We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“absolute disgrace”
Review of Silken Thomas

Silken Thomas
Ranked #2 of 34 Restaurants in Kildare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$25
Cuisines: Irish, Steakhouse, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Silken Thomas is a family operated business, established for over 30 years. Focussed on giving that warm Irish welcome, the Silken has a proven record in quality & service. Silken Thomas is centrally located in the heritage town of Kildare. Silken Thomas has everything under one roof. Two traditional bars that offer that unique Irish pub atmosphere, with live music to entertain. Our contemporary lounge is the perfect place for that quick bite or meal with friends. From breakfast, to a late evening snack, you will always find something to satisfy, from our extensive menu selection. Chapter 16 restaurant is our flagship eatery, and offers that little bit extra for your dining experience. With locally sourced produce, quality & freshness is assured. Silken Thomas provides all the services you would expect from a Quality assured pub, including ample free parking, wheelchair facilities, and a warm inviting welcome. Relax and enjoy your time in the Silken. In the heart of Kildare, use the Silken as your base to visit local attractions. These include, The Irish National Stud & Japanese Gardens, The Kildare Village Outlet, Golf, Fishing and The Curragh racecourse.
Reviewed 30 March 2012

went to the silken thomas earlier tonight i had never been there, myself and my partner went to get the cinema meal deal it was19.95 we both got the lord edward burger and chips it was supposed to be a steak burger it was more like offal minced up the onions on the burger were a sloppy mess like they were boiled and soggy gross and the bun was not fresh tasted like it was out of the packet all day we got a bowl of chips between us despite the fact that your supposed to get chips with each the coke was flat the place was also badly in need of a revamp the paint had a lot of marks on it the desert menu was what i would give at my daughters birthday party like jelly and ice cream i would not recomend the place to anybody with an allergy to dust either and the chairs were extremly uncomfortable too those one that come half way up your back so you get no support the table was ridiculously small for two people to eat at , this was a dark dreary old pub with no atmosphere the staff were very friendly and on hand, i was in a hurry and i should have complained but i didnt im kicking myself for paying for what was no better than dog food, i am shocked to see the good reviews my partner and i like to try different places and this was a major disappointment id sooner go to mcdonalds

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
6  Thank mandyh2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hi Mandy, I would like to thank you for the time you wrote your review, it's a pity you didn't contact me at the time however I would be greatful if you would contact me in relation to your experience, Kindly appreciated Caroline Kelly, info@silkenthomas.com or 045 522232

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (433)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

408 - 412 of 433 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2012

very friendly service, nice food, does what it says on the tin!

1  Thank lisa b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hi Lisa, thanks for your recent review on Trip Advisor hope to see you in the Silken again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 February 2012

If you like a good lunch when visiting Kildare Town this is great place to dine.

1  Thank paddykennedydd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hi Paddy, we appreciate your recent review and we hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2012

I love to have steak when i go for dinner, and the steak and chips is exceptional here!! Its such good quality food, and the staff are always very pleasant and able to have a good conversation! ... They have an offer for two people for 50 euro! 2 courses each and a bottle of wine!! Very good! would definitly reccommend it!

2  Thank dgconroy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Hi Mr Conroy, we appreciate the time you took to write a review on trip advisor, we hope you enjoyed your steaks and we hope to see you again soon. Thanks

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2011

Had a grand meal here this weekend on my way to Dublin, really nice food and service that's reasonably priced. I've stopped here a few times & it never disappoints

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank murph0801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caroline K, Manager at Silken Thomas, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2012

Thanks for your recommendation and we hope to see you in The Silken Thomas again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Silken Thomas also viewed

Kildare, County Kildare
Kildare, County Kildare
 
Kildare, County Kildare
Newbridge, County Kildare
 

Been to Silken Thomas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing