We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel near airport”
Review of Hotel Del Mare

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Del Mare
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Reviewed 30 April 2013

I stayed here for my last night in Italy in July 2012 in order to be close to the airport for an early morning departure. I was driving and so cannot comment on any shuttle or public transport aspects but I drove to the airport in the morning in about 10 minutes (after driving around for an hour trying to find the hotel the day before, my own fault, couldn't drive anywhere in Italy without getting lost!).
The hotel is great, I had a huge modern room with a big beautiful bathroom and a door onto a terrace overlooking the beach and my last sunset in Italy (sad), parking was free nearby, WIFI was free in rooms, convenient for checking in for your flight, breakfast was not included in my stay.
Also the area was really cool, sort've a casual beach resort setting and I had an unbelievable meal at Amelindo restaurant around the corner.
Would recommend for sure whether it be for location near the airport or for the beachside setting.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank brian6d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (269)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

86 - 92 of 269 reviews

Reviewed 26 April 2013

After almost 4 days in Rome we went to Fiumicino for the last night before an early flight (06.20) The weather was great that day and when we came to the coast and the hotel, I thought "why didnt we go here this morning?"
The location almost at the beach and with a nice balcony where we could have spent the the day in stead of stressing and walking in hot Rome.
But getting to Fiumicino was bit of adventure. I dont know if we did the smartest choice,but finally we got there somewhere. The standard of the hotel was much better than in Rome, for the same price. you could see that the hotel was recently was redecorated. It was both cool and nice at the same time. Te reception was nice and booked or too-early taxi for us the next morning, and we actually got breakfast with fresh espresso-based cooffe the next morning at 5am! the receptionist appoligized that there was no fresh bread because the bakery hadn´t open yet.. :)
We didnt think we would get anything to eat at all that erarly!
The taxiride was 25 euros and took less than ten minutes I would say.
Next time, I would travel out earlier and spend more time at this hotel and the beach.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KristinNorwegian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

Good for overnight stay on the sea front prior to flying out the next day. Easy to find, modern with wifi & ample parking outside. Floor bit gritty & not clean under bed , everything else clean & good condition. Concierge recommended nearby fish restaurant using local sourced fish, enjoyed the meal. Breakfast had lots of the typical Italian sweet things to eat. We prefer savoury, so didn't suit us, even a boiled egg & toast would have been good for us. Room accessed onto a great large balcony that catches afternoon and setting sun. Great for relaxing. Area quiet this time of years. Only 10 mins drive to airport.

Room Tip: Rooms on 1st floor access onto large balcony overlooking sea, getting afternoon & setting sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel Vista Del Mar on my 50th birthday. This hotel was everything I read about and more. It was conveniently located to everything. The room was gorgeous, the cookies were very delicious, and the continental breakfast was far more than what I had expected. The staff was very helpful, Juan, the Manager is the best, his team definitely knows what customer service is all about.

I'm a Travel Agent and I will definitely let all my clients who want to visit Catalina knvow that the best place to stay will be the Hotel Vista Del Mar. I cannot wait to get back to Catalina Island and make no mistake I would not stay anywhere else but Hotel Vista Del Mar. When you find perfection why try to change it.

Juan and Hotel Vista Del Mar gave me the best 50th birthday ever. Thank you.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tcreggett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2013

If you are going to stay here overnight in between flights at Fiumicino then read my review.
Hotel Del Mare does not have an airport/shuttle service so accept you will be paying 40 euros to get to and from Hotel Del Mare with taxis. Don't put yourself through the trauma of the local buses to get there.
At the airport go directly accross the road from terminal 3 to the local fiumicino taxis, do not even entertain any other taxis anywhere at the airport. The fare will be 20 euros, dont let them tell you, you tell them its 20 euros.
When you are leaving the guys at Hotel Del Mare will call you a private taxi to get back to airport, this costs 18 euros and I had a nice clean mercedes pick me up on the day.
The room I booked was 65 euros and included breakfast.
I had not planned to stay here but wound up in a situation at the airport, needed to book somewhere cheap for the night.
The rooms are fine and have all the basics. They have free WiFi. Breakfast was included and was fine. You can print boarding passes there also. The staff are nice and casual.

Unless you want to wander around the area for a restaurant, id advise you take food/drinks with you for the night even if its just food from the airport. There is very little around in the way of shops. I walked to the canal and back where there are shops and supermarkets and that is a 1 hour round trip. You just walk out the front door and head right along the beach until you come to the foot bridge, the shops are on the other side.

Feel free to email me with any questions

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank russiancaravan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2013

We booked here as we were flying out early the next day and weren't sure of the area.
The hotel was hard to find but it gave us an opportunity to find our bearings.
It was a real shame as the weather was absolutely appalling - I am sure that when the sun is shining walking along the beach is brilliant. The hotel was beach front and had a lovely terrace with a jacuzzi and sun beds so had the facilities. The staff were ok, although not overly helpful at 5 in the morning, as we would have loved a coffee and the rate did include breakfast but never mind. The room was very clean, bed was comfortable and the decor very interesting, a little different and quirky. We visited a lovely seafood restaurant near the port and there was plenty on offer from pizzerias to upmarket places but unfortunately, all had the look of a british seaside town on a wet Sunday afternoon in winter. Everything looks better in the sun!

Room Tip: we were given room 20 which was a basic double but it had a door onto the terrace facing the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Janette K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Good location. Across the street from a beach. As mentioned in other reviews, parking becomes tight after 7PM when the restaurant around the corner opens. Room was nice and comfortable. Only problem was when I stored something on top of the cabinet in the room, I was covered with a cascade of dust upon removing it. The front desk morning manager was very accommodating. He and the breakfast guy were very friendly. Would stay again especially if coming or going by air.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank td249
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Fiumicino hotels
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
Hotel Tiber Fiumicino
#1 of 23 in Fiumicino
1,164 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Hotel Rome Airport
2.4 mi away
Golden Tulip Rome Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Rome Airport
0.4 mi away
Best Western Hotel Riviera
Best Western Hotel Riviera
#8 of 23 in Fiumicino
402 reviews
1.1 mi away
Mercure Rome Leonardo da Vinci Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Del Mare? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Del Mare

Address: Lungomare della Salute 111/B, 00054, Fiumicino, Italy
Region: Italy > Lazio > Province of Rome > Fiumicino
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 23 Hotels in Fiumicino
Price Range: £51 - £81 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Del Mare 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Del Mare reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Del Mare Rome/Fiumicino

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing