We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extremely helpful!”

Kildare Town Heritage Centre & Tourist Office
Ranked #10 of 21 things to do in Kildare
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Located in the restored Market House opposite St Brigids Cathedral in the medieval Town of Kildare. The Centre hosts a multimedia display that tells the story of this Historic Town. It is also an offical Tourism Office that can assist visitors to the town and region.The Centre includes a small sovenir shop where people can buy local books, crafts & sovenirs. Entrance is Free
County Meath, Ireland
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Extremely helpful!”
Reviewed 8 August 2014 via mobile

We had a fantastic experience at the heritage centre. The staff, in particular Tom, were exceptionally informative and pleasant to talk to. We got lots of information about the area and I'd highly recommend popping in if you would like to find out about things to do in Kildare!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    3
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
78 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Information”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We spent time here learning about Kildare and the region. Tom, who worked the center was full of great information and very helpful in helping us understand what more to see in Kildare.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maureen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
“Wonderful people!!!!”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Guides in town were excellent and very helpful, thank you so much! Would recommend them for their helpfulness!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
northern ireland
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Unhelpful”
Reviewed 29 May 2014

The person in charge was unpleasant & unhelpful. We did not look at any of the exhibits (there seemed to be some upstairs) as this lady did nothing to "sell" the town & certainly not the Cathedral. A totally negative experience for Bord Failte.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank mjdvy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Town He... C, Manager at Kildare Town Heritage Centre & Tourist Office, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
I am sorry to hear that you feel that a member of my staff was unhelpful during your visit to Kildare Town. In over 12 years of operation this is the first negative comment we have received regarding a member of staff despite having dealt with tens of thousands of visitors .
In order that I can investigate the matter further I would ask that you detail in writing the date that you visited the Heritage Centre , whether it was solely for the purpose of obtaining tourism information or whether it included a grievance you may have had with a third party. Please write to info@kildareheritage .com or Kildare Heritage Centre, Market Square, Kildare Town County Kildare.
Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare, Ireland
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Could be better”
Reviewed 6 December 2013

I live within minutes of this Heritage Centre and have done so for the last 8 years and I am afraid it is quite a disappointment really. There is really not that much inside to see, but for tourists there are information leaflets and some nice souvenirs but it could be a lot more interesting.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank AisDel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kildare Town He... C, Manager at Kildare Town Heritage Centre & Tourist Office, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Thank you for taking the time to visit the Heritage Centre, we are always anxious that locals as well as tourists know we are there and what we do. I understand your comment from the fact that we are not a museum and do not have much in terms of exhibits etc. Our remit is tourist information and the centre hosts a multimedia display that explores the history and heritage of one of the oldest urban centres in Ireland. It is also an official Tourist Office that can assist visitors to the town and region. The Centre includes a small souvenir shop where people can buy local books ,crafts & souvenirs. Entrance is Free.
Our great strength comes from our very existence, open 6 days a week to assist visitors to the town and county and indeed throughout Ireland; a place where a human face and a warm smile can make more of an impression than printed handouts. If you like come into the Heritage Centre and have a chat with Tom, the manager (Wed.-Sat.) and tell us how we might improve our service, we would be glad of the opportunity to engage with you. Thank you again for taking the time to visit us and for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Kildare Town Heritage Centre & Tourist Office also viewed

 

Been to Kildare Town Heritage Centre & Tourist Office? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing