We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Lunch”
Review of Silken Thomas

Silken Thomas
Ranked #2 of 33 Restaurants in Kildare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$24
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Silken Thomas is a family operated business, established for over 30 years. Focussed on giving that warm Irish welcome, the Silken has a proven record in quality & service. Silken Thomas is centrally located in the heritage town of Kildare. Silken Thomas has everything under one roof. Two traditional bars that offer that unique Irish pub atmosphere, with live music to entertain. Our contemporary lounge is the perfect place for that quick bite or meal with friends. From breakfast, to a late evening snack, you will always find something to satisfy, from our extensive menu selection. Chapter 16 restaurant is our flagship eatery, and offers that little bit extra for your dining experience. With locally sourced produce, quality & freshness is assured. Silken Thomas provides all the services you would expect from a Quality assured pub, including ample free parking, wheelchair facilities, and a warm inviting welcome. Relax and enjoy your time in the Silken. In the heart of Kildare, use the Silken as your base to visit local attractions. These include, The Irish National Stud & Japanese Gardens, The Kildare Village Outlet, Golf, Fishing and The Curragh racecourse.
Newbridge, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Lunch”
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you like a good lunch when visiting Kildare Town this is great place to dine.

Helpful?
1 Thank paddykennedydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi Paddy, we appreciate your recent review and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

396 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    217
    112
    43
    16
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kildare, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beautiful food!”
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love to have steak when i go for dinner, and the steak and chips is exceptional here!! Its such good quality food, and the staff are always very pleasant and able to have a good conversation! ... They have an offer for two people for 50 euro! 2 courses each and a bottle of wine!! Very good! would definitly reccommend it!

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank dgconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Hi Mr Conroy, we appreciate the time you took to write a review on trip advisor, we hope you enjoyed your steaks and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Top notch spot”
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Had a grand meal here this weekend on my way to Dublin, really nice food and service that's reasonably priced. I've stopped here a few times & it never disappoints

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank murph0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this review, 13 June 2012
Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you in The Silken Thomas again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kildare
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“lovely spot, and will go back again”
Reviewed 1 November 2011

services and the food complements one another,very warm and cosey spot, would
recomend to my friends

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank KildareCourier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clare, Ireland
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, lovely staff, nice atmosphere.”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

We stop off here a couple of times each year on our way back to the West from Dublin. We always, without exception, enjoy the food both in the Restaurant and Bar. Food is always so fresh, plentiful ( Fish Pie to be recommended ....yum!) and served by very nice friendly staff. The Bar has a lovely atmosphere and is always buzzing without being too noisy. It is so worth stopping off here for a nice meal or great pub grub!

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mitziB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silken Thomas also viewed

Kildare, County Kildare
Kildare, County Kildare
 
Kildare, County Kildare
 

Been to Silken Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing