try the farm again. Phew, someone home...it seems that the hostess Liz Fitzpatrick had just popped into Kildare for some shopping and our prior timing had been unfortunate. How lucky were we to have returned. Liz greeted us warmly and we had a large ground level room with a full bathroom across the hall..ours, not shared. this was perfect because we had to repack two large cases for our impending departure from Ireland via Dublin the next day and we appreciated the extra room.. Our stay was very comfortable. A great rural setting on a dairy farm around 6-7km's out of Kildare, up a country road, but easy to find. Liz gave us good advice about where to eat, Hartes Bar and Grill in Market Square Kildare, a few Kms down the road. The food and service were excellent. Hopefully they reward Liz for her recommendation. Breakfast was excellent with good choice and well cooked. We were admiring some artwork on the wall (I think it was her grandson's work/) and we learned that Liz was also a very competent painter. She brought out some of her work to show us.Liz was able to provide us with good advice about travel times to the airport in Dublin (less than an hour on the motorway as it transpired) and assured us we would have plenty of time to visit the nearby Irish National Stud, which we enjoyed. Castleview Farm was one of the best B&B's we encountered in our trip around Ireland and a terific place to spend our last night within easy reach of the airport. We would have no hesitation in coming back again, although we suspect that in peak season this B&B would be highly sought after and it would be sensible to book in advance Highly recommended

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

What a fantastic place to stay. Liz greeted us with a cuppa tea and cake and made us feel at home immediately. We also had a small baby with us and Liz was so accommodating she let us use her fridge to store baby food and made us feel very welcome. The room was very cosy and the bed was very comfortable. The breakfast was delicious. I would highly recommend the scrembled egg and salmon. Unfortunately I was feeling under the weather the next day so only stayed one night instead of two. But Liz was very understanding. And in fact when leaving I forgot my hand cream and Liz was so kind to post it out to me. I would definitely stay here again. Thanks for your kind hospitality.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cruiser_cork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Back in the days we promised to vote when we´re back home in Hamburg/Germany...We are back... since 3 years : ) Here are our votes (finally). It was the first night we spend in Ireland. The next days we hit the road towards Kerry. What can i say. Liz made a wonderful breakfast the next morning and took care about our little girl while me and my wife joined the meal. For eveybody who´s on a londer Trip to the south-west: If you come from Dublin, you have to stay at castleview farm and maybe visit Kildare on the evening. We´ve been there in March 2010. Thank you Liz and Ed!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bjoern R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

This B&B offered a peaceful haven after a day dealing with motoways, roundabouts, and finding a place to park the car. It is a fair drive out of town, but worth the effort. Idyllic dairy farm setting. We were able to make a welcome cuppa on arrival, nice clean room, friendly hosts and an Irish breakfast with all the trimmings, helpful points of interest information available in a folder as well as from the hosts. Ian and Lorraine

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cork
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 November 2013

Great b&b, very pleaseant host, I had a good nights sleep, and a great breakast. Liz was very helpful as my booking was late and I had not been there before. I arrived to a much appreciated welcome after a long drive. The bedroom was warm and comfortable and quiet even though it is not far away from motorway. Would like to have stayed longer but had to go to work...

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank James L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kildare
3.3 mi away
Kildare House Hotel
Kildare House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kildare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
14.1 mi away
Lawlors Hotel
Lawlors Hotel
#1 of 5 in Naas
4.5 of 5 bubbles 523 reviews
7.2 mi away
The Keadeen Hotel
The Keadeen Hotel
#1 of 1 in Newbridge
4.5 of 5 bubbles 497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.1 mi away
Killashee  - Hotel Spa Leisure
7.1 mi away
The Heritage Killenard
The Heritage Killenard
#1 of 1 in Killenard
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
13.6 mi away
Osprey Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast

Property: Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast
Address: | Lackaghmore, Kildare, Ireland
Region: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Kildare > Kildare
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Kildare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your Castleview Farm Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing